We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Overall Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   11931 South Harbor Blvd., Garden Grove, CA 92840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Garden Grove
Calgary
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Overall Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in early November 2012; overall we had a good experience. The hotel is a little far from Disneyland, while we did walk it one day, for anyone with little kids or not in good shape I would take the bus or find some other way to get to Disneyland. We used our rental car after the first day as parking is only $15 with in and out privileges. Service was good and they even let us print off our boarding passes and Disney passes from the front desk computer.

Hotel Rooms:
A little dated and need of a refresh (carpet worn, etc.), however for the price and size we could easily overlook this. The room was kept clean so no complaints there. We did have a well sized room that included two bedrooms (one with a double bed and another with bunk beds). The room also included a hide-a-bed, so we for the five of us staying there was plenty of room. The kitchenette area was well stocked and made the preparation of some meals a nice bonus. There is a Target right across the street, so you can easily pick up anything you need. The only real complaint from the rooms is the air conditioning was a little loud.

Breakfast:
Breakfast was good, not a huge selection, but for a free breakfast can’t really complain. Make your own waffles, which the kids love, an egg dish of some sort, breakfast sausages , hash browns and a few other hot dishes. And the usual – bread/toast, yogurt/ fruit/juice/milk/cold cereal. We did not find the breakfast area that busy, but it could have been the time that we were there.

Pool Area:
The pool area is in very good shape (looks like it may have recently been refreshed) and also had a hot tub.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is travelling with kids as it provides good space and has the breakfast included.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
When traveling with a family value is important. The ART shuttle system is a convenient way to get to Disneyland it recently has expanded to other parks and places of interest around town. The hotel has began renovating all guest rooms carpet, stainless steel appliances, counter tops and paint are only a few of our upgrades. I can’t wait to have you back to see our newly renovated hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    396
    214
    51
    28
    14
See reviews for
472
23
6
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valley Glen, Ohio, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is the hotel that I usually stay in for the annual NAMM Show. I just got back today and I just have to say that this is a descent hotel but there were some things about it that were just plain irritating and you just don't want to have to deal with while you are traveling. 1) THERE WAS NO HOT WATER in the room. My room and its shower had, at best, luke warm water that just felt warm enough not be cold. 2) The pool doesn't open til 8am but all the surrounding pools open at 6am - forget an early morning swim before your mtg. 3) I had to get my plastic room key - rekeyed at least 4 times while I was there. It locked me out and I had to go back downstairs. 4) The hotel store is open during very limited hours.

Room Tip: Just make sure that you don't want a really hot shower if you choose to stay there. If you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during you stay with us, and we thank you for letting us know. I’m surprise to hear about the hot water we are equipped to handle twice the amount needed for our size. I will certainly have our engineer inspect out hot water system to ensure its working properly. We are working on expanding our gift shop hours currently its open from 7am-9:30pm with a one hour lunch break in the middle. We hope that we can have another opportunity at your business on your next trip to Anaheim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here to visit Disney land and it was great. Across the road was Target & bus stop out the fron to disneyland. Pool was great & free breakfast and dinner most nights was ideal with kids. The childrens rooms were colourful, double bunk, small table & chairs & tv & en suite. Our room was just lovely with en suite also. Definitely recommend !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We are centrally located with plenty of food options around. Our daily breakfast buffet is an added value especially when you are traveling with a family. Thank you for being our guest! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

we stayed a this hotel for the tinkerbell half marathon and the service was great. everyone at the front desk went out of their way to make sure our stay was great. The morning buffett was great, changed up everyday, with a lot of choices. grandmother and kids loved the waffle makers, had them everyday. not a long trip from disney, buses were slow sometimes but still effective. morning of half marathon, food was provided at 3:00 am. wow!!! and still made it back in time to get the buffett. starbucks next door and other places to eat, even a taget with in 100 yards. house keeping done everyday. stove and other applicances out dated.. but hotel is starting renovations and updating..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Congratulations in completing the Tinkerbelle marathon! I absolutely agree with you; we do have a great staff and we are fortunate to have each and every one of them. I hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

