We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Car show finish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daily Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Daily Grill
7855 North Palm Avenue, Fresno, CA 93711
559 435-5550
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #188 of 1,014 Restaurants in Fresno
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Nees
Coarsegold, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Car show finish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

At a recent car show, we decided to try the Drill Grill for dinner, we have been there for lunch. My wife had the grilled trout and she loved it, but for me it was too dry. But she loved it, so I am good with that. I had the grilled Salmon and it was done to perfection. Oh, try a side of glazed carrots.
The service was a little off because of a new waitress in training, but overall it was ok.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morro Bay, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Pleasant Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is one of the dining establishments from the past which offers quiet booths and comfort food. There is also an outside patio off the bar which has happy hour drinks and appetizers. We tried both on a recent visit. It was enjoyable to sit outside on the patio for a drink before dinner while munching on sweet potato fries. Our server, Jeanette, took our order and followed up to make sure we were satisfied. ( Take note of the drink specials as there are many and quite reasonable.) Later, as we moved inside for dinner, we were seated in a leather booth and were greeted by our waiter, George, who brought us waters and warm, crusty French bread. Each couple shared a salad and we appreciated that these were divided in the kitchen and served separately. Of the four entrees, the fresh trout was the winner, lightly breaded and crisp fried. The "brick" chicken was a bit dry...not as succulent as described. The salmon dishes were nicely prepared, but the spinach accompaniment was overly dressed (butter? oil?).
We shared a delicious chocolate brownie cake with ice cream...yummy! Two notes on the downside. Once our bottle of wine was served, no one from the service staff offered to pour additional wine. On the other hand, the food service was overly friendly .....there were times when we thought our waiter was going to pull up a chair and join our party! A bit more decorum in this area would be appreciated.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We went to the daily grill for a company party. We had never been to the daily grill before. The appetizers were very good. We both had dinner while we were there. The server was very attentive and took care of us. The entire staff took care of our group. The food was very good and reasonably priced. We will go back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

really busy but worth the wait kinda loud for any intimate conversation very good food great staff including hostess

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful choices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Fresno has lots of dining choices but this rates high on my list. Not only does the menu contain a great variety there is a list of 8 or so entrees at less than 600 calories! I chose one from the list and it was delicious. I would classify it somewhere between casual and more formal. My husband had on shorts (we were heading to a football game) and did not feel out of place yet it is quite elegantly decorated and the menu is way more than "casual". They also have a nice list of "designer cocktails" and wines by the glass if you are interested in something different before dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daily Grill also viewed

 

Been to Daily Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daily Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.