We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Tri tip Sandwich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dog House Grill

Dog House Grill
2789 E Shaw Ave, Fresno, CA 93710-8205
559-294-9920
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #4 of 1,001 restaurants in Fresno
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stunning Tri tip Sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I had the BEST tri-tip sandwich I've ever eaten at the Dog House! I smoke my own BBQ, so rarely order it at restraunts. I will ABSOLUTELY order it again at the Dog House! It was amazing! The most tender and juicy BBQ sammich I've had. The fries were also delicious, and the service was great! This is a must visit restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    77
    44
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great roat beef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I loved the roast beef. Woww. It was so delicious. I loved it. Sandavich was so big. The fries are also so good. But you need to wait so long. There is no place to park. You need to wait and wait. But it is worth it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Tri-tip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I simply love the tri-tip sandwich here. The meat is yummy and the sauce is t h ick and sweet. Big basket of onion rings free soda refills. Its hard to have to find your own table because its pretty much first come first serve self seating and this place gets packed. Dont lije having to hear numbers called out one after another over the loudspeaker either especially when I'm watching a game.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This is a must stop when in Fresno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is a special place you must stop and eat when in Fresno. It's located near the college so at lunch and dinner times there may be a little wait. Be patient the line moves fast. There specialty is the Tri-Tip sandwich, excellent. But the menu has assorted selections for everyone. If you are ordering french fries with your meal the basket size is enough for 4. Also order a side of the onion rings, you won't be disappointed. It is open seating so grab what you can. They also offer waiter service if you wish. Since it is near the college there are numerous TV's with sports. Parking is an issue and it is monitored. You may have to park on the street. In any case make this a sure stop.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“I wasn't impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Seeing it ranked at #2 for Fresno, I was expecting a lot more. On the positive side, the service was super! The waitstaff was litterally running around making sure everyone was taking care of. Also, the fried calamari was delicious and plentiful. On the less-than-positive side, yes, the tri-tip sandwich was fully loaded, but the beef was cooked well past medium, with no juices left and actually quite dry for tri-tip. The onion rings were of the frozen variety, I really was expecting home made. Also, to reiterate other reviews, the blaring loudspeaker in your ear is a definite turn-off!! It's a college bar, plain and simple.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dog House Grill also viewed

 

Been to Dog House Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dog House Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.