We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your average Marriott...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fullerton Marriott at California State University

Save Saved
You added Fullerton Marriott at California State University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fullerton Marriott at California State University
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2701 East Nutwood Avenue, Fullerton, CA 92831   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Fullerton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Your average Marriott...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Decent hotel - not as clean as I would have expected for a Marriott but the beds, as usual, were comfy. Hotel staff was attentive, the restaurant (breakfast) was average fare with a nice touch of the omelet station. However if you are vegan or vegetarian, the best you could do was fresh fruit. I can honestly say if I was ever in this part of the world again for a weekend, I would probably stay there. It was near enough to restaurants, and right near the university.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    73
    36
    7
    10
See reviews for
48
22
20
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I booked this hotel 2 months in advance through a discount web site (a lot priceline, etc.). I reserverd a room with 2 fulls beds, to accommodate me, my spouse, and my 2 children. We arrived very late (near midnight) and when we checked in were told they only had a king size bed. When I questioned them, they said that they do NOT honor details from 3rd party web sites, even though nothing on my reservation indicated that. To add injury to insult, they said there were NO rollaway beds available. I will say the staff waswilling to bring plenty of sheets and blankets for my children to sleep on the floor. The next day rollaway beds were available, but they wanted to charge $20 per bed, even though we clearly showed 4 people on our reservation and we had prepaid 10 days. Needless to say, I did not win that battle BUT, once I started sharing how very sad it was that I would need to inform all 3rd party sites of this policy, they found a room with 2 double beds.

Further, this Marriott (as well as several others I've stayed in recently) only put in the room ONE individual coffee package = 1 cup of coffee. Trying to get one for each adult in the room per day was pulling teeth. I was getting a reputation calling the front desk each evening asking for enough coffee each day. I finally said, "can you just make a note to give us 2-4 packages each day?"

Otherwise, this hotel is great - centrally located, beautiful rooms, new features, very clean. And I will end with a postive note - several staff WERE responsive and very friendly. I am not sure if they became that way with my persistence or if they were just nicer than the others.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I liked this hotel - it had a pub, gym and pool. There is free and plentiful parking for hotel guests. The hotel interior appears to have newer carpet. The pool was open past 10pm, which is a plus. The pub/bar was friendly and inviting, not the usual stiff lobby bar or a super-fancy restaurant bar. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stayed here two days, 7.30.11 - 8.1.11, and for the price we paid using Priceline, it was an excellent deal. Extremely comfortable King bed. Very clean room; nice swimming pool. Excellent staff. Great Fitness room and swimming pool that opened at 6am which is a bonus.

My only complaint is that the Marriott chain markets their hotels as all Non-Smoking. This hotel had a smokers pit between their hotel back exit door and their pool and I had to walk through all these smokers to get to their pool each morning. I almost passed.

If I were Mr. Marriott, I would completely ban all areas from smokers. Other than that, everything was perfect.

Vince P

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles,CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Stayed here in July as part as a 10 year anniversary present for my wife. I won the hotel via Priceline for $55 a night which seems fair considering where it was at and the features that it offered. I found the hotel to be beautifully kept and well maintained with ground keepers looking after it all of the time. The room looked like your average Marriott and the air conditioner was running perfectly which was great considering the days were averaging 95+ degrees. A coffee maker could be seen in the room as well as a bottle of water that was offered for $4. The one biggest disappointment with the room was the $10 per night fee for Wifi access. I have stayed in many other Marriott branded hotels (Residence Inn, Courtyard) that include this in the room rate. Since Fullerton is a college town, every restaurant I saw including fast food offered this service. Maybe one day Marriott will get a clue from them and offer it as a service to their guests. Even the Holiday Inn a few blocks down offers this for free. If you are facing the college, try to leech of their open network that they offer to visitors. One plus I did like was the $5 certificate that they give you each night that you offer to skip housekeeping. The certificate could be used for the Restaurant or Lounge.

In the end, I would of given this hotel 4 stars, but had to drop it one for the $10 fee for Wifi access.


Pros:
Warm customer service!
$55 a night on Priceline even on weekends
Close freeway access
$5 a night certificate if you choose to skip housekeeping.

Cons:
$10 a night Wifi access. Do yourself a favor and try to access the colleges network or walk accross the street to Tully's coffee where you can use it for free.

Priceline advertised this as being in the Disneyland neighborhood. This might be a stretch as it took about 15 mins to get here from the park.

Booking through Priceline, the hotel will not give you credits toward your Marriott account.

Room Tip: If you want free wifi, ask for rooms that face the college so you can use their network.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011 via mobile

We just finished a weekend stay at this property. There pluses and minuses during our stay.

Plus - Great beds and bedding, very quiet, free parking and access to freeway.

Minus - No free Internet or breakfast. Only coffee, no tea in the room. No microwave or refrigerator. Bathroom had no ventilation.

When I requested a receipt at the end of my stay the front desk would not provide one due to the fact that I booked through priceline. I was told I had received my receipt via email when I booked.

Overall the property was fine for the price I paid. However I would not pay full price for this hotel.

Additional tip - if your room is located on the side of the hotel near cal state you can log into their guest network for free.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

The rooms are quite luxurious for the price, which was discounted because I was attending a wedding. Great bedding and really nice decor as you can see in my pictures. Bathroom was also great. The free breakfast was a nice touch (but it tasted somewhat bland--and the breakfast area was quite empty.) It was not centrally located to too many shops. My only complaint was that I was awoken up at 7 am by some loud screaming next door, apparently the walls are thin and the couple didn't think anyone was listening. Let's just say, they should put more insulation in the walls. Other than that, I would definitely stay here again if I were attending any events or for business.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fullerton Marriott at California State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fullerton Marriott at California State University

Address: 2701 East Nutwood Avenue, Fullerton, CA 92831
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Fullerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Fullerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fullerton Marriott at California State University 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fullerton Marriott at California State University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fullerton Marriott At California State University Hotel Fullerton
Marriott Fullerton
Marriott California State University
Fullerton Marriott At California State University CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fullerton Marriott at California State University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.