We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   11931 South Harbor Blvd., Garden Grove, CA 92840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Garden Grove
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Great family hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed with 2 children 13 and 11 and the very best thing about the hotel is the size of the family rooms. 2 beds and 2 baths is very unusual and you really do get great space.

It really is a family hotel and the food reflects this. It is plentiful and tasty rather than of a high quality and varied. I have a real issue with plastic cutlery and plates and whist the rooms and facilities are great we were still paying NZ$200 a night so it was not budget.

The service was however fantastic and nothing was too much trouble, we were even able to stay in our room until 4pm without any extra cost.

The pool, sports court and spar were great clean and well cared for. the Gym was a bit tired with a couple of the TV's and water machines not working but the machines were all in good order.

All in all fantastic value for money and most importantly the kids LOVED it. Just the plastic cutlery..........!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We thank you for posting this review. We feel that no hotel in the area caters to large families like the Residence Inn by Marriott. The additional space enhances your trip by giving you room to relax after a long day. We hope to see you as a guest again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    198
    48
    25
    12
See reviews for
430
19
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in a two bed rm for our visit to disneyland and LA. the management of this hotel can not help you anymore! They go out of there way to assist any way they can. The hotel is clean in good repair, plus you can save a fortune by not staying across the road from disneyland but is only a short trip by a bus (two blocks) which runs every twenty minutes and picks up and drops of out the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Disneyland! We’re delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed our suite, and Disney shuttle service. We hope to see you and your family again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Sergio checked us in with such a warm welcome and a bag full of cookies! Fantastic room. Jacuzzi was huge. Lots of tv channels. Free, fast internet. Many restaraunts within walking distance. Awesome complimentary breakfast too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Your review touched on many of the reasons that we are the best choice for a hotel stay during a visit to Disneyland. We hope that you and your family return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here Jan 1 - Jan 5 in room 528. It was perfect for our family of 4. The breakfast downstairs was always hot and ready to go. The pool and hot tub was just what we needed after a long day of Disney. The greatest surprise of all was the wonderful housekeeping staff. Everyday our room was taken care of so well. They even made up the children's beds with their stuffed animals. We really felt cared for by them. Thank you for helping our vacation be even better!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
When traveling with a family value is important. Our hot daily breakfast buffet offers a variety of food like scramble eggs, sausage, fresh fruit and hot oatmeal. The most popular item on the breakfast buffet is our waffle station were you can create your own waffle and top it off with some whip cream or strawberries. Thank you for noticing the efforts of our wonderful cleaning staff we are all committed to making the experience of every guest a memorable one. Can’t wait to have your family come back! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Califonia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a good, clean hotel, and it is well-suited for families. The common areas and the rooms are very clean, and everything is well-maintained. The one bedroom suites have a decent-sized living room, but the bedrooms are quite small. The beds are adequate but a bit hard, the towels plentiful but a bit rough. The bathrooms, though clean, are in need of remodeling. The grout and surfaces are showing their age, and there was no fan in the bathroom. The fan on the heater/ac, however, was quite loud, and the heater blew cool air for a long time before heating up

Housekeeping and the front desk were very good.

Though the hotel was said to be sold out, there was never trouble getting an elevator nor too big a crowd at breakfast. The food at the breakfast is varied and abundant, but the quality mediocre--think dorm food. Still, it is sufficient and an important amenity.

Not only is the Disneyland shuttle (ART--but tickets online ahead of time for multiple-day passes) stop right our front, there are several restaurants, a Target, a convenience store, and several other stores in short walking distance. It is just over a mile to the Disney parks.

All things considered, it is a very good choice for a stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for noticing the efforts of our cleaning staff we work hard everyday to provide a clean and enjoyable hotel. We are schedule to begin a renovation of our rooms in January this will address most of the items you mentioned. It means a great deal to us to receive such a positive review from a seasoned traveler like you. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Residence Inn I always feel its home away from home. This hotel is really awesome, its right on ART line, so going to Disney is soooo much easy. They have awesome breakfast, which doesnt repeat for a week, plus light dinner Mon-Thus. The rooms are clean, kitchen has everything if you want to cook, and grocery stores not far away. I believe there is one secret, if you do get up early, you can watch beautiful sunrise, what an awesome experience is that. The reception people were awesome, I got both early checkin as well as late checkout. They even stored our baggage as our flight was late in the night. Not sure when we will get back to Disney again, but if we do, you bet, will definitely stay here only. Keep up the good standard.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our daily breakfast buffet is an added value especially when you are traveling with a family. We have a rotating menu that changes daily. We are grateful that you indicated you will return again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Sergio at the front desk was awesome. A real example of "customer service". I arrived around 10 p.m. with a group of teenagers for a Disney trip. He understood my needs and even gave me a tour of the available rooms. Upon selecting one of the suites with twin beds, Sergio was the man and upgraded to the queen beds. Are you kidding? Who does this anymore? On top of that, he hooked me up by not charging me the parking fee. I guess he knows how it can be with excited teenagers. In addition to the great room, the evening social and the buffet breakfast was great! Overall a great experience with this hotel and the staff. Definitely on the return list.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We can't tell you how much we appreciate you taking the time to share such an experience on this website! The comments regarding the great customer service is very kind and we're thankful you had a great stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area Hotel
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area Hotel Garden Grove
Residence Inn Garden Grove
Garden Grove Residence Inn
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area Garden Grove, Orange County, CA
Address: 11931 South Harbor Blvd., Garden Grove, CA 92840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#9 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay Anaheim Resort Area suites are so well equipped and fully furnished, you’ll never have to set up house twice. Tastefully decorated, our guest suites are as comfortable as they are clean. With all the amenities to make your stay enjoyable and convenient they are the perfect home away from home. We offer a mix of 200 suites that fit your every need. Our suites feature a king or two queen beds and queen-sized sofa sleeper with a large living area and full kitchen. Two-bedroom kid's suites feature a bunk bed in a separate second bedroom. A queen sofa sleeper is available in the living area adjacent to the kitchen. All suites offer complimentary high-speed Internet and fully equipped kitchens. In our Anaheim Resort Area Suites we Offer:• Coffee and Tea Makers• Complimentary High-Speed Internet Access• Dual Line Phones with Voice Mail and Wake-up Service• Full Kitchens with Stove, Microwave, Toaster, Refrigerator and more• Hairdryer• Individual Climate Control• Iron and Ironing Board• Kids Suites Available w/ Bunkbeds• Pillow Choice (Feather Down/Foam)• Pool Views from 50% of the Rooms• Sofa Beds• Silverware, Pots, Pans, Serving Dishes, etc.• Work Stations with Lamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.