We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Homewood Suites was great....except for the housekeeping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12005 Harbor Blvd., Garden Grove, CA 92840   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Garden Grove
Northern California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“The Homewood Suites was great....except for the housekeeping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2007

We stayed at the Homewood Suites for 4 nights in November for a Disneyland trip. In our party were my wife, our 1.75 year-old son, my Mom, and myself. I booked through the Hilton Honors website and added the fourth night at the last minute with our rewards points.

Location:
The Homewood Suites are about five blocks south of Disneyland, not within walking distance. They do offer shuttle service, but I don't know the details, as we didn't use it. I loved the location because there are three restaurants in the parking lot (Outback, Red Robin, and Joes Crab Shack), and a starbucks in the adjacent Hyatt. There is also a Target right across the street and a Vons grocery store a few blocks to the east. There was plenty of free parking.

Check In/Lobby:
We had a late arrival and everything was perfect. Keeping in mind that I originally thought we'd have to switch rooms due to my last minute rewards night, the front desk was able to just keep us in the same room our whole stay, which was nice of them. The Lobby (also where they have breakfast) was very spacious and clean.

The Room:
Our room had one king bed and a sofa bed. It was divided into two rooms. One being the kitchen and living area (with the sofa bed), and the other being the king bedroom with the bathroom. Everything was very clean and well taken care of. The kitchen had everything except for an oven, and the room had all the normal amenities. No wireless internet, but the free corded high-speed internet worked well.

Housekeeping:
Let me preface this by saying that we stay in hotels with our toddler many times (probably 6 times a year), and we've never had a housekeeper come in the afternoon before. We come back from Disneyland in the afternoon so he can take a nap. Three of the four days we were there housekeeping wanted to clean our room at 2-3pm, even thought they'd be right down the hall from our room first thing in the morning when we left. This made us feel rushed to get out of the room so they could clean and wasn't conducive to our schedule. The final day they finally came in the morning so I'm not sure if they finally got the hint, or we just got lucky. At any rate it was unacceptable in my opinion. But it wasn't enough to ruin our stay.

Breakfast:
The breakfast was great. It was a full spread that changed slightly from day to day. Some of the items they offered were eggs, potatoes, sausage, waffles, cereal, toast, fruit, and yogurt. At the busy times there was sometimes nowhere to sit, but other than that we were very pleased.

Overall:
We'd stay here again even with the housekeeping glitch. It was such a good value and the rest of the accommodations greatly outshine the housekeeping issue. I'd recommend the Homewood Suites for anyone traveling in a group going to Disneyland, or just anyone who likes to have a suite.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    384
    195
    59
    34
    19
See reviews for
493
35
12
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

Stayed here for 3 nites Nov. 10-12th. On the morning of the 11th the family went to Disneyland for the day. Upon our return in the afternoon we found the room door open and the cleaning cart in the hallway. My wife called into the room to announce that we were back and were about to enter. Hearing no response after several attempts, we entered our room and encountered the housekeeper who quickly exited
while saying "see you tomorrow". My wife headed for the bathroom then abruptly returned to the living room with a look of disbelief on her face. She stated that the bathroom smelled like someone had just used it for a bowel movement. Not only that, there was also the odor of my wifes' perfumed body spray that apparently had been used to cover the foul smell. She also thought that her eye makeup case had been
"disturbed". I immediately went down to the front desk to complain but
the 2 female staff just wrinkled their noses and stated "we apologize for that". The hotel manager was not available because it was the Veterans' Day holiday weekend. I requested my family be moved to another floor but that never happened. Needless to say for the next 2 nites of our stay there we kept the "privacy please" sign on the door to prevent housekeeping from entering again. Also, the speed dial buttons on the room phone did not work nor did the zero button for the
operator, the stopper in the bathroom sink was broken but I fixed it myself and the screws were mostly falling out of the security latch on
the room door. The furniture looked worn and low end. The Monday night
complimentary meal of pasta with chicken looked appetizing until I bit
into a piece of bone or gristle twice. I am tempted to give this hotel
the lowest rating but since there is an effort ongoing to freshen up the rooms I will be generous and rate it a #2 out of 5 but it was the houskeepers "actions" that first day that really ruined the experiance
for us.

  • Liked — not much
  • Disliked — Houskeeper using our toilet
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlands,ca
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

We booked two rooms for an overnight stay on a trip to Disneyland. Both rooms were in excellent condition. The rooms were clean, spacious and the furniture was in good condition. Each room had a microwave, dishwasher, two burner cook top, coffee maker and refrigerator. We found a few cooking utensils as well. A dinette set in the front room had two chairs and a table. A TV set, I think it was 27 inches, was in the front room and bedroom. The batteries in the remote control for the TV in the front room were dead, but the remote in the bedroom worked fine. The front room had a sleep sofa which we didn't use. A sink was outside the bathroom. Would have been nice to have a double sink, but the single was fine.

Parking was next to the hotel. The lot was well lit.

Check in was painless. Although there was only receptionist when we check in at about 5:00 pm, he got us through the process quickly and efficiently. We were able to pay for our bus passes, a $3 fee, during check in and charge the passes to the room. A bus schedule was available by asking. Disneyland tickets, for more than one day, can also be purchased at the front desk.

There are lots of restaurants nearby. Across the parking lot from the hotel is an Outback Steakhouse and Red Robin (hamburgers). A Target and Coco’s are located across the street. About half a block away is a Buca di Beppo (Italian).

The breakfast was good. Scrambled eggs, bacon, cold cereal, bananas, range juice, coffee and milk were available. Seating was easy to find.

The bus stopped just outside the hotel about 30 feet from the entrance. The bus stopped by approximately every 20-25 minutes. I noticed only one stop between the hotel and Disneyland. We made it to and from the park in 5 minutes. Bus service started at 6:20 am and ran until 12:30 am.

  • Liked — location, condition of rooms
  • Disliked — single sink
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

Nice lobby, decent breakfast, helpful staff, rooms need upgrading as the convertible couch was terrible. The beds were in need of replacement. Called maintenance for some issues and they were attended to while we were at Disneyland. Overall nice hotel. Use the back elevator as nobody uses it and it's faster than the slug elevator near the lobby.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room needs updating
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NV
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2007

Can't say enough good things about this property! Very tidy. The breakfast buffet each morning of our three-night stay was a real time (and budget) saver. The staff was extremely friendly and knowledgable in regard to Disneyland, tickets and the area shuttle, which was not terribly packed. The only negative the entire weekend was the incredibly slow elevator, as noted in other posts. Otherwise, a terrific hotel!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and proximity to Disneyland
  • Disliked — Slow elevators
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

Cannot recommend this hotel enough. The breakfast was included, the room was very clean, and the staff was very accomodating.

  • Liked — The clean rooms, the larger rooms offered with a kitchen, and the complimentary breakfast. Also, there is a shuttle to the parks right in the front of the property. The pool is great after a long day at the parks. The location is excellent.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

stayed here Aug 11-15 with 16 & 20 yr old kids. They liked the internet access in lobby, fitness room & pool. Breakfasts were full meal with eggs & sausage of different variety each day as well as waffles, cereal, toast, yogurt, fruit etc. All staff very accomodating. Needed service to fix stove element and slow drain and someone was there immediately. Weekday light dinners were hamburgers, pasta etc. and included salad, wine & beer. Room was large with lots of space and having the 2 rooms with 2 TVS and kitchenette was great. Yes the elevator is a little slow, we always took the stairs - and after the huge breakfasts probably good idea that we did!

  • Liked — Size of rooms, close to Disneyland, free parking, meals included
  • Disliked — the guy who one night thought he was the only one who should use the hotel computer
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area

Address: 12005 Harbor Blvd., Garden Grove, CA 92840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extended stay suite hotel. An all-suites Anaheim hotel that will make you feel closer to home! The Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area hotel is one of the Disney Good Neighbor hotels, only a mile away. Enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, daily breakfast and dinner Monday to Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hiltonr Anaheim-Main Gate Area Hotel Garden Grove
Homewood Suites Garden Grove
Homewood Garden Grove
Homewood Suites By Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area Garden Grove, Orange County, CA
Homewood Suites Anaheim California
Homewood Suites By Hilton Disneyland Area
Homewood Suites Disneyland
Garden Grove Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim-Main Gate Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.