We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly Adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Fresno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Fresno to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Fresno
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5455 West Shaw Avenue, Fresno, CA 93722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Merced, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazingly Adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Good place for a stopover. Had a quiet stay other than the steam from the bathroom setting off the fire alarm in the room.

Reserved a King room, found I had to pay a $10 deposit for the in room safe that wasn't listed on the website but didn't get that deposit back at check-out. I didn't use or need the safe, I was there for one night. If I was staying for a few days I could see the convenience but it was unnecessary.

The parking was tricky to figure out. I was able to park close to my room on the end of the hotel and then I had to find the door for the stairs which should have been better marked, it was quite confusing.

I agree there could have been a better selection of channels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    46
    17
    9
    5
See reviews for
38
37
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The motel is right off the 5 fwy. Fairly new property, clean, comfortable two Queens for under $80. Waffle machine was not operating(my favorite), so if not working on your stay its intentional. Go East on Shaw and you will have all kinds of places to eat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Overall, this was an adequate place to stay overnight. The price was inexpensive, but the hotel is under renovation. The Front Desk Staff were polite and helpful, they even re-assigned me to a room that was on the top floor and opposite the side construction was taking place. During my stay, I didn't experience any inconvenience related to the renovation.

The reason to stay: 1) price was inexpensive, 2) the location on the bike path was convenient allowing me to go for a run on something other than a treadmill, and 3) I found the staff to be friendly and accommodating.

The reason I don't give it higher marks: 1) it took an exceedingly long time for hot water to come out of the shower head, and 2) when I needed a fresh towel, it took a while for the clean towel to get to my room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
161 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have stayed here several times over the years as the company I work for has a couple of manufacturing facilities here in town. I've never had a problem here. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean. My room was large and comfy and I feel the rates here are reasonable. The breakfast has many choices and they keep things stocked. I did overhear a conversation between a guest who was checking out and the front desk clerk. The guest had just gone out to here car that she had parked at the rear of the property. She was informing the clerk that the car had been broken into and many items were gone. I always park near the front door and have never had a problem. I'll continue to stay here when I come to Fresno.

Room Tip: Don't go to the breakfast room right when it opens and lots of construction guys are in there at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

HDTV's in the room, but they have only about 24 channels of ANALOG cable. So the picture still looks horrible. Of the roughly 24 channels, almost half were sports channels. Very little channels actually worth watching.

Slow internet. I had to use my air card to actually get some work done.

Cigerette burns in the blankets, crappy pillows, and just not a good nights sleep.

Only 1 ice machine, and it is on the first floor, so start walking. Only the ice bucket can fit in the ice machine, so if you want ice for your cooler, get creative.

No Elevator, so be prepared to haul your luggage up the stairs.

Noise from the 99, and off ramp, is rather loud. It will wake you up at least a couple times during the night.

This might be the worst Comfort Inn that I have seen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Facilities at the Inn were great, booked a Single King with hot tub and the bed was very comfortable and the tub relaxing however the comforted at cigarette burns in it. Furthermore, the room was positioned over a car park so the night was interrupted by either the sounds of train horns, car alarms or noisy patrons who were running around the corridors slamming doors and screaming at each other.

We left a day early in our 2 day stay, and were charged for 3 nights.... fantastic

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

There is no elevator. We walked in to a cold room with an open screened window. (The screen had a hole in it; more on this later) The room was comfortable and the bathroom good. All the standard features one expects. There are no restaurants that we noticed close-by. You have to drive to one. The hot breakfast was fine. But, when we awoke in the morning, we found an insect of some kind with wings on our pillows. Oh! Thought we killed it. Then another one. Oh! We got up quickly. They could have come in by going up the tree outside and in through that window screen. We took one dead bug on a tissue to show person at the desk who said she would tell the manager. Hmm. Did she? Have to downgrade our evaluation for this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fresno hotels
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Inn
5.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark
0.2 mi away
Ramada Northwest Fresno
Ramada Northwest Fresno
#17 of 65 in Fresno
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Garