We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK For an Overnight Before Your Flight” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Piccadilly Inn Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Piccadilly Inn Airport to your Saves list
Piccadilly Inn Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5115 East Mckinley Ave., Fresno, CA 93727   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Washington DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“OK For an Overnight Before Your Flight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

There's not a lot to recommend this hotel other than convenience to the airport. Public areas and guest rooms are worn (although clean) and in serious need of refurbishing. There is no guest elevator, so if you are carrying (lugging) a suitcase or are mobility-impaired, you'd better hope for a first-floor room with no one above you. As others have noted, you can forget the Internet - it is unbelievably slow, so if you need access, you'd definitely better stay somewhere else. It may be that business in general is slow in Fresno, but at the Piccadilly, it was essentially non-existent - the bar even closes between 2:00 and 5:00 PM, the restaurant was eerily empty, and there were almost no cars in the parking lot on a Monday night. It is literally about three minutes from hotel to airport terminal - sad that a place with so much potential misses the mark so widely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Airport, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
The Piccadilly Inn Airport has recently been purchased and changes in the internet, rooms, televisions, and service are being addressed. We continue to focus on developing our staff and making ongoing improvements as our commitment to improve our guest's experience. We appreciate your response and would love to have you as our guest again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    32
    28
    15
    11
See reviews for
20
14
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I usually stay at one of the Carlson chain hotel first time since it was close to the airport and I was flying out early. Poor guest service looks nice on the outside and lobby area but rooms are not tastefully decorated. Front staff are not welcoming like other places I stay. I've been in Fresno 8 times already this year and first time and last at that hotel even though its close to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Airport, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your valued response.
The Piccadilly Inn Airport has been proudly serving guests for over 3 decades. Recently the hotel has been acquired by new ownership that recognizes the need to improve our guest's experience and has made a sincere commitment to not only meet, but exceed our guest’s expectations. We will continue to strive to improve the quality of our service and services moving forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Previous review of "internet is as fast as a glacier" eloquently and accurately describes internet speed. They might as well advertise "no internet" on their website. Right across the street from the airport though so it's very convenient for flying in and out of FAT. Although again, that is of little use if you can't even check in for your flight with their snail-like internet speeds. Older hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Airport, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your courteous response. The Piccadilly Inn Airport has served it's guest's for over 30 years. Recently, the hotel was purchased and we have recognized the need to improve our guest's experience including our complimentary WiFi service. I am happy to say that we currently have a crew on sight wiring the hotel for new improve service because we understand the need for our guest's to be effectively connected. We will continue to improve our hotel to meet the expectations of our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I hadn't been to Fresno since I was a child, and had no point of reference in choosing a place to stay other than proximity to the event we were attending. I could not be happier with my choice.

The rooms are clean and well kept. The staff courteous, friendly and helpful. We had dinner at the hotel our first night -- the food was excellent, the waiter attentive without being intrusive.

The only downside to my stay was the bed, and that was more me than the hotel. I have a memory foam mattress at home, and I'm no longer comfortable on a box spring, which is the standard in most hotels. I have the same problem whenever I travel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Airport, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your courteous response. The Piccadilly Inn Airport has served it's guest's for over 30 years. Recently, the hotel was purchased and considerable improvements have been taking place to improve the quality of our guest's experience. New mattresses have been arriving and are currently being installed along with new flat screen televisions. The hotel staff is striving to enhance our guest's stay with help of ongoing training and new systems. We welcome our guest's feedback and continue to work to improve your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

After some problems, the front desk staff were able to 'make good', which was very much appreciated. Most hotels are only sympathetic and do nothing when an issue occurs besides saying that they are sorry.

The first room we were given was already occupied: EEK! The gentleman said he was still waiting to be given a room with two beds. The second room had a bad air conditioner that we discovered after an hour of 79 degree temperature.

Maintenance quickly replaced the thermostat, but there was no improvement after another hour of watching fuzzy TV. (I didn't complain about the TV since I thought it was the usual cable gremlins, but discovered the next room was fine).

The front desk called maintenance, but after 15 minutes they were not available. At this point they offered to move us to a suite and comped breakfast. I was hot in many ways and this offer was much appreciated.

The suite was 80 degrees as well. I guess the policy is not to have rooms in 'ready' condition for guest but to save electricity. At least after 45 minutes the A/C took affect.

All through the hotel the wi-fi was practically unusable. It took 3+ minutes to fill most screens and you can forget watching any cat video's. Just catching up on e-mail took over a half an hour. Trying to find a good place to eat in the area on tripadvisor was frustrating.

To the good, the three rooms were all clean and comfortable. They had more space than usual and had sinks both in the bathroom and dressing area, which is very much appreciated by my wife.

The decor is dated, but not worn. I agree with another reviewer describing it as stepping into and episode from 'Mad Men'. Not a bad thing, but not the 'W'.

The refrigerators, noise from other rooms, outside noise and the airport roar was minimal.

The towels were very thick and fluffy.

This hotel appears to be the closest to the airport, so that is convenient and I heard there was a shuttle available.

Since there are no neighboring places to eat you’ll either have to drive or visit the hotels restaurant. It has a small breakfast menu and a higher end lunch and dinner menu. We had an excellent breakfast there. Our omelets had very fresh ingredients and the service was very fast and friendly.

Room Tip: Inside rooms face the pool and garden. The outside face the road or airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Airport, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful response. The hotel has recently been purchased by a very dedicated hotel team. We are in the process of making many improvements and the performance of our guest internet is a high priority since so many of our travelers depend on the ability to connect to their world. New service will begin soon along with many other needed upgrades that will certainly surpass our existing service. We hope to see you soon and welcome your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I needed to go to Fresno for a few days for business at which time I stayed at the Piccadilly Inn by the Airport. It was larger than expected clean with a decent cafe for breakfast. The staff in the cafe was nice staff the front desk was also very friendly. Overall good experience although I did not like the location it was not a good area to walk around. The property could also use an update on decor. Overall a positive experince for my work week.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Airport, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your response. The Piccadilly Inn Airport was recently purchased and our new ownership has recognized the need to improve our guest's experience. We are currently updating our rooms with new 37" flat panel televisions and new mattresses. New high speed internet and television channels will arrive in the very near future as we have agreed to new service. Our team will work tirelessly to improve the experiences our guest's have come to expect. We hope you make Piccadilly Inn Airport your home away from home when you visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This is far from a new hotel, but that is part of its' charm. The staff is very helpful, friendly, and welcoming. The restaurant and bar are both very old school, and that makes them cool. We were there for a few days, and got to know Candice, our waitress, a bit. She was very helpful, and even suggested some off menu breakfast items for us. That was cool. Every staff member we encountered, without exception, was very friendly which gave the hotel a nice feel.

This is an old hotel, and nowhere else shows the age more than the rooms. The televisions are old, and the reception is poor. The beds are old, and uncomfortable which is my biggest complaint.

The staff earns this hotel 3 stars from me, but the rooms need an upgrade to be worthy of the staff.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Airport, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our team is very committed in making your stay with us a positive one. The hotel was recently purchased and the new ownership has made a commitment to improving our guest experience. We are currently replacing our dated televisions with 37" flat panel sets & new channel selection, new mattresses, and high speed internet. We will continue to strive to improve and meet the expectations of valued guests such as yourself and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piccadilly Inn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccadilly Inn Airport

Address: 5115 East Mckinley Ave., Fresno, CA 93727
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Fresno
#12 Business Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Piccadilly Inn Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Piccadilly Inn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccadilly Inn Airport Hotel Fresno
Piccadilly Hotel Fresno
Piccadilly Hotel Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccadilly Inn Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.