We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service from Sergio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area to your Saves list
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   11931 South Harbor Blvd., Garden Grove, CA 92840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Garden Grove
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great service from Sergio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Our first visit to Disneyland and we were really pleased with our stay. First thing to say that the reception staff were first rate ( more about that later).

We managed to get a suite on the 8th floor at one end so it was extremely quiet. We arrived about 1.00am so it was straight to bed. Our daughter loved the bunk bed in her room and as usual our Marriott bed was top notch. It was only in the morning that we noticed the very strong cooking smell that permeated the kitchen / sitting room. Over the next day or so, cleaning staff tried to get rid of it but to no avail, despite sprays and carpet cleaners. It just wouldn't go, so we asked to move rooms. This is when we met Sergio, he was superb and a real credit to Marriott. He spent over an hour trying to sort the issue in terms of juggling rooms. He thought he had it solved when he offered us a free upgrade and indeed the room was great, but alas no bunk bed which made it a "no" as far as our 3 year old was concerned. So back to the drawing board; in the end Sergio managed to get us another suite. The hotel was very busy so he could just have said "sorry". He also got us a free 6pm check out as we had a late flight leaving around midnight. It is things like this that people really appreciate and value. Hang on to him, Marriott.....

Hotel was great. Breakfast a bit of a scrum but it was free. We were amazed at how much some folk ate...... Washing machines and dryers were also free which was a bit of a bonus.

When we were there the pool was out of use for renovation. We hadn't been told about this in advance but It wasn't an issue as arrangements had been made to use the Hyatt pool, which actually was a blessing in disguise as it meant the pool area was quiet and we got to see another hotel.

The hotel is on the ART shuttle and although you have to pay for it, it is a good service. There is a pay machine outside the hotel. Every time we used it, it wasn't too full and was a very good service.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 8th floor for a quiet sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
I am very lucky to have a staff full of great people like Sergio working at this hotel. Our staff genuinely cares about our guest's experience and we will always go out of our way to ensure that every guest has a great memorable stay. We hope to see you and your family again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    227
    55
    28
    17
See reviews for
512
27
7
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The 2 bedroom/2bath suite was great for 7 of us very comfortably. Kitchen was perfect although we only used the fridge. Beds were great. Clean, comfortable; especially liked the complimentary breakfast bar which included eggs, potatoes, meats and fruits, as well as the normal breads, waffle maker, cereals. It was a very large area for the breakfast, which with a busy holiday week, never felt too crowded. The ART shuttle worked perfectly, never waiting more than 20 minutes. The pool was warm and very clean. All in all, it was a great time for our family!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor end by the pool side, and it quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
You are absolutely correct we are great for families. Our over size suites allow you to spread out after a long day at Disney. Our daily breakfast buffet is an added value especially when you are traveling with a family. Thank you for being our guest! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Excellent service, beautiful suites, friendly staff and atmosphere, delicious breakfast and suppers and the Stott Family says: "thank you Sergio for all your help, always remembered!" HIGHLY RECOMMEND =]

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you Stott’s family for being our guest! The people that work at this hotel are an exceptional group and greatly appreciate you noticing their efforts. We are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your suite. Thank you for your recommendation of the hotel, and we hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We are just finishing up our five night stay here. It is a good family hotel. It is clean and has a good selection of food for breakfast in the morning. My girls loved having their own bunk bed room. It is not nearly as large as what it appeared in the pictures, but our family of 5 was comfortable. My main complaint was that our king bed mattress was probably the worst bed I have ever slept it. It was sqeaky each time you moved and was all worn out. It was worse than the pull out mattress. I layed on the bunk bed and that was surprisingly very comfortable. My daughter even commented how her bed was more comfortable than her one at home! My husband would take some talking into to come back here again just for that reason, but for the price I would. I was so beat after our days at Disneyland that I crashed out (albeit not comfrtably!). We have been on the 6th floor over the pool. It wasn't bad at all until the kids outside playing basketball this morning at 8 am!! They woke everyone up. The pool in the evening wasn't bad, you could hear it, but it wasn't too noisy. The furniture is typical outdated hotel stuff and the bunk beds were pretty worn, but it was nice to have a full size fridge to put snacks in. Overall, I would stay again despite some issues. It was a good price for the family and the kids were happy. It was great having 2 bathrooms to get ready in. All of the hotel staff was very nice.

Room Tip: Don't get a room over the basketball courts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We thank you for posting this review. We feel that no hotel in the area caters to large families like the Residence Inn by Marriott. Whether traveling with a family of 5 or even more, the additional space enhances your trip by giving you room to relax after a long day. I’m sorry you found the bed uncomfortable we are schedule for a full room renovation in early 2013. Can’t wait to have your family come back and experience our new upgraded furniture. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Front desk staff was awesome when I checked in. The rooms were clean. Everything in the room and building looked new and well maintained. The free breakfast was very good and very filling. I highly recommend this hotel for families. The facility is designed for families going to Disneyland. Restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
It means a great deal to us to receive such a positive review from a seasoned traveler like you. Your review touched on many of the reasons that we are the best choice for a hotel stay during a visit to Disneyland. We hope that you and your family return soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on our Disneyland visit and we are very very happy.
Pros:
Clean and spacious rooms
Helpful staff
Free breakfast and more items to choose
Free wifi... Not fast but good enough for browsing
2TVs - 1 in bed room and other in Living room... I think they are LG
Beds are clean and comfortable
They have full kitchen
Cons:
Compact parking space and $10 for parking when they don't have enough parking spots
I stayed in room 306 and I see some water left in the center of tub after shower.

I love to stay here again if I get the same deal.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor on Disneyland side to view fireworks from u r room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for visiting us during your recent trip to Anaheim. Our housekeeping staff works hard everyday to keep our hotel clean. We are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your suite. Thank you for your recommendation of the hotel, and we hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I have stayed numerous places from Long Island, Cleveland, Green Bay, Iron Mountain, Shreveport, Las Vegas to places in California and several times in this Res Inn Anaheim Resort over the course of this year alone. This place is the cleanest and serves the best complimentary meals, Breakfast or manager's reception. All the front desk staff, Joslyn, Sergio, Joe and others are all great and make us feel at home right away. The Managers are real friendly, hospitable and accommodating. Room are spacious, comfortable, very functional and clean. Full kitchen is great too. Managers reception is always good for a complimentary dinner, baked potato bar with ceasar's salad and sodas (light desserts included). Looking forward to breakfast in the morning! The chef's are fabulous. Location is convenient to Disneyland, shopping areas and the beaches. People talked about the hotel and its personnel favorably. There are also a numerous choices of restaurants around that are easily accessable. We would recommend this place for anyone, especially families!
Violandy

Room Tip: Any rooms, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRankGM106, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind words it was truly a pleasure having you as our guest. The people that work at this hotel are an exceptional group and greatly appreciate you noticing their efforts. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area

Address: 11931 South Harbor Blvd., Garden Grove, CA 92840
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#4 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
#6 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay Anaheim Resort Area suites are so well equipped and fully furnished, you’ll never have to set up house twice. Tastefully decorated, our guest suites are as comfortable as they are clean. With all the amenities to make your stay enjoyable and convenient they are the perfect home away from home. We offer a mix of 200 suites that fit your every need. Our suites feature a king or two queen beds and queen-sized sofa sleeper with a large living area and full kitchen. Two-bedroom kid's suites feature a bunk bed in a separate second bedroom. A queen sofa sleeper is available in the living area adjacent to the kitchen. All suites offer complimentary high-speed Internet and fully equipped kitchens. In our Anaheim Resort Area Suites we Offer:• Coffee and Tea Makers• Complimentary High-Speed Internet Access• Dual Line Phones with Voice Mail and Wake-up Service• Full Kitchens with Stove, Microwave, Toaster, Refrigerator and more• Hairdryer• Individual Climate Control• Iron and Ironing Board• Kids Suites Available w/ Bunkbeds• Pillow Choice (Feather Down/Foam)• Pool Views from 50% of the Rooms• Sofa Beds• Silverware, Pots, Pans, Serving Dishes, etc.• Work Stations with Lamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area Hotel Garden Grove
Residence Inn Garden Grove
Garden Grove Residence Inn
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area Garden Grove, Orange County, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.