We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coconut shrimp!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Five

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Five
1110 E Champlain Dr, Fresno, CA 93720
(559) 434-5553
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Five is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 1,011 restaurants in Fresno
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: E Perrin Avenue
Lemoore, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best coconut shrimp!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Had a wonderful meal with friends at Five. Service was great! I asked for a coke and was told they only had Pepsi but when the sever saw me wrinkle my nose (yes, I,m a coke snob) she whipped out a can of diet coke from the back and served it to me in a glass of ice. Nice save! The coconut shrimp is to die for. Great wine list. Everyone was very happy with their meals, and of coarse we each tried a bite of everything on the table. I had the rigatoni al pollo and it reminded me of my favorite Santa Barbara Italian restaraunt! Desert was creme brûlée. Great place to take friend out to dinner. Walked over to the Sequoia Brewing Co next door for after dinner drinks which was fun and relaxing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    21
    11
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“#1 In Fresno!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Five is our favorite place to eat, hands down! My wife and i go there every chance we get, and try new things on the menu every time. We have yet to have anything that is not amazing! I travel for work and end up eating at a lot of nice restaurants all over the world, Five has the best filet i've ever had. I've been to over $100 a plate steak houses that don't hold a candle to Five! If you are in Fresno or even near by, go to Five, you won't regret it!

Mitch

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, just overpriced with poor service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have enjoyed the food on every visit, with our last visit impressing us the most. The Rib-eye with blue cheese was possibly the best steak I've had in Fresno. Her lobster ravioli was exceptional as well. However, you pay more for what you get. I have no problem paying good money for good food, but the restaurant needs to know that good money pays for much more for good food. Mainly service. Every visit we've received the worst service imaginable. We only see the servers once every 20 minutes, tops. After our food is received, no one comes to make sure that everything is correct and we are happy. After dinner was over it took thirty minutes ( not exaggerating) to get a dessert. Also, an 18 dollar corkage that would already be overpriced becomes way overpriced when you have servers that don't open wine properly or refill your glass for you. I have no problem paying 100+ dollars for a meal for two, but a $100 meal shouldn't have service that poor. I'm sure we'll dine there again, but if the service is half as bad as its been, then we'll never return.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had a very good meal here. It may not be the most authentic Italian food around, but it was well done and nicely served. I read several reviews mentioning the prices, but when was the last time you only paid $4-5 for a side salad? Everything we had was well-prepared and served. We had the calamari fritti, lamb chops, fruti di mari, and salmon salad and we all had leftovers.
We will go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“singles bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

a singles bar for the older crowd. masquerades as an Italian place but the food is bland and overpriced. Don't bother unless you're looking for a cougar.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five also viewed

 

Been to Five? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.