We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Advertises free internet but is as good as having no internet at all” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Piccadilly Inn Airport

Save Saved
You added Piccadilly Inn Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Piccadilly Inn Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5115 East Mckinley Ave., Fresno, CA 93727   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Advertises free internet but is as good as having no internet at all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Previous review of "internet is as fast as a glacier" eloquently and accurately describes internet speed. They might as well advertise "no internet" on their website. Right across the street from the airport though so it's very convenient for flying in and out of FAT. Although again, that is of little use if you can't even check in for your flight with their snail-like internet speeds. Older hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Airport, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your courteous response. The Piccadilly Inn Airport has served it's guest's for over 30 years. Recently, the hotel was purchased and we have recognized the need to improve our guest's experience including our complimentary WiFi service. I am happy to say that we currently have a crew on sight wiring the hotel for new improve service because we understand the need for our guest's to be effectively connected. We will continue to improve our hotel to meet the expectations of our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    25
    25
    13
    10
See reviews for
18
11
12
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I hadn't been to Fresno since I was a child, and had no point of reference in choosing a place to stay other than proximity to the event we were attending. I could not be happier with my choice.

The rooms are clean and well kept. The staff courteous, friendly and helpful. We had dinner at the hotel our first night -- the food was excellent, the waiter attentive without being intrusive.

The only downside to my stay was the bed, and that was more me than the hotel. I have a memory foam mattress at home, and I'm no longer comfortable on a box spring, which is the standard in most hotels. I have the same problem whenever I travel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Airport, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your courteous response. The Piccadilly Inn Airport has served it's guest's for over 30 years. Recently, the hotel was purchased and considerable improvements have been taking place to improve the quality of our guest's experience. New mattresses have been arriving and are currently being installed along with new flat screen televisions. The hotel staff is striving to enhance our guest's stay with help of ongoing training and new systems. We welcome our guest's feedback and continue to work to improve your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

After some problems, the front desk staff were able to 'make good', which was very much appreciated. Most hotels are only sympathetic and do nothing when an issue occurs besides saying that they are sorry.

The first room we were given was already occupied: EEK! The gentleman said he was still waiting to be given a room with two beds. The second room had a bad air conditioner that we discovered after an hour of 79 degree temperature.

Maintenance quickly replaced the thermostat, but there was no improvement after another hour of watching fuzzy TV. (I didn't complain about the TV since I thought it was the usual cable gremlins, but discovered the next room was fine).

The front desk called maintenance, but after 15 minutes they were not available. At this point they offered to move us to a suite and comped breakfast. I was hot in many ways and this offer was much appreciated.

The suite was 80 degrees as well. I guess the policy is not to have rooms in 'ready' condition for guest but to save electricity. At least after 45 minutes the A/C took affect.

All through the hotel the wi-fi was practically unusable. It took 3+ minutes to fill most screens and you can forget watching any cat video's. Just catching up on e-mail took over a half an hour. Trying to find a good place to eat in the area on tripadvisor was frustrating.

To the good, the three rooms were all clean and comfortable. They had more space than usual and had sinks both in the bathroom and dressing area, which is very much appreciated by my wife.

The decor is dated, but not worn. I agree with another reviewer describing it as stepping into and episode from 'Mad Men'. Not a bad thing, but not the 'W'.

The refrigerators, noise from other rooms, outside noise and the airport roar was minimal.

The towels were very thick and fluffy.

This hotel appears to be the closest to the airport, so that is convenient and I heard there was a shuttle available.

Since there are no neighboring places to eat you’ll either have to drive or visit the hotels restaurant. It has a small breakfast menu and a higher end lunch and dinner menu. We had an excellent breakfast there. Our omelets had very fresh ingredients and the service was very fast and friendly.

Room Tip: Inside rooms face the pool and garden. The outside face the road or airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Airport, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful response. The hotel has recently been purchased by a very dedicated hotel team. We are in the process of making many improvements and the performance of our guest internet is a high priority since so many of our travelers depend on the ability to connect to their world. New service will begin soon along with many other needed upgrades that will certainly surpass our existing service. We hope to see you soon and welcome your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I needed to go to Fresno for a few days for business at which time I stayed at the Piccadilly Inn by the Airport. It was larger than expected clean with a decent cafe for breakfast. The staff in the cafe was nice staff the front desk was also very friendly. Overall good experience although I did not like the location it was not a good area to walk around. The property could also use an update on decor. Overall a positive experince for my work week.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Airport, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your response. The Piccadilly Inn Airport was recently purchased and our new ownership has recognized the need to improve our guest's experience. We are currently updating our rooms with new 37" flat panel televisions and new mattresses. New high speed internet and television channels will arrive in the very near future as we have agreed to new service. Our team will work tirelessly to improve the experiences our guest's have come to expect. We hope you make Piccadilly Inn Airport your home away from home when you visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This is far from a new hotel, but that is part of its' charm. The staff is very helpful, friendly, and welcoming. The restaurant and bar are both very old school, and that makes them cool. We were there for a few days, and got to know Candice, our waitress, a bit. She was very helpful, and even suggested some off menu breakfast items for us. That was cool. Every staff member we encountered, without exception, was very friendly which gave the hotel a nice feel.

This is an old hotel, and nowhere else shows the age more than the rooms. The televisions are old, and the reception is poor. The beds are old, and uncomfortable which is my biggest complaint.

The staff earns this hotel 3 stars from me, but the rooms need an upgrade to be worthy of the staff.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Airport, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our team is very committed in making your stay with us a positive one. The hotel was recently purchased and the new ownership has made a commitment to improving our guest experience. We are currently replacing our dated televisions with 37" flat panel sets & new channel selection, new mattresses, and high speed internet. We will continue to strive to improve and meet the expectations of valued guests such as yourself and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Close to airport and freeways, reasonable rate, rooms are clean but you can tell it is an older hotel....if you don't like stairs, ask for a room on the bottom floor. There are no elevators. We had breakfast at the restaurant and it was good.

Room Tip: Only two levels, so if you don't want to walk the stairs, ask for a bottom floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Airport, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for feedback. I'm excited to say that we are now scheduling many much needed improvements to bolster our guest's experience in 2013. Rooms, public space, and restaurants will soon be undergoing new and exciting changes. Thanks again for your important feedback and we wish you safe and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

the people @ the desk were so helpful in getting me info.

jaymie, mellisa ben great
mellisa helped me to use the computer she went above her duties
A GREAT TEAM OF PEOPLE
YOUR BUSINESS IS AS GOOD AS THOSE YOU HIRE

Room Tip: smoking avilable....or non
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Airport, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for feedback. I'm excited to say that we are now scheduling many much needed improvements to bolster our guest's experience in 2013. Rooms, public space, and restaurants will soon be undergoing new and exciting changes. Thanks again for your important feedback and we wish you safe and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Piccadilly Inn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccadilly Inn Airport

Address: 5115 East Mckinley Ave., Fresno, CA 93727
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Fresno
#13 Business Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Piccadilly Inn Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Piccadilly Inn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccadilly Inn Airport Hotel Fresno
Piccadilly Hotel Fresno
Piccadilly Hotel Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccadilly Inn Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.