We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great spot!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   701 Redwood Drive, Garberville, CA 95542-3104   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Garberville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maple Ridge, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“What a great spot!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed here for our 3rd time and each time just gets better and better!! We travel quite a bit and this is 1 of my favorite hotels! The wine and cheese reception they have every night is fantastic! They have one of the best breakfasts in the mornings we have had at a hotel. The have everything from waffles to cheese omeletts to biscuits and gravy and many types of cold cereals and oatmeal. We will be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    210
    66
    29
    23
See reviews for
165
203
19
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Haines, OR
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

After a long day of travel, 2 adults and 3 kids, the Best Western was a pleasant hotel to spend one night. Enjoyed the wine and cheese offered along with treats for the kids. We were able to take all out to the pool using plastic ware provided by the hotel. Our room was on the lower level and able to walk out from our room thru a private gated patio to the pool. One draw back is that we had to walk down a flight of stairs with our luggage to our room but once settled in, it was no problem using the stairway. The hotel was located closely to several restaurants whereby we ordered takeout and enjoyed poolside as it was a very warm and pleasant summer evening. The pool area was completely hidden from the road with large shrubs and the noise was hardly noticed especially once we were in our room for the night.
There was a slight problem when I went to shower in the morning with low water pressure and assumed it came from a nearby room using the shower. Simply waited to shower for a few minutes and had plently of water. Room was spacious, well decorated and the beds were comfortable. All employees we came in contact with were most pleasant and accomodating. Would definitely stay again. call in advance for a reservation and would happily stay on the lower level in order to be by the pool.

Room Tip: I would call in advance for a reservation especially if you expect to arrive after 4PM
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Pluses:
Room itself fine – large, table & desk, nice photos and décor, comfortable beds.
Wine & Cheese in evening was excellent in a room overlooking the pool with a very nice lady serving.
Full breakfast: Could make own waffles. Cheese omelets & sausage.
Had hot tub.
Easy access into “town” and onto Ave. of Giants.

Minuses
Shower water pressure so bad it seriously would have taken several seconds to fill a drinking glass
Internet was spotty on and off line
Our room was next to very noisy pool (open to 10 pm) instead of “mt. view” as requested weeks earlier and down a long (no elevator) stairway into dungeon like corridor. Noisy refrig. which had to be unplugged to quiet it down
Heat lamp in bathroom turned on and then not off – not good in July.

Room looked out on pool. Plus or minus depending on whether this is your thing. Was not ours.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed here for one night on a trip down the coast from Washington. We had a king bed room with a view of the pool. Very nice! Of all the hotels we stayed at on the trip, this was the best bed of all! Slept like a baby. Clean room and nice linens on the bed. I check Trip Advisor often before making reservations and end up checking for "hairs in the tub" etc. but no problems here. Very clean and service was exceptional. When we drove in, after a wonderful top-down trip through the Avenue of the Giants, granted, there was a little problem. They were repaving the front parking lot and had a huge group of people who were late to check out that day. A little disturbing, because we were tired from our driving trip that day. No problem, they had us in our room in no time and soon enjoying the quite wonderful wine and cheese reception. I was impressed with the morning breakfast selection also...above and beyond if you ask me. You have to love Garberville if you lived in San Francisco in the 70's and we do. If you want to stay, you can't go wrong here.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, DOM
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Stated 1 night while touring the west coast. Greeted at the front desk by a trainee that seemed truly experienced, and offered dining recommendations. The room was bigger, nicier and cleaner than the Hilton I stayed yesterday in downtown San Francisco. I mean clean down to a special "easy-to-clean" remote control. But wait! There is more... A wine & cheese reception for guests from 5 to 7. Not expected and greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clemson SC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Very clean and well maintained.....desk staff very helpful...competitive rates Good full breakfast

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We have stayed at a couple other Garberville-area places over the years, but this hotel is really the only place worth staying in this somewhat remote part of northern CA along Hwy 101... Having experienced other places around here, if this Humboldt House Inn would ever be full, we would just keep on driving. Sort of expensive but really the only game in town if you want clean, comfy, private, modern facilities. Right behind the hotel is a great little pizza joint... they have other food too, but when you check in late (and if they are still open) sometimes pizza is all you can get... very handy and tasty pizza tho... especially if you've been driving all day and just want a room and some good food.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn

Address: 701 Redwood Drive, Garberville, CA 95542-3104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Garberville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Garberville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Humboldt House Hotel Garberville
Best Western Humboldt Hotel
Best Western Garberville
Garberville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.