We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice near-Disney family-friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Orange County

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Orange County to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Orange County
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11999 Harbor Boulevard, Garden Grove, CA 92840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Disneyland Package
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Garden Grove
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice near-Disney family-friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The Hyatt Regency Orange County is perfect for families visiting Disneyland that don't want to stay on-site at Disneyland itself.

The hotel is within 5 mins drive from the Disneyland car park.

They're quite family-friendly and have a large TV with seating area in the huge lobby where they constantly play kiddie's movies. Great if the parents want to hang in the bar area next to that while the kids are entertained.

There's also a Starbucks in the lobby which I visited for breakfast every day. On Easter Sunday they hid lots of eggs everywhere in the lobby which was fun for the kids to find and a nice touch.

The rooms are large, modern and very comfortable. There was a separate living room area with TV so the adults could crash in there while the kid watched TV in bed (or vice versa!)

We self-parked rather than tipping and waiting for valet all the time. The self-park is just behind the hotel and easy to use.

I had one problem while staying there - my safe just stopped working when it had been fine for a while. I called a guy to take a look and he couldn't fix it so he said he would have the front panel replaced while we were out. I was disappointed to find that it had not been done on my return and I had to call another guy. This guy managed to fix it fine without replacing anything! Seemed like the first guy didn't know what he was doing. Minor issue but irritating as I had to take all of my valuables in the car to Disneyland while the issue was supposed to be fixed.

We didn't really use any other facilities at the hotel as we were there just to visit Disney. Overall a great base for the visit to Disney and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The king suites are worth the extra money. We used points to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Orange County during your recent trip to Disneyland! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the guestroom, Starbucks, and family-friendly atmosphere of the hotel. We are truly sorry for any inconvenience that you experienced with your in-room safe. Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation of the hotel, and we hope you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    713
    559
    156
    78
    38
See reviews for
765
191
47
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

This hotel is very nice, has excellent rooms, is close to the Disneyland Resort and runs specials in the “off season” that make it more affordable than lesser rated and lower quality motels/hotels in the area. The room we stayed in was about 40% off the usual price.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is not only a restaurant and lounge on site but also a Starbucks, which beats the in-room coffee maker by a mile. There are lots of good restaurants in the immediate area as well. One draw-back is the self-parking which is a little inconvenient.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the Disneyland Resort "off-seasons" - May or September.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you for your five-star review of the hotel! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay including our friendly staff, Starbucks, and nearby restaurants. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have you back as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We were very happy with our 4 night stay this week. We were upgraded to a 2 bed/2 bath suite upon request and it was spacious for our family with 3 preteens. The location and ease of the shuttle made it possible to go back to the room for midday swimming. We had a car but chose to use the shuttle 2 out of 3 days. Our only compliant was the closing of one of the pools and basketball court. I did not see any signage aboutt his and only found out when someone told me at the other smaller pool. We would have liked to try the breakfast buffet but 19.99 seemed expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Disneyland! We’re delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed the Two-Bedroom Suite, Disney shuttle service, and pool. However, we are sincerely sorry that you were not informed of the temporary close of our South Tower Pool for resurfacing. Thank you for providing feedback on your stay, and we hope to invite you back as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

When booking with virgin Holidays for a 2 week stay we had requested 2 ajoining rooms. When we arrived we where given 2 rooms in the south tower on separate floors. We spoke to the conceierge and they said they would move us the next day when a big group of kids had checkout. The next day we where moved to ajoining rooms facing the pool. After that was sorted out the rest of the stay was great! Clean rooms, great gym, pool and jacuzzi. Until we got home and my sister looked in her account to see that she had been charged $210 by the hotel. After ringing the hotel we found out they had tried to charged us for parking even though it's free when you stay there. We have now received a full refund.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for providing feedback on your two-week stay with us! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the guestrooms, gym, and pools. We apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced with your account, and we are glad that it was readjusted. We assure you that honesty and integrity are all very important to the Hyatt Regency Orange County. Thank you for visiting us from London, and we hope you will come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Just spent another week at Hyatt Regency and it was an excellent experience, as it was in July when we visited. I booked a queen/queen room but again was bumped up to a Kids Suite "Disneyland View" for no additional cost. Don't pay extra for a DL view....it's sooo far away that I had to struggle to find it.....maybe it's ok for fireworks?? We stayed in room 865. We were first sent to a Kids Suite on the 9th floor, but when I opened the door I realized it hadn't been cleaned from the last guests (I first thought they might still be in there!). But Sara at the front desk was so apologetic and helpful. She provided us a free breakfast buffet for our troubles. The shuttle now costs $4 a day per person (except for little ones) and it reads online that this is for their new clearly marked shuttles with Disney videos inside & GPS tracking so you can always find the bus, but it's really just $4 for plain white busses, no GPS and hit&miss videos because sometimes they're broken and sometimes not played at all by one driver (Erika...she likes music loud enough that I can't hear what she's saying on the overhead speakers). Rooms were always cleaned early. Ample towels, shampoos, replenished coffee & tea in room. Loved the Starbucks shop in the lobby. I only ate one meal (the breakfast buffet), which was $20 a person. It had a large selection of fruits, cereals, eggs, pancakes, etc. Parking is still $15 as a guest (per night, but you can leave your car there the last day all day). TONS of parking spaces which is nice because most Anaheim hotels by Disneyland have few & they're tight! We will definitely be back again. I booked this a few months in advance for $89 a night at Hyatt.com.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the Kid’s Suite, Starbucks, and ample parking spaces. Unfortunately, there were delays on the delivery of our wrapped buses, and they will be in service next week. We truly apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay, and we thank you for being understanding. Thank you for your review of the hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Fairly spacious and comfortable rooms. Fireworks view rooms do have a great view.

Housekeeping is quick and the Disney shuttle is clean and frequent. The restaurant in the hotel looks like Denny's and we didn't eat there. But loads of restaurants are within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Disneyland! We are happy to hear that you were pleased with the guest room, housekeeping, and Disney shuttle service. Thank you for providing feedback on your stay with us, and we hope you will come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, ID
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Fantastic option for a Disney vacation! We stayed in a King Suite for 5 nights and the room was perfect for our family (kids are 8 and 1). We were worried about spending 5 days in a standard room as we knew we would be spending more time the room than usual (1 year old needing naps and such). The room was large and the separate bedroom allowed a quiet place for naps while the others were watching TV or chatting in the front room. The shuttle is great. When I read that Hyatt was starting to charge $4 per day for the shuttle I was worried that they might have signed on to the Anaheim Transit system. No, the shuttle is exclusive to the Hyatt and well worth the $4. Picks up every 30 minutes right outside the front door of the hotel and drops right in front of Disneyland. The Hyatt is further away from Disney than most of the good neighbor hotel options, but we quickly realized we would have taken a shuttle no matter how close we were. The whole family is exhausted after a day at the park so no distance of a walk home would have been tolerable. The location of the hotel is great as you have a Target across the street which is perfect to grab snacks and drinks for the room. There are also plenty of dining options right across the street - Outback, Red Robin, Joe’s Crab Shack, Oggi’s (great pizza and beer), Casa Garcia (great local Mexican food), Coco’s (great inexpensive breakfast option). The hotel restaurant is very nice, but expensive so we chose to dine at the options listed previously when we were not at the park. Overall, a great hotel with a wonderful staff. Thanks Hyatt.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_gravelle, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Orange County, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for your great review of the hotel! We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed the One-Bedroom Suite, Disneyland shuttle service, and the variety of dining options nearby. Thank you for staying with us during your week-long vacation, and we hope to invite you back as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Orange County

Address: 11999 Harbor Boulevard, Garden Grove, CA 92840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Garden Grove
#2 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
#2 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#6 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Orange County 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to hotels near Disneyland, Hyatt Regency Orange County is the ultimate destination for your getaway or vacation. Located just 1.4 miles from the Disneyland® Resort, our luxury hotel near Anaheim has shuttle service available to and from the parks, and is in close proximity to Angel Stadium, the Honda Center, world-famous beaches and many other Orange County attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Orange County Hotel Garden Grove
Hyatt Garden Grove
Hyatt Regency Garden Grove
Hyatt Regency Orange County Garden Grove, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Orange County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.