We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for Disney area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Orange County

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Orange County to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Orange County
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11999 Harbor Boulevard, Garden Grove, CA 92840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Disneyland Package
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Garden Grove
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for Disney area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here as we were traveling through Califirnie to several MLB ballparks. We chose this one as its quite close to Angel Stadium and lots of other amenities. The hotel did charge $30 a night to park, which we knew about ahead of time. The parking lot was so large and empty we wondered why they charge but of course not much in the Disney area is free of cheap. We used Priceline though and only paid $70/night for the room and only were staying one night, so it was ok. The hotel itself is beautiful and well maintained like most Hyatts, and has a large atrium in the middle. The decor is modern and open in the lobby area and really nice. The room was standard Hyatt... Clean, kept well. We were happy to get this hotel with our Priceline bid as its close to the large outlet/ shops of OC with so many stores, restaurants, cares, movie theatre etc nearby. There was a handy Walmart across the street too. All in all, a good value for what we paid and I wouldn't hesitate to go back.... For that price!

Room Tip: There rally aren't too many good views here as they either face the parking lot out back or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while you attended a few MLB ballparks! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay including the location of the hotel to nearby shops, restaurants, and theaters. Thank you for your review of the hotel, and we hope to have you back as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    717
    564
    157
    78
    39
See reviews for
770
192
47
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was a work conference so the venue wasn't completely up to me but the hotel is fabulous for work or leisure. I was upgraded at check in (didn't need the extra beds but will certainly keep it in mind for when I do!). The ambiance is very modern but not too garish. The food is very good and the staff mostly knowledgeable and friendly (initially, it took a long time before someone offered an internet cable for us to use in the lobby area). But overall, I'd go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while attending a work conference. We truly appreciate your feedback, and we hope you will visit us again – whether for business or for pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

stumbling into this property during a business trip. I liked it. Conveniently located in the Orange County...if you are doing business in Irvine then this is a great palce.
Don't miss the buffet breakfast and a nice dinner at the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us including the TusCA breakfast buffet and dinner. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope you will visit us again the next time you’re in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just stayed at the Hyatt Orange County for a 3-night visit to Disneyland. We were three adult males, and had a standard double room. The room was very clean. A hotel general manager myself, I was unable to find any cleanliness issues. On day 2, we left our "Do Not Disturb" sign in the door by accident, and the Room Attendant was kind enough to return at the end of her shift to see if we might need anything in lieu of the daily service. She re-stocked all our amenities and linens, and was very pleasant. The shuttle service was a great amenity. For only $4 per day, we had unlimited use of the shuttles, to come and go as we pleased, every 15 minutes or so. While at first I was surprised to see a fee for the shuttle, this turned out to be WELL worth the price, considering the frequency that they offered. ALL the shuttle drivers were prompt, polite, and very efficient. We also visited the lobby bar on our final evening, and the Bartender, and Manager on Duty were both extremely friendly and engaging. If I had to pick one thing that was a shortfall, I found the front desk staff to be a bit cold and impersonal. They were quick and efficient, but lacked any warmth whatsoever. Something that's important to me when I check-in, and something I would think is important at a hotel in such close proximity to a Family Attraction. I realize that business/convention hotels don't generally deal with as much family and leisure business, but based on geography, this property is clearly an exception, and I expected some friendliness at the front desk. Overall, a nice stay, and I would return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. We are so glad to hear that you were happy with the guestroom, OC Brewhouse staff, and shuttle service to Disneyland. We truly apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced during check-in, and we thank you for letting us know so that we can address your concerns. Thank you for visiting us during your Disneyland vacation, and we hope you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had a kid's suite for our recent stay. Worked out great as a hub for our Disneyland vacation. The rooms were a bit bare in decor (think corporate/minimalist) but I wanted that over too much Disney/visual noise. As people have written, there are no closets in the room, but we found there was plenty of storage. I thought the shelves under the counter in the bathroom made so much sense.

