We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Hyatt Regency's standards” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Orange County

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Orange County to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Orange County
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11999 Harbor Boulevard, Garden Grove, CA 92840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Disneyland Package
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Garden Grove
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sandia Park
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not up to Hyatt Regency's standards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2005

I took my two teenage sons to Disneyland and stayed at the Hyatt Regency as we got a great rate on Priceline. The building is impressive, clean and neat and the registration staff was proficient. Since we got in from LAX in the early afternoon, we decided to wait to go to Disneyland and go to the pool and relax. I was shocked that there was no staff to be found anywhere near the pool, no poolside food or drink service. I called to the front desk to be told that I could order food from the restaurant and I would have to go get it. It seemed there was a general lack of staff throughout the hotel, with the exception of the restaurant.

Most Hyatt Regency hotels have excellent service and will go out of their way to assist their customers. This hotel's staff is not customer service oriented; in fact, they were rather dismissive. That being said, I will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    610
    176
    82
    39
See reviews for
850
215
50
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2005

Really enjoyed our stay here. We were there for the Yankees games against the Angels. It was not too handy for Angels stadium but good for disney. We got a taxi to the stadium and walked back. It is about a fifty minute brisk walk. There is plenty of parking at the stadium though and the traffic seemed to clear quickly.

We were upgraded to a suite for the price of a standard king. We booked through the hyatt website so we paid the normal rate. The suite was nice, had a large living and dining area and floor to ceiling windows which overlooked the atrium. The bed was really comfortable and the room was immaculate. The bathroom was tiny.

All of the staff were really nice and helpful. We had a buffet breakfast both days in the California Grill I think it was about $15 each for breakfast but there was a good choice and good quality. Filled up on the good stuff there as there only seems to be junk food available at disney. The onsite starbucks was handy too. There is a dennys just up the street if you do not want to pay the hotel prices.

The disney shuttle was good but very busy on a morning. They seemed to be running more frequently than every 30 minutes on a morning. It is only about a 20 minute walk to disney but the shuttle was a godsend after a day walking about disney and standing in queues.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2005

After many bad hotel experiances in Anaheim...I finally found a great place to stay. Other than the 12.00$ per day parking which was a bit excessive.I love'd it. The staff was great, the rooms were great and the beds were So comfortable. I had to write down the type of bed. I will be buying one this month. I loved that they had a starbucks on site. The shuttle to Disneyland is free, and it is on a nice bus not the trolley system used in the other hotels. The pool was nice and my kids had a blast. Room service was a little pricey, but I ordered kids meals for 5.00$ and they were huge. I love this place.....I can't wait until next year. I will stay here over and over again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2005

We spent four nights at this hotel during the extremely busy weekend of the July 17th Disneyland 50th anniversary. I agree with most of the recent posts. We stayed four nights in the newly-renovated South Tower in a room with two double beds. It faced the South Tower's pool and spa. We did not face the Anaheim/Disneyland side so could not see the fireworks at night. The self-parking is $12, but we were only charged for two nights of parking. I found the front desk service, cleanliness, rooms, pool and location to be top notch and 4* quality. My friend tried the fitness center and said it was very good. We all used the pool and spa area and were impressed with it. At $45 (Priceline) + $12 parking I thought it was a steal for a room that went for over $149/night during the weekend part of our stay.

The downsides? The shuttle is not the quickest. It has some stops. It only runs every 30 minutes. It is definitely more than a mile to Disneyland's entrance, so you wouldn't want to walk. We drove and paid for parking on two of our Disneyland days. I would guess it is around three miles. We did not try the restaurants in the atrium, but they were expensive. The business center was also very expensive, around $.50-60/minute of internet usage.

Still, I would recommend this hotel and would love to win it again at $45 in this zone.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2005

Had a great stay at this hotel. I received a great rate of $70/per night through Hotwire. When I checked-in, I was given a room in the south tower without having to ask for it. The south tower rooms are the newly upgraded rooms. The beds in the south tower are great and I was able to get a great night of sleep after a long day at the Disneyland park. The hotel offers a free shuttle service and it is shared only with the Crowne Plaza hotel. It is not the Anaheim Resort Transport system used by many other hotels. It utilizes an actual charter bus and worked out great.

This was a great hotel and would highly recommend it even at the rack room rate. It is an outstanding deal with the rate from Hotwire.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale, arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2005

I read some of the poor reviews of this hotel and wonder how that was possible! Our two day stay was fabulous! We did Disney for 2 days and have young kids (6 mo and 2 yrs) so leary about taking the trip to begin with. The Hyatt made it so easy! The kids room--with bunk beds was great b/c the 2 year old took easy naps while we relaxed in another room. The shuttle back and forth was super convenient as was the Starbucks in the lobby! The only disappointment was the Pizza Hut on premises doesn't open for lunch and there aren't a lot of alternatives within walking distance. The staff was great, room was very clean and quiet. We could even see the fireworks at Disneyland from our room---center stage! We loved it. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2005

My husband and I stayed here for one night. We choose the location to be near disneyland. It was a few minutes away. We checked in on a Wednesday night around 1130p. There was no wait, the staff was friendly. We did self park, it was a short walk to the lobby. Our room was in the south tower. The bed was comfy and bathroom was clean. We had a tv and a good size closet, love seat and desk in the room. It was a great, easy stay.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Orange County

Address: 11999 Harbor Boulevard, Garden Grove, CA 92840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Garden Grove
#1 Green Hotel in Garden Grove
#2 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
#2 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#5 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Orange County 4*
Number of rooms: 654
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to hotels near Disneyland, Hyatt Regency Orange County is the ultimate destination for your getaway or vacation. Located just 1.4 miles from the Disneyland® Resort, our luxury hotel near Anaheim has shuttle service available to and from the parks, and is in close proximity to Angel Stadium, the Honda Center, world-famous beaches and many other Orange County attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Orange County Hotel Garden Grove
Hyatt Garden Grove
Hyatt Regency Garden Grove
Hyatt Regency Orange County Garden Grove, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Orange County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.