We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Recommend and Stay Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Fresno

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Fresno to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Fresno
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5455 West Shaw Avenue, Fresno, CA 93722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #49 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Ceres, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would Recommend and Stay Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed one night in October 2013 and the room was clean and comfortable. Although we didn't use the pool, spa or fitness center, these were available. The Wifi worked great and the breakfast was busy but enough room for everyone to be seated and was kept well stocked. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was a little firm but that comes down to personal preference. Traveled with Wife and 2 kids (6 and 2 years old)

Room Tip: We had Room 134 which had a view of the pool so we kept the curtains closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Front Desk Representative at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Dphillips209,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to have given us some feedback from your stay with us. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Nicole Hernandez
Front Desk Representative
Comfort Inn Fresno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    30
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
21
26
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This certainly wasn't a bad hotel, but it was nothing special either. Rooms were clean and reasonably spacious. Breakfast was kind of poor, with only a small selection of food, and if you are not on time, part of the food has already run out. On the other hand, for such a small hotel you probably should not expect much more. Overall, this makes for a decent stopover hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing Comfort Inn for your recent visit to Fresno and thank you for your review. It's so important to get the feedback from our guests. It helps us to know what areas we are exceeding and what areas we need improvement. I have addressed the breakfast issue with the staff. I personally check the breakfast everyday for quality and quantity. Thank you again and I hope you will visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

As an Elite Gold Choice Privileges Member, I usually stay at a Comfort Inn when choosing a hotel. Stayed at this hotel last year, and thought it was worth staying at again. Stayed for five nights this time and probably will not return next year. First of all, there is a tire repair shop across the street in Shaw Street with two large security dogs that bark ALL NIGHT long. They bark when ever a car goes by which is basically every minute being on a busy street. If you stay here, request a room facing the inner courtyard by pool. I chose to stay here again partially because of the gym. however the treadmill was out of order, and the exercise bike sounded like a tank. The breakfast was fairly good. Scrambled eggs and sausage every morning. Waffle maker, bagels, pastries, hardboiled eggs, oatmeal and on a few days a green banana or two. The food area is well organized and clean. Last year, fresh baked cookies were offered in the afternoons during the week which was a really nice touch. No cookies this year. This hotel does not have an elevator, and the upstairs is at least 10-15 degrees hotter than downstairs, so reserve a downstairs room if you don't want to have to lug up your luggage. I also had one night free from my points, however was still charged for the room which was frustrating. It was resolved when I called about it, but still aggravating.

Room Tip: Avoid outside facing rooms on Shaw Street side. Two barking dogs at tire repair shop across street b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for being a Choice Privileges memner and thank you for your review. We are currently under new management and looking forward to some positive changes. The treadmill has been replaced and the air conditioner on the second floor has been repaired. I am currently looking into getting the cookies back in the afternoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahokee, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel on about three occasions. The positives I experienced are, they always had the room I reserved, HBO, high speed that's reliable, cold AC, and as a smoker, they offer smoking rooms, which is rare to find in that area. Frankly, the latter is the only reason I stay at this hotel.

The primary drawbacks are: location, the area doesn't give you the safest feeling, no elevator - you've got to carry your luggage up about 18 steps to get to the 2nd floor, and room appearance - the rooms are a bit dated and could use a remodel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

For $60 on Priceline, the newly renovated room and breakfast are a good deal. But the area is not super desirable, and the staff did not impress. We packed in a rush, and I forgot my brush. The front desk said they had no comb. Then when my husband asked for a razor later, they discovered they had combs next to the razors. And out of the 15 hotels we've stayed at in the past three years, this is the first one without any cribs.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Good place for a stopover. Had a quiet stay other than the steam from the bathroom setting off the fire alarm in the room.

Reserved a King room, found I had to pay a $10 deposit for the in room safe that wasn't listed on the website but didn't get that deposit back at check-out. I didn't use or need the safe, I was there for one night. If I was staying for a few days I could see the convenience but it was unnecessary.

The parking was tricky to figure out. I was able to park close to my room on the end of the hotel and then I had to find the door for the stairs which should have been better marked, it was quite confusing.

I agree there could have been a better selection of channels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The motel is right off the 5 fwy. Fairly new property, clean, comfortable two Queens for under $80. Waffle machine was not operating(my favorite), so if not working on your stay its intentional. Go East on Shaw and you will have all kinds of places to eat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Fresno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Fresno

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Fresno Hotel Fresno
Comfort Inn Fresno Hotel
Fresno Comfort Inn
Address: 5455 West Shaw Avenue, Fresno, CA 93722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Fresno 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary WIFI throughout the hotel. Microwave and refrigerator in all rooms. Complimentary Hot and Cold buffet "YOUR MORNING BREAKFAST". Located in the heart of the business district. Fresno State University nearby. Exercise room and pool available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Fresno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Fresno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.