Breakfast was great--fresh, easy and convenient. Service was very friendly, lots of smiles. The shuttle worked out well. On time, clean and courteous. My son looked forward to watching the Disney movies on it on the way to and from the park. He also loved the little kiddie lounge in the hotel lobby with the movies.

We used the north tower pool, and it was empty. We visited daily and only saw another person 1x. I don't think the pool was heated, but we had 90 degree days. Hot tub was heated.

Being more adventurous eaters, we enjoyed great Thai, Korean BBQ, Vietnamese and Mexican food within 1-2 miles of the hotel location. There's also a ton of chain restaurants in the vicinity, but we're not really Outback Steakhouse kind of people.

Overall, very happy with this choice for our stay. Wouldn't hesitate to go back...although as seems to be irksome for all the other reviewers, why charge for wi-fi and parking? Clearly Hyatt has no intentions of doing anything about this as the multitude of reviews have not warranted any sort of change. I'd rather have it grouped into my hotel cost than be nickeled and dimed--leaves a bad taste. Never experienced the elevator crowds from a big convention, although the rooms were in use during our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency OC during your recent vacation to Disneyland! We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the TusCA Breakfast Buffet, friendly staff, and shuttle service to Disneyland. We are glad that you were able to explore the wonderful eateries in the surrounding neighborhood! Thank you for providing feedback on your stay with us, and we hope you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

great choice, shuttle was easy to find and was always on time..tasca restaurant has great food..try the beet salad,pizza,white bean soup, and the kids menu is very health..staff is very profesional and helpful...just 2 small constructive comments: the lobby/restaurants areas are way too cold, you need a jacket to dine in. and there was a lot of dust on the night stand...other than that, highly recommend it...will stay again..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Disneyland. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the friendly staff, dinner in TusCA, and Disneyland shuttle service. We truly appreciate your constructive feedback and will definitely take them into consideration. Thank you for recommending our hotel to other travelers, and we look forward to having you back as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orcutt
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a one bedroom queen suite. The suite was not quite as nice looking as what is shown on the Hyatt website. We expected something modern yet warm feeling instead we had off white walls with a basic door that separated the rooms. Don't get me wrong the room was very clean and spacious just not what we expected. Other issues included lack of storage space. For a room that size you expect a place to put your luggage and your clothes. We basically lived out of the suite case, since only two tiny drawers were provided and a small area to hang clothes. The other issue was the television in the bedroom, many of the channels were snowy. So laying in bed after a long day at Disneyland and watching t.v. Wasn't happening. Luckily the t.v. In the living room worked fine. Also the walls are a little on the thin side, since we could hear water running in the pipes and the people next to us talking or yelling.
On the plus side the beds were extremely comfortable and the size of the space we had was great for a family of three. I would give this hotel a 3 1/2 stars based on how clean and spacious the rooms are. Staff was friendly enough. The big downer for my husband was the 16 dollar a night self parking fee and the wi-fi fee. I mean you can even get free Internet at Starbucks but not a hotel. I think next time we will try a different hotel for our 3 night Disneyland stay.
I forgot to mention the shuttle, it's a must use. It's a 4 dollar fee but well worth it.

Room Tip: Apparently north tower rooms are less desirable ask for the south tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. We truly apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay, and we thank you for letting us know. If you would like to discuss any of these concerns further, please contact our Rooms Executive, Shane Nicolopoulos at (714) 740-6036 to see if there is anything we can do to regain your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Orange County

Address: 11999 Harbor Boulevard, Garden Grove, CA 92840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Garden Grove
#1 Green Hotel in Garden Grove
#2 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#2 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
#5 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Orange County 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to hotels near Disneyland, Hyatt Regency Orange County is the ultimate destination for your getaway or vacation. Located just 1.4 miles from the Disneyland® Resort, our luxury hotel near Anaheim has shuttle service available to and from the parks, and is in close proximity to Angel Stadium, the Honda Center, world-famous beaches and many other Orange County attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Orange County Hotel Garden Grove
Hyatt Garden Grove
Hyatt Regency Garden Grove
Hyatt Regency Orange County Garden Grove, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Orange County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.