We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12005 Harbor Blvd., Garden Grove, CA 92840   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Garden Grove
Foster City, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Indeed this was a great hotel to stay. Target located nearby is about 10 minutes walk. The hotel staff is every friendly and helpful. The shuttle to DisneyLand runs on schedule.
But I did not give a 5 star for the following reasons.

1. The coffee mugs were not cleaned. The coffee stains were distinctively noticeable.
2. The water seeps very slowly in the bath tub.
3. The breakfast opens at 6:30am on Magic Morning Saturday's. It would be great if breakfast opens at 6:00am even on saturdays. This way the kids could eat a little breakfast before heading out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to review the Hilton Homewood Suites – Anaheim Main Gate. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us, I am so happy to have you as our guest. I hope to see you and your friends in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    384
    199
    59
    34
    19
See reviews for
496
35
12
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a two bedroom two bathroom apartment which was good for our family of 5 including two teenage boys. The kitchenette was great, as there was a Target in walking distance we could bring our own food and drinks back to the room easily. The breakfast was really good with lots of choices of hot and cold food. The complementary light dinner Mondays through Thursdays was really nice and it saved us alot of money on dinners .Location is great just a short shuttle ride to Disneyland and walking distance from shops and resturants. The staff are extremely welcoming and friendly, all of them, all of the time.The outdoor pool area is nice. A great place for families to stay the only negative I would say is the rooms are rather dated and when we first walked in the carpets felt dirty and slightly sticky. But overall we enjoyed our stay here and would stay again. Really impressed with how friendly the staff are.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to review the Hilton Homewood Suites – Anaheim Main Gate. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us, I am so happy to have you as our guest. I hope to see you and your friends in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, ca
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have been to this hotel a few years ago and it has aged in those years.

Here are the pros of the hotel:
-suite with 2 rooms that have a door that you can close to allow the kids to sleep while you relax outside
-microwave, full fridge, dishwasher
-front desk are very friendly but can get very busy at times and may not always answer the phone
private shuttle they share with the Marriot next door but its $5 for adult and $2 for kids/day-cheaper if you buy multidays, but it's better than the ART shuttle, this one goes from the hotel straight to Disneyland
-2 long miles from Disneyland
-free breakfast daily, manager's dinner Monday-Thurs.

cons:
no safe in room so we had to carry our computers everwhere with us, they have safe deposit box in front desk but very small-won't fit the computer
-self parking but still has to pay $12 bucks per night
-rooms were not bad but the bathrooms need a new look- shower curtains were worn down, cracks in the shower bar that holds the curtain up, paint around the room looks old
-not too much things they offer to their guests for free: no razor, a toothbrush possibly, no combs and other things other hotels do provide as needed
-no upgrades for Hilton Honor members
-breakfast is available but taste is average and gets old after a few days. Super crowded when we were there. Had an egg item, sausage, toast, bread, ceral, make your own waffle. Would be nice to have fresh cooked eggs.
-beds move when you turn, not firm in the room we were in.
-very, very slow main elevator-even the front desk reminds you but the other option is very far.

Overall, this is an average basic stay hotel for Disneyland. With a little remodeling of their rooms, it will be a nice place to stay. But it was nice to have breakfast and a suite hotel-more room is always better. Would be nice not to have to pay for parking for a hotel so far away from the Disneyland main gate.

Room Tip: Target is right across the street, Starbucks is right next door at the other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to reach out and let me know about your experience during your recent visit. I am happy to hear that the team stood out, and were able to assist in making your experience a memorable and enjoyable one. I am also happy to announce our rooms and corridor renovation, so you will be able to enjoy our refreshed look during your next visit. This renovation should be completed by mid-June, so I will apologize in advance, as there may be some disruption due to this project. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here for a week to celebrate our daughter's 10th birthday. We cannot say enough about this hotel. While on the surface, this is a standard Homewood Suites with comfortable rooms, good breakfasts and light supper fare Monday - Thursday, this hotel takes a standard hotel and turns it into a superior hotel with its excellent customer service. The staff caters to the kids. There is a Disney movie playing on a large screen in the lobby. With kids everywhere in the dining area, there is staff all around cleaning up after the kids. The front desk staff is very attentive, and always smiling. There is a shuttle that goes to/from Disneyland for a very small fee. If you are traveling with kids, I would highly recommend this hotel. You will never feel like your children are being a bother. If you are traveling on business, you can also feel comfortable that this hotel is going to provide you with a comfortable suite, and plenty of space to work with good internet access.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 619. Rooms on that side of the hotel have front row seats to the Disneyland firewo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to review the Hilton Homewood Suites – Anaheim Main Gate. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us, I am so happy to have you as our guest. I hope to see you and your friends in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I had a very pleasant stay in homewood suites and highly recommend it. The room comes fully equipped with a kitchen, small sitting area with tv, and separate bedroom/bathroom. Perfect for famillies or people on business trips. Doesnt have a hotel feel. Also, free breakfast and dinner which is great!
Have to compliment the staff, especially Gus V and the manager for taking such good care of us and giving very hospitable service.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to review the Hilton Homewood Suites – Anaheim Main Gate. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us, I am so happy to have you as our guest. I hope to see you and your friends in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Our family of four stayed here in October. This property met all of our needs, and made our eight day stay very comfortable. As everyone has stated, the staff is very attentive and nice. We used the kitchenette to cook a few meals, but mostly took advantage of the free breakfast (every day) and dinner (Monday through Thursday). The shuttle was very convenient and always on time. We will be coming back again (soon, I hope) to this wonderful, family-friendly hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary H, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to review the Hilton Homewood Suites – Anaheim Main Gate. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us, I am so happy to have you as our guest. I hope to see you and your friends in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is simply amazing! Perfect location, not to far from Disneyland, but out of the hustle and Bustle and conveniently a shy 5 minute walk to a small shopping complex with a big Target!
We took the shuttle to Disney everyday and the service was fantastic!

The rooms were great. Enough bedding for my large family. The size was perfect, very comfortable. The kids used the pool, in late November, so the weather was delightful! We frequently went to Starbucks at the bottom! The free car parking was handy. The staff were just so accommodating and easy to deal with! Everything was perfect!

We also ate breakfast everyday, minus our Disney breakfast and it was just great. For our first stay-at Disney stay, all the way from Australia, we couldn't be happier!!

Because of this delightful stay at Homewood Suites in 2009, we are coming back, all the way from Australia, in 4 weeks for a week long stay! This will defiantly be our hotel of choice for all of our trips.

It's no Ritz, but it's damn amazing!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to review the Hilton Homewood Suites – Anaheim Main Gate. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us, I am so happy to have you as our guest. I hope to see you and your friends in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area

Address: 12005 Harbor Blvd., Garden Grove, CA 92840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extended stay suite hotel. An all-suites Anaheim hotel that will make you feel closer to home! The Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area hotel is one of the Disney Good Neighbor hotels, only a mile away. Enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, daily breakfast and dinner Monday to Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hiltonr Anaheim-Main Gate Area Hotel Garden Grove
Homewood Suites Garden Grove
Homewood Garden Grove
Homewood Suites Anaheim California
Homewood Suites By Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area Garden Grove, Orange County, CA
Homewood Suites By Hilton Disneyland Area
Homewood Suites Disneyland
Garden Grove Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.