... since it's very close to it. We're usually staying in a two bedroom suite for the NAMM show, since five years, and I have nothing bad to say about this hotel at all, except maybe that the fitness center could be better equipped.
All in all, we'll surely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write this review and share your experience during your recent stay. Our hotel is currently going through a renovation that includes all new exercise equipment. I can’t wait to have you back so that you can try out our upgraded exercise room. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The residence Inn in Garden Grove is the best resort experience we have had in many years. Located a short distance from Disneyland and California Adventure Land, (hop on the ART bus or drive a mile to Disney's Woody parking lot and take a quick bus ride), this resort is clean and has all the amenities of home plus resort amenities including a heated pool, large jacuzzi, kiddy wading pool, basketball court, two large gas barbecues, an outdoor fire pit and an awesome hot buffet breakfast. Rooms have a fully stocked kitchen and full size refrigerator. Our room had a bedroom with two queens and a full bath with tub plus another bedroom across from the kitchen with bunks and its own bath/tub combo. Target and Von's market are close by. There are many restaurants within walking distance as well.

The staff at this resort were amazingly courteous and helpful, always greeting us and responsive to all our requests. We did have a small problem in our room and this issue was immediately taken care of.

We look forward to returning here in the near future and highly recommend this resort, especially for families wanting more of a homelike feel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
I could not agree more. We thank you for posting this review. We feel that no hotel in the area caters to large families like the Residence Inn by Marriott. Whether traveling with a family of 5 or even more, the additional space enhances your trip by giving you room to relax after a long day. The people that work at this hotel are an exceptional group and greatly appreciate you noticing their efforts. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Family of six stayed one night. We selected this property based on availability and decent reviews. We arrived early, room not ready so we drove to the Toy Story parking lot and took the shuttle to the park. We returned after 5pm and checked in. We had one of the largest rooms, two bedroom suite with sofa bed. Upon arrival we noticed the kitchen area was not very clean, crumbs and a dish in the microwave still had cheese residue on it. Since we were only staying one night we did not report this, just avoided using any of the dishes. We ate out at Buca nearby, and avoided the scrum for the potato bar in the dining area. We did use the laundry facility which was acceptable. Rooms seem worn beyond the hotel's age. Big LCD tv's were good. We didn't try the breakfast, we left at 6am to change hotels and be in the park by 7am for Magic Morning. No real complaints other than the cleanliness issue in the kitchen, but we normally stay closer to the parks when we visit Disneyland.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We appreciate your very direct feedback and will follow-up on your impressions to ensure we offer the best stay possible for all of our guests. We expect to provide a clean and comfortable suite with everything in working order and apologize that this was not your experience. We are currently renovating our guest suite it includes carpet, kitchen counter tops, new kitchen appliances, all new upholstery, and many other new updated furniture. On behalf of my entire staff, I apologize that your experience was not exceptional. We hope that we can have another opportunity at your business on your next trip to Anaheim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area

Address: 11931 South Harbor Blvd., Garden Grove, CA 92840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#5 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
#6 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay Anaheim Resort Area suites are so well equipped and fully furnished, you’ll never have to set up house twice. Tastefully decorated, our guest suites are as comfortable as they are clean. With all the amenities to make your stay enjoyable and convenient they are the perfect home away from home. We offer a mix of 200 suites that fit your every need. Our suites feature a king or two queen beds and queen-sized sofa sleeper with a large living area and full kitchen. Two-bedroom kid's suites feature a bunk bed in a separate second bedroom. A queen sofa sleeper is available in the living area adjacent to the kitchen. All suites offer complimentary high-speed Internet and fully equipped kitchens. In our Anaheim Resort Area Suites we Offer:• Coffee and Tea Makers• Complimentary High-Speed Internet Access• Dual Line Phones with Voice Mail and Wake-up Service• Full Kitchens with Stove, Microwave, Toaster, Refrigerator and more• Hairdryer• Individual Climate Control• Iron and Ironing Board• Kids Suites Available w/ Bunkbeds• Pillow Choice (Feather Down/Foam)• Pool Views from 50% of the Rooms• Sofa Beds• Silverware, Pots, Pans, Serving Dishes, etc.• Work Stations with Lamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area Hotel Garden Grove
Residence Inn Garden Grove
Garden Grove Residence Inn
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area Garden Grove, Orange County, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.