We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Promised and Under Delivered :(” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12221 Harbor Boulevard, Garden Grove, CA 92840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Garden Grove
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Over Promised and Under Delivered :(”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Its unfortunate that a hotel liked by so many have became poor at customer service, even with their top tiered, Platinum members. I prefer the top floor, bed type almost matters least.

I called the hotel about 4 hours before checking in at 8:00 PM one night in February. I was told that there's a room for me, on the top floor, with two beds. I was by myself on business and didn't mind the bed type but it is crucial to be on the top floor.

I was happy at first after the woman over the phone assured me there's a room for me.

Too good to be true.

Once showed up at the hotel, another women at front desk (possible the same one answered the phone) told me it wasn't possible. The room either wasn't assigned to me or was unavailable to begin with.

So why would someone at front desk make such a promise?

I am sitting here in my room on lovely 5th floor (instead of 7th), hearing running and footsteps above me is just "great!"

Thank you, you individually owned hotel, but carries the Sheraton name. You have managed to screwed an unsuspecting top-tiered, Platinum member again!

Room Tip: Their entire top floor is the "Club Floor." Expect to pay more. Even Starwood Platinum me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Halderson-GM, General Manager at Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
We appreciate the opportunity to improve. We'll conduct some further training with our team, as no complimentary upgrades are to be confirmed in advance. Per Starwood requirements we are never to confirm before check-in time. 95% of the time we are able to accommodate all of our Platinum guests with complimentary upgrades, however we can only confirm in advance those that pay a small fee in advance. All the guidelines can be found on the Starwood SPG website.
Best regards,
The Sheraton team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    180
    84
    30
    26
See reviews for
228
86
25
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I reserved this room when visiting Disneyland. Nice, clean, comfortable room and hotel at a decent price for the area.

The shuttle was a bonus. Check in/out went smoothly. Paid parking was easy. Target was across the street, making it easy to pick up a few items for Disneyland. There were other nearby (walking distance) restuarants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Halderson-GM, General Manager at Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to many returns.
Best wishes,
The team at Garden Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed at this hotel while visiting the Disneyland. The hotel is very clean and well managed. They offer you a shuttle service to DL, 3$/day. During the first day, the shuttle was 30 mins late and when I complained to the front desk after I returned from the park, they apologized for the inconvenience, refunded the shuttle fee and gave me access to the club lounge. I was very pleased with the service and customer relation. Will stay again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Halderson-GM, General Manager at Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We send our thanks for taking the time to recommend us here. We are grateful to be in such a great location close to restaurants and shopping, while being only a short shuttle ride to the parks.
Best regards,
The Sheraton team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

First time staying here I used my Starwood points and had a wonderful time. Celebrated my daughters 16th bday at Disneyland on New Years Eve. Of course it's hectic and always expect snags of some sort, but the check in was great, parking not a problem at all. The staff was some of the nicest people I have ever encountered in my travels. The shuttle fee for Disneyland was waived for all 4 of us for 3 days that's a 36.00 savings, I didn't have to ask it was just offered to me(refreshing). Nightly parking fee was 12.00 a night which is not out of line for California standards(I've paid more at other hotels) Rooms were great with very comfy bedding and beds. Very clean and the bathroom was pretty spacious, ordered room service food was delicious & still hot. Thank you to the staff again for delivering a dessert for my daughters bday to our room she was thrilled!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone top notch staff, great room and shuttle to Disneyland...our stay was pretty much perfect! Oh yes and they serve Starbucks coffee in the downstairs bar...

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Halderson-GM, General Manager at Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We appreciate the high praise and will certainly recognize the team here. Our customer service scores have improved significantly this past year and we look to build on that in the coming year.
Very best regards,
The Sheraton team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

GM Chris and his exception team of employees like Martha, Dennisse, and Sally just to name several are so committed to customer service.
The property is newer and well maintained.
The health club is nice.
The outside pool and spa are maintained at great temperatures.
There is a regular shuttle to Disneyland.
One suggestion is to drive 8 minutes to downtown ORANGE and see a quaint downtown with loads of antique stores, nice shopping, even an authentic Soda Shop.

If you stay at this Sheraton I think you'll be very pleased with accommodation.
It's a tad less money than hotels touch Disney or across the street.
The property has good dining on site. You can also walk next door to Cocos, Joes or Outback.
And there's even a Target across the street.
So you have wonderful options.

Again, you'll find the staff extremely nurturing. Any family would have a nice experience.
And if you're in LA and just want an escape I think you'd enjoy it too.
We went to Newport Beach. Took 20 minutes. So a nicely situated property!

Enjoy!
Mark

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hall if you want quiet. Lots of families at this hotel with louder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Halderson-GM, General Manager at Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We're very pleased to receive such excellent comments about the hotel here, but mostly about the staff. We'll be sure to congratulate the team and look forward to more return trips!
The team at Garden Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I booked this hotel as this is very close to Disneyland. Hotel is very decent, clean and has all the amenities. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Hotel offers frequent shuttle service to Disneyland at a nominal charge that makes it very convenient. Location of this hotel makes is a good choice overall.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Halderson-GM, General Manager at Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We do enjoy our location, close enough to the parks, and convenient walking distance to dining and shopping.
Best regards,
The Sheraton team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magna, Utah, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed here while attending Disneyland. Nice, somewhat older hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Located on Harbor Blvd. about 1.5 miles from Disneyland (also on Harbor Blvd.), their shuttles were very convenient and the drivers were very helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Halderson-GM, General Manager at Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We appreciate the recommendation!
Best regards,
The Garden Grove team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel

Address: 12221 Harbor Boulevard, Garden Grove, CA 92840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
#9 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step outside and enjoy the nearby attractions. The Sheraton Garden Grove is only 1.5 miles away from the laughs and screams at Disneyland, and the variety of shops at Downtown Disney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel Orange County, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.