We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A marvelous place to rest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benbow Historic Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Benbow Historic Inn to your Saves list
Benbow Historic Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   445 Lake Benbow Dr., Garberville, CA 95442   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Garberville B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A marvelous place to rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is our fourth stay at the Benbow and we were as enchanted this time as each of the previous stays. We were on a spontaneous road trip and stopped by without a reservation. We were booked into a glorious large room with fireplace, view of the bridge, private terrace and most of all delicious quiet.

We also dined without dinner reservations. I had crab chiopino (sp?) and braised duck legs. My better half had mussels in a coconut thai sauce and a vegetarian risotto. All dishes were excellent, service informed and relaxed in pace. The bar afterwards holds an extensive selection of single malt scotch and better yet a bar tender who knows what he is talking about.

This is a magic place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Catherine K,

Thank you for choosing Benbow Historic Inn for the 4th time! We take great pride in our cooking and are glad we had the opportunity to share them with you. We appreciate the feedback and your 5 star review, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    96
    46
    24
    17
See reviews for
74
274
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This Inn is a very special place. Nestled in the trees in the mountains with the Eel river running by it. It was 24 years ago we found Benbow Inn and it has not changed it's style or way of doing things at all or very little in that time period. As another reviewer said ... it is like stepping into a European country inn. The staff is very accommodating, warm friendly smiles and hello from every staff member. The rooms are wonderful are very comfortable. The housekeeping staff does an exceptional job of caring for each of the rooms. The menu isn't huge but it is exceptional! They have a very nice cozy lounge where you can have dinner if you prefer not to use the more formal dinning room. The staff in the lounge is very good and do everything they can to make your dinner exactly as you want it.

We have stayed in the Inn and loved the rooms but stairs are not difficult to climb for my husband now so we stay in the Terrace rooms. There are a few stairs to the first floor but they are manageable. The Terrace rooms are very large and have wonderful balcony's where you can sit and enjoy the river and mountains.

If you have dietary issues the chef and his staff will do everything he can to accommodate you and make your meals enjoyable and tasteful.

Very relaxing and enjoyable to stay here! The staff is exceptional as is the Inn!

Room Tip: The Terrace rooms or Cottage as the rooms are larger but all are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear dusters34,

Thank you for coming back to Benbow Historic Inn. We are glad that after 24 years you still find our staff exceptional. Thank you for the 5 stay review, we appreciate the feedback. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed at the Benbow Inn 34 years ago. Looking for a destination for New Year's Eve, we found an excellent package at the Benbow Inn. It has the feel of a European country inn. The décor is charming and the food is excellent. A three day stay felt like a long vacation, a great place to relax, explore the redwoods, partake in afternoon tea and scones and they put on an excellent New Year's Eve dinner and party.

Room Tip: We brought our dog along. We had a lovely room at the corner of the building on the ground floor, m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Jean B,

Thank you for choosing Benbow Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed our New Year's Ever dinner party. We appreciate your 5 star review and hope that we may welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I went there for 3 nights after Christmas to explore the Humboldt Redwood State Park and the Inn is a nice place, but they try to sell themselves as something special and they really are not. It seemed that older people really enjoyed it more, not sure why. The rooms were clean and its really quiet there, so you'll get a good night sleep. The breakfast was also very good and the service was outstanding.
But the bar was overpriced and so was the restaurant and I am not even sensitive to prices.
Overall I would say it is a good choice for a stay, but don't get your expectations up too much. Going to the Humboldt State Park takes you about 25 minutes drive, so it is acceptable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Michaela M,

Thank you for choosing Benbow Historic Inn. We are glad you got to enjoy our clean and quiet rooms. Sorry about the food and bar prices. We appreciate your feedback and hope that we may welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stay at the Benbow Inn several times a year and all I can say is that the owners have got it just right. The hotel is beautiful and perfectly appointed in period decor, neither fussy nor pretentious, but comfortable and inviting. The rooms are perfectly furnished and quiet, the lobby and public areas are warm and inviting, and the bar is what a bar should be, with a fireplace, piano, and great service. The restaurant never fails to please, and during summer months, dining on the patio is incomparable. And, the setting, in the redwoods along the Eel River in nothing short of magnificent.

