We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12867 Garden Grove Boulevard, Garden Grove, CA 92843   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Garden Grove
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Welcome Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We needed a room for two nights to be near the Out-pt surgery center in Santa Ana, CA for my husband's knee surgery; This place was in the perfect location to convince stores, and the doctor, and made us very comfortable for what we needed in an Accessible room. Our only complaint would be the bathroom door; it was very large, of course for a handicapped room, yet it opened out and backwards?? to the room and was hard to maneuver with crutches....much better use of space for a sliding or inward open door. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Call the actual Hotel for any questions on the rooms, instead of the 800#.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    47
    40
    13
    19
See reviews for
80
36
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Maps are deceiving since it looked like the hotel was within walking distance but the of it wasn't bad at all. Within reason with car and right next to the freeway. Room was ready upon checkin and went up and dropped everything off and headed to disneyland. Room was clean and smelled fresh. Only problem was our room wasn't serviced the next day but we overlooked that since all we really did was sleep. Bathroom was clean and had great body products. Breakfast was prob one if the best in a hotel that gives free breakfast out. I'd recommend for those who don't care where they stay for a great cheap rate, minus the room not being serviced and having to use hand towels after the shower.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear karak005,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am happy to know that you liked our bathroom amenities and room accommodation. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

We regret the issues you encountered with our housekeeping services. As our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, we want you to know that the feedback we receive are taken seriously. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team to review the procedures we have in place and make necessary improvements to ensure guests do not experience the same scenario in the future.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed in this hotel several years ago visiting the Anaheim area it had been some time since we had been on vacation here so we thought we should stay we're had a good experience before. The hotel from the outside is outstanding and well manicured the inside all though it's clean it's showing its age. The carpets have some stains and our bathroom had some broken tiles and the sink had some water stains. The sheets on the bed were clean but they weren't white anymore more of an old white like they needed to be replaced. I didn't really stress out about these things since the hotel did look pretty clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. I hope they update this hotel and freshen up this issues I really liked this hotel before and now I am not to sure if I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Richard G,

We appreciate that you took the time to leave a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. We’re very happy to know that our location was suitable for you and I thank you for the kind words about our friendly staff.

On the other hand, you mentioned some issues regarding the overall appearance of our hotel and room amenities. We thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and we apologize if this was a let down on your behalf. We appreciate the feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

After seeing several bad reviews before we arrived we were apprehensive to say the least BUT we were very pleasantly surprised.
The room was nice, clean and updated. The bathroom was a very nice size.
The free breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The area was clean and large.
We have always stayed within walking distance to Disneyland so we had never driven before. The drive is very close and easy!
We will be staying again!! Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We booked this hotel because we can always expect top-notch from Holiday Inn - at least we could until now. This hotel charges premium prices (almost $120 total for two people for one night, mid-week, off-peak) and they don't deliver. This place is in need of serious renovation.

Pluses: Very pleasant staff, offered us bottled water at check-in (we had traveled for about five hours before arriving). Location is decent - although for the price they are charging, they aren't that close to any major destinations in the area. Our room would have been a decent value at maybe half what we paid for it.

Minuses: Small room. Permanent stains on the carpet. Two phones in the room, both were dead (found this out when I tried to call the front desk to find out where the ice machine was). Very stiff mattress, not up to the standards I have come to expect from Holiday Inn. Roamed my entire floor looking for an ice machine that wasn't there. Turns out that they only have one for the entire three-story hotel, located in an obscure hallway behind the check-in desk. Nothing in the room tells you this, anything that the hotel offers or where anything is located. Did not find this information until I boarded the elevator. HBO guide for the television but nothing else, nothing to even tell you what channels you have. No ability to check out from the room, like I have found at other Holiday Inn Express locations.

Basically, this hotel charges like they are high-end and they are close to every attraction in the area. Zero for two on that score. I will not stay at this property again unless I hear that they have renovated top to bottom and have cut prices - neither of which I expect to happen. This place is not worthy of the name. It's better than Motel 6, but that is hardly high praise for a place that gouges you for over $100 per night.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. This hotel is not worth anywhere near what they are charging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear orca17,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is nice to hear you like our hotel location and staff services. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry to hear that there were certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your standards. I apologize for any inconvenience caused by the room accommodations and room rates which was less than satisfactory. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken to improve our guest satisfaction.

Again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We hope to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The staff at this hotel make it gem, in particular Daniel. He was so kind, friendly and accommodating not just to my husband and I but to my kids as well. He made them feel welcome which is more than I could have asked. It wasn't just him though, the maintenance guy the housekeeping ladies, the other front desk associates were all super sweet. I have never felt so at home in any hotel and we have stayed at many as we have been season pass holders to Disneyland for several years. On top of the amazing staff this hotel is clean, the pool is heated and they have a breakfast that is a perfect jump start to your day. Before staying I was a little nervous about the shuttle but it was easy! With free parking and Wi-Fi I would be surprised if you find a better deal in the Disney resort area.

Room Tip: As an extra tip if you get a top floor room facing Disneyland there is a good chance you can catch a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed here four days and really enjoyed it. The staff were very friendly. It was very quiet at night. The king size bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was good with lots of variety of cereal, toast, bagels, fruit, pancakes and cinnamon buns. The room and bathroom were very spacious and clean. Room included a small fridge and microwave. We used the shuttle ($5 a day per person) to get to Disneyland. It was on time, air conditioned and took about 15 mins. A nice alternative if u don't want to pay for parking. Parking is free at the hotel and we never had any trouble finding a spot even when we came back late in the evening. The pool is heated and clean and though there were lots of kids around we mostly had the pool to ourselves. The freeway is very close making quick access to go north or south. Overall a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove

Address: 12867 Garden Grove Boulevard, Garden Grove, CA 92843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a virtual tour of the hotel.Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Garden Grove Conveniently located minutes away from Anaheim Convention Center, Crystal Cathedral and Disneyland Resort area. Make yourself at home in one of our large, exquisitely furnished rooms. Enjoy the convenience of our complimentary WiFi & high-speed Internet access. Relax and unwind at our outdoor heated pool and whirlpool; you are sure to find a captivating blend of refreshing breezes and a cool ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove Hotel Garden Grove
Holiday Inn Garden Grove
Garden Grove Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove Orange County, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.