We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed for the Season” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One Log House

One Log House
705 US HWY 101, Garberville, CA 95542
707-247-3717
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This special log home includes living, dining, & bedroom areas just like any other trailer or motorhome. This Northern California redwood attraction has been a longtime popular attraction to young and old alike. At One Log House Espresso & Gifts, we also have a nice gift shop with unique redwood gifts, bowls, clocks, chainsaw carvings, & souvenirs. We also feature espresso drinks (hot, cold, or blended), smoothies, milk shakes, fresh deli sandwiches, and ice cream.
Suisun City, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Closed for the Season”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We didn't get a chance to see it. We have seen it in the past and it was a great little place.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    22
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Quick Fun Stop to Stretch Your Legs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

If you are travelling with teens/young adults whose main entertainment is taking funny photos, this is a fun touristy stop! The inside of One Log House looks like a small travel trailer - completely furnished, which adds to the fun photo-ops. We were there in December, which is a low tourist time, so we were the only ones inside and did not have to hurry.
I do not remember the exact entrance fee, but it was less than $20 for the five of us. It is on the honor system. You put cash into a box that a carving of a bear is holding. (If you do not have cash, I'm sure you can get some in the gift shop.)
The photo-ops do not end with the One Log House, their are more inside the gift shop: funny hats, buffalo head, etc. The sales clerk was very accomidating with their antics. We bought some buffalo jerky; unfortunately they did not have samples. It was to our liking and pretty spendy.
This is a fun quick stop to stretch your legs on your trip through the Redwoods!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fieldbrook, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great little stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Grab a cup of coffee and sandwich, use the very clean restroom, and hit the road. The people are very friendly. You can find unique locally made gifts. Nice indoor seating area or in the summer, sit outside. We stop there every time we head from home to the bay area and back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Interesting Road-side stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

If you like unique roadside attractions, this is a must-see for your list. I found it to be fascinating and creepy all at once. It only cost $1 and you can say you were inside a tree. It is incredible that they carved out hte inside of this tree and made a home! The gift shop that sells the $1 ticket has reasonably priced gifts and tasty spiced hot chocolate

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Cute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

The hours are erradic though, we just kept stopping in untill it was open.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Log House also viewed

 

Been to One Log House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Log House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.