We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and quiet accommodations at a bargain rate!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Orange County

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Orange County to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Orange County
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11999 Harbor Boulevard, Garden Grove, CA 92840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Disneyland Package
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Garden Grove
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Luxurious and quiet accommodations at a bargain rate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

My husband and I stayed in a renovated two queen suite for five nights during a Disneyland vacation. We received a special "Suites on Sale" rate, which made this luxurious choice a no-brainer! As a couple we were interested in a hotel with quiet accommodations and lots of ammenities, and the Hyatt fit the bill.

The service throughout the stay was wonderful from staff opening our car door and the hotel doors to excellent housekeeping and helpful advice from the concierge. The only time the service slipped a bit was upon checkout when the front desk staff was a little short with me when I didn't hear her question. Aside from that, all staff were very friendly and professional. Housekeeping had a strong attention to detail and did a fantastic job of keeping us stocked with Kleenex, towels, toiletries, etc.

The suite had a nice modern design with lots of lights in the living room area so it was nice and bright for relaxing in the evenings. The Trane A/C system was quiet and it kept the room comfortable at all times without making the room freezing cold as so many of them do.

The hotel furnishings are classy, modern, and more geared to adults, which we liked. The elevator service was quick and often times we approached the elevators to find one open and waiting! Self-parking is in a convenient location and close to the hotel. Parking is $15/night, but this seems to be the standard now. Since we were already paying for parking at the hotel we took the hotel's complimentary Disney shuttle every day to visit the theme parks. This worked out well as it runs every 30 minutes and transports only Hyatt guests. We tried out the 3rd level pool and hot tub - very nice and not crowded at all!

The location is a 30-minute walk from Disneyland, but we did it a couple of times and got some great exercise. The hotel is right across the street from several restaurants including Red Robin, Joe's Crabshack, and the Outback Steakhouse. There is also a drugstore and Target very close. We liked that convenience! There is also a Starbucks on site, which we loved since we are from Seattle after all!

This hotel offered the best ammenities, location, ambiance, and value for our dollar so we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in a newly renovated suite, as well as the hotel’s staff and services. Thank you for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    739
    573
    164
    80
    40
See reviews for
795
198
47
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

This is a great hotel that is much more appealing than others on this street.

Cons: The standard rooms lack free wireless, a refrigerator, and microwave. Parking was $12 per day but that seemed pretty standard for the area. I asked about a business center to check my email but much to my dismay I saw the 10 minutes for $5 sign on the door.

Pros: The pools are nice with great areas to hang out. Very nice, clean, modern gym that was never crowded. Great location with many restaurants nearby. Weren't too many families with loud kids going to Disney land.Target across the street. In and out parking (even if it is $12/day). Very friendly people at the front desk.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
We appreciate your feedback, and are happy to hear that you had a nice stay at the hotel. Thank you for choosing Hyatt, and we look forward to having you back as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed at the hotel in late Aug for 4 nights in their kids suite. It had a strange layout and faced the huge lobby atrium (where it can be a bit noisy at night). Room had microwave, fridge, good sized bathroom. Parking was extra. The property has 2 pools, one in the concrete tower and another on ground level with lots of foliage around it. The OC Brewhouse was great...had a small kid TV area where your kids could hangout and watch some short kid flicks. Clean. Good bed but lousy pillows that didn't have much support.

Free shuttle to Disney that runs every twice an hour was convenient and saved us walking. The hotel is kitty corner from Target, which is convenient. Internet costs extra. Starbucks downstairs. I wished that it was closer to Disney.

Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope we have the opportunity to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Our family of four have just come home from a fantastic 7 night stay at the Hyatt. We stayed in a Kids Suite and the bunk beds were a huge hit for our girls. We found the staff to be warm and friendly. The shuttle service to Disneyland was convenient and punctual.

We enjoyed the breakfast buffet each morning as it was part of our package we booked. What a yummy buffet! The servers were great and a lovely way to start the day. In particular, Jean was marvellous! Our girls asked to sit in her section each morning.

Our family will definitely be back to the Hyatt!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us, and had a great breakfast and service to start each day. Thanks for taking the time to provide your positive feedback, and we look forward to having you back as our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

We recently booked a 5 night & 5-day parkhopper Disneyland package from August 17-22, 2010 with the Walt Disney Travel Company and chose the Hyatt Regency Orange County from the list of hotels based on the reviews from Trip Advisor. It was the best decision.

We requested the Kids Suite on the 9th floor (one floor from the top) in the North Tower in a newly renovated room overlooking the beautiful atrium. Great setup for our family of 5 (2 adults and 3 small children ages 6, 3 and 1). Our two older kids essentially had their own room separated by two frosted glass doors with a huge bunk bed (two can sleep on the bottom bed), flat screen TV and desk. Ample space for them to play and watch the Disney channel . My wife and I had a large king size bed in our side of the room that was very comfortable and soft.

Our bathroom had a big shower and tub. Plenty of soft towels and toiletries to go around. Love the smell of hotel's white ginger shampoo and conditioner. Kept some for using upon our return to remind us of our experience.

There is a mini fridge on our side of the room as well and plenty of closet space and room to hide our suitcases. If you need a little more space, you can upgrade to the Family Suite which contains a living room area with a sofa bed for only an extra $20/nt.

The beddings and decors are top notch. We received excellent service from the cleaning staff and frontdesk. We left a tip for the maids and our room was spotless every day we return from Disneyland. Our room was sound proof. The only noise we heard came from the closing of the doors at night. The doors are big and heavy so they do make a small bang if you simply let them go. Just be considerate when you are returning late at night.

The lobby area is spectacular with the high ceiling atrium. They've done a good job on the recent renovation. The hotel obviously caters to families visiting Disneyland with free shuttle service to and from the park every half hour. The bus drivers are very friendly and helpful. One driver was particularly funny with his rendition of the procedures and reminders to people so they know when and where to be picked up. We got a chuckle each time we rode his bus. Be sure to leave a tip. These guys do deserve it. Yes, sometimes the bus do get overcrowded and there are standing room only, but everyone is polite and it's only a short ride. We took the shuttle everyday to the park and had no problem.

There were also a lot of business people there for a conference during our stay and they too seem to be having a good time when they're not working. The hotel is large enough that it doesn't feel overcrowded. The bar and restaurant area is cozy, warm and inviting. It would be good place to mingle, have a drink and meet interesting people if you are on business.

We definitely welcome the Starbucks on site. You can grab a coffee in the morning and bring your receipt back after 2 pm and get any tall drink for only 2 bucks. We took advantage of this almost everyday. We did not eat at the Tuscany restaurant but heard it was very good for lunch and dinner. There is a promotion for kids to eat free with an adult paying.

There are two outdoor salt water swimming pools. We used the one on the third floor in the South Tower designed for families. There is a gym with modern equipments which my wife enjoyed. There is a convenient store on site and a Target across the street if you need to shop for necessities. Lots of good restaurants nearby as well.

This trip was all about Disneyland. Even with our 5-day pass we didn't get to see everything which means we will return in a couple of years. Our advice would be to go slow and soak in the site and sound. Take time to notice all the details that Disney has put into its attractions. It's not only all about the rides. Try to beat the crowd by taking advantage of the magic morning experience and you will see and feel the difference I'm talking about. Night time seems to be a lot more busier than during the day. We were surprised to see many youngsters out that late. Our favourites were the fireworks (best place to watch is in front of the Castle as you will see Tickle Bell and Dumbo flying in the air); World of Colors (make sure you pick up your ticket early in the day to ensure a good spot); the Genie in the Aladin show is hilarious; the daytime parades were awesome (lots of dancing and energy - watch out the water sprays during the Pixar parade at California Adventure) and of course all the characters were amazing (take advantage of the photopass). Our little princesses got to meet their favourite princesses at the Ariel Grotto breakfast. They also got their hair and makeup at the Bibbidi Bobbidi Boutique. For little girls this is a dream come true.

This hotel offers everything we needed during our Disney vacation. We had a fabulous time both at the hotel and park. If there are any minor complaints, they would be the $15/day for parking which most hotels around Disneyland seem to be charging these days. The free shuttle kind of offset this cost as you would pay almost the same if you park at Disney. There is also no complementary breakfast at the hotel and I hear that the WiFi Internet is a little slow.

Overall, we would recommend this hotel to meticulous and discerning travellers who are looking for high end accommodation and great service. This is a first rate hotel and you definitely get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments and feedback! We really appreciate you taking the time to write about the positive experience you and your family had at our property, and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation. We hope that when you return to Disneyland, you will also come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Had this been a business trip I would have checked out within five minutes of turning on my computer, because the wired Internet was slower than dial-up. How slow? I gave up waiting for a Google map and unfolded a AAA map to figure out directions. Mostly I was trying to check e-mail on vacation, so I let it go. But the lethargic Internet speed continued for all five days, so it's not an anomaly. And while I got it free as a Gold Passport platinum member, others apparently are charged for it. Business travelers, you have been warned.

Had a South Tower room which was nice enough, though a little on the small side. Bed was comfy but the pillows were mush. No fridge. The A/C made enough noise to drown out the kids in the hall. Disneyland is this hotel's bread and butter, so keep that in mind.

Housekeeping was the most uneven I've seen in some time. The first two days no clean glasses were left, forcing us to beg some from the lobby restaurant. Then no soap was left. All around odd. And by the way, the maids begin knocking shortly after 8 a.m. (not a typo) so be sure to use the do not disturb sign if you want to avoid that.

No guest laundry facilities, which is surprising considering the number of families with kids staying. But several coin wash places are within a five-minute drive.

All of this is tempered by the $79 rate we got, though parking is $15/night, which in that neighborhood is absurd. The front desk staff was very friendly, and it's clear that they had to be clean, bright and English-speaking in order to be hired. Sadly, that's a rare find today.

Yes, this is better than many of the other places in the area. And for $79 I'd go back. But considering it's really $94 with parking, that's about as high as I'd go. And while I'm checking that I would recommend this hotel to a friend, that recommendation comes with an asterisk that it be at the right price, and for leisure, not business.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your concerns, and hope that we will have the opportunity to have you back as our guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

This hotel is by far the best in the area. Don't stay anywhere else... just stay here! Entrance to the hotel is very grand. The lobby is wonderful. Staff is the best in any hotel I have ever stayed in.(And that is a lot of hotels) We had a suite and a standard room. Both were nice but the two bedroom suite had a great amount of space. Beds were extremly comfy. Pool was relaxing. Starbucks was nice to have on the premesis. Valet parking was GREAT and so were the staff there. By far, I will return to the Hyatt Regency Orange County next time I am in the area!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to provide such positive feedback on your stay with us! We are glad that you enjoyed the Two Bedroom Suite, as well as the hotel’s staff and service, and look forward to having you back as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Orange County

Address: 11999 Harbor Boulevard, Garden Grove, CA 92840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Garden Grove
#2 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
#2 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#6 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Orange County 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to hotels near Disneyland, Hyatt Regency Orange County is the ultimate destination for your getaway or vacation. Located just 1.4 miles from the Disneyland® Resort, our luxury hotel near Anaheim has shuttle service available to and from the parks, and is in close proximity to Angel Stadium, the Honda Center, world-famous beaches and many other Orange County attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Orange County Hotel Garden Grove
Hyatt Garden Grove
Hyatt Regency Garden Grove
Hyatt Regency Orange County Garden Grove, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Orange County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.