When I say the owners have got it right, I mean that a guest feels like a guest in the home of a wealthy friend. We love the decanter of sherry in the rooms, the easy chairs in the rooms and public areas, the books and puzzles, the afternoon tea and scones, and the large fireplace in the lobby. The service is warm, helpful, and friendly without being cloying or pretentious. When the odd issue arises, the staff takes care of it immediately without making you feel that they are either put out or doing you a favor. The cost is affordable and if The Benbow were located in a metropolitan area would be much more expensive, thus making it a bargain.

Of all the places we've traveled, The Benbow is our favorite hotel and is the place we turn to when we need a quiet and relaxing few days to decompress and rejuvenate. This is without doubt (in my opinion) the most wonderful hotel in the world. There are fancier and more "luxurious" hotels but none more comfortable, welcoming or beautiful.

Our only request: It seems that the trademark "Archer" is being replaced by a "B" and I hate to see that happening.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear yeatswan,

Thank you for continually choosing Benbow! We appreciate your 5 star review. We will take what you said about the "B" and the "Archer" into consideration. Thank you for the feedback, we hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, ma
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is the 5 or 6th time my brother and I have stayed at the Benbow Inn over the past 14 years. We arrived a few days after Christmas and the inside and outside of the Inn are beautifully decorated with a magnificant Christmas tree in the lobby. There is a teddy bear theme, at all times of the year. You see teddy bears in the corners wearing red bows, and bears under the tree, dressed in nighgowns. There is a fireplace in the lobby. We sat for hours in the lobby, just gazing at all the beauty.
We've always stayed in the historical building. The rooms are unique, with antique furniture. There is a small decanter of sherry on the desk.
The people who work there are genuinely nice and go out of their way to be helpful.
We had dinner at the Inn and the food was exellent. They now have a vegan menu, in addition to the regular menu, which I liked.
We love it here and didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Mountain49,

Thank you for choosing Benbow Inn continually for 14 years! We are glad that you got a chance to see our holiday decor. We appreciate your 5 star review and hope that we may welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My husband and I first went to the Benbow about 26 years ago. We were married there and have returned periodically over the years. The staff are kind and accommodating and we always feel truly welcomed by them and the owners. Dinner on the terrace, on a warm summer evening, is a treat! The ambience is SO pleasant and the food is amazing! Who knew there was such a GEM in Garberville?!

Room Tip: The "Historic" part of the Inn is beautiful and very special. The newer rooms are very nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear LizaBragg,

Thank you for choosing Benbow over and over again. It is an honor that you let Benbow be a part of your big day. We are glad that after 26 years you still enjoy Benbow. We appreciate your 5 star review and hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Benbow Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benbow Historic Inn

Address: 445 Lake Benbow Dr., Garberville, CA 95442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Garberville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Garberville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Benbow Historic Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1926. 55 Recently renovated rooms. On the National Register of Historic Places. Member of Historic Hotels of America. A beautiful country inn with fine dining serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Outdoor dining available in the summer. Next to Benbow KOA featuring golf, driving range, and putting green. Located on the Eel River in the heart of the redwoods near the entrance to the Avenue of the Giants. Benbow Historic Inn is your California Redwood Retreat. Amenities include daily complimentary tea & scones, free lobby newspapers & WiFi, in room sherry & coffee, complimentary bicycles, seasonal pool & Jacuzzi, splash park, sport court, playground, meeting space, wedding venue, hiking & biking trails abound. A must see at the Benbow Exit 636 off US Highway 101. 199 Miles north of San Francisco in Southern Humboldt County. Numerous music and art festivals during summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Benbow Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benbow Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benbow Historic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.