We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best staff i have experienced in any hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12005 Harbor Blvd., Garden Grove, CA 92840   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Garden Grove
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best staff i have experienced in any hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The level of service by the staff is the kind you would expect at a deluxe resort hotel. they deserve a fancier lobby because the staff is at that level. If you stay in this area for more then a couple of days then the room amenities with the the kitchen/suites make this super convenient. The guest mix consisted of international groups, Disney families and biz travelers and the lobby,breakfasts and mangers happy hours were well managed with everyone mixing in very comfortably.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for submitting this review regarding your recent visit with us. The Homewood Suites brand is an exceptional group of hotels and we are pleased that we lived up to your expectations. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Anaheim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    216
    66
    38
    21
See reviews for
543
39
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights for a quick Disneyland visit. Found the hotel to be a little tired but met our needs. The complimentary breakfast and dinner took a lot of the stress away at the end of a long day and was much appreciated. Staff were lovely and really helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgg, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to post this review. I’m glad you enjoyed our hot breakfast and dinner and most importantly that you found our staff to be helpful during this memorable trip. Please feel free to contact us if there is anything extra you would like to share about your experience. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a great hotel for families going to Disney. I was here for business and wouldn't stay for business again (which is my fault and had nothing to do with the hotel). The staff was amazing and the hotel is in a great location. I will say the room I stayed in was very dirty (black spots in the shower, food stuck on items in the kitchen). Other then that, it was a good hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgg, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding you recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you found our staff to be very helpful. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Homewood Suites, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The room was great. Never heard anyone else around or above us. The staff was great and very helpful. Staying in a newer hotel that didn't have to cover up 50 years of use was nice. The only thing we didn't plan on was the bit of stress having to make the shuttle.

While we probably walked less than those staying right next to Disneyland, it came with a price of rushing tired feet out of the park to make the shuttle. Missing it once and being stuck for half an hour waiting for the next. Or pushing kids to shove the food in 'cause the next shuttle was about to leave the hotel. That momentary tension of 'making the shuttle' was a downside to an otherwise great hotel stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgg, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for the great comments regarding your recent stay with us, and we appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us know how we are doing. We deeply regret that the shuttle service negatively impacted your stay. We appreciate your feedback and we will utilize your comments to ensure our daily shuttle rides run as smooth as possible. Thank you for staying with us and it is our hope that we will have the pleasure of accommodating you on your future trips to Anaheim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel accommodations were wonderful! Excellent breakfast each morning. The staff was super friendly and very willing to help with the smallest detail. The pool and hot tub were clean and well maintained. In fact the whole facility was top notch. Excellent value!
We flew in to Orange County Airport, and did not need to rent a car. SuperShuttle was very convenient and cost effective. Restaurants and shopping were within walking distance.
The Tinker Bell entry fee covered our weekend of shuttle to and from Disneyland all weekend.
We could not have been happier!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgg, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Our guests’ satisfaction is our #1 goal. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you on your next Tinker Bell Half Marathon weekend. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us know how we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Previous guests smoked in it and the staff did not get rid of the smell. House keeping sprayed the room with air freshener, but it only make it worse, and a few hours later the odor return. With the cigarette odor, everything felt dirty. Also, the room door did not close properly and we have to slam it hare to engage the latch. Overall this hotel needs some serious upkeeping.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgg, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
On behalf of our entire staff here at the Homewood Suites, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. Our goal here at the Homewood Suites is to ensure every guest has an exceptional experience while staying in Anaheim. We deeply regret that your room had an unpleasant odor during your stay and appreciate your feedback. Thank you for staying with us and it is our hope that we will have the pleasure of accommodating you on your next trip to Anaheim. Please feel free to contact me if there is anything extra you wish to share about your experience with us. Byron Camacho-Front Office Manager (byron.camacho@hilton.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here with a party of 5 on disneyland/seaworld/universal adventures late sept 2012. For the price and service i would stay here again.
The good:
Location - only a few minutes away from disneyland but easy to get to, across the road from target and food establishments. Recommend google maps to see all the eateries in the area. It is easy to get around.
Rooms: are nothing flash but beds were comfortable, though the pull out sofa squeaked badly, teen wasn't too rapped about that. Loads of bedding and towels
Breakfast: on the few days we got down for it, it was good though it is plastic plates, cups and cutlery which was a little disappointing but there was plenty of food, make your own waffles were a success with my kids even though they had to queue to make them.
Staff- i really cant fault them they were lovely to adults and kids. On the last day they let me have the room for most of the day as i wasn't leaving until 5pm for the airport and it was no problem.
Housekeeping: were awesome. Just expect it to be clean and put away any treasures like the duff soda can you got at universal as a souvenir otherwise its in the bin and disposed of!
The pool: small but great, kids made friends, enough space at the time of year we went to find a spot to sit in.

What i can fault them on ( though don't left this stop you going)

Worlds smallest pool towel. It was like trying to cover yourself with a hand towel
Bedsheets were super thin and had holes in them. Nowhere major but every sheet bottom and top had holes somewhere. They were just super worn and time for news ones. Ugliest duvet covers too though this is just my personal taste!
Staff lack of local transport knowledge. - i asked where the ART transport went from and they couldn't help me ( neither could the hotel next door) i suspect this is because they want you to use their shuttle. The art transport is much cheaper, goes all over Anaheim and for trips back and forth from disney the only way to go. I recommend everyone planning on staying here for disney check it out because it will save you $ if you want to leave the park and go home for lunch and a swim and go back in the evening. Its across the road, you can buy tickets from a booth with cc or cash.
The aircon in the room is noisy. But I'm not used to aircon so it could must be my expectations

I'Ve read the complaints about the halls and we stayed at the far end of the building where we used the back elevator and that was fine. Yes its a long walk but all hotels will have a long walk somewhere. We were on the 5th or 6th floor. I wouldn't stay on the ground, or 1st due to noise from pool and road. We asked for a disney fireworks view room and was told sure but then facd the pool. Wasn't a biggy we barely looked out the window.

All in all we were happy here having done our homework before we arrived. I would happily stay here again and will try other Homewood's in the states when i come again.

Room Tip: Aim higher up the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewoodgg, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us know how we are doing and sharing a nice room tip to our readers. We are glad you were satisfied with the amenities and comfort of our beds. We take pride in our hotel as we strive to exceed all of guests’ expectations. We apologize our staff was not able to help locate the ART transport pickup and thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you once gain. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area

Address: 12005 Harbor Blvd., Garden Grove, CA 92840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#8 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extended stay suite hotel. An all-suites Anaheim hotel that will make you feel closer to home! The Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area hotel is one of the Disney Good Neighbor hotels, only a mile away. Enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, daily breakfast and dinner Monday to Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hiltonr Anaheim-Main Gate Area Hotel Garden Grove
Homewood Suites Garden Grove
Homewood Garden Grove
Homewood Suites Anaheim California
Homewood Suites By Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area Garden Grove, Orange County, CA
Homewood Suites By Hilton Disneyland Area
Homewood Suites Disneyland
Garden Grove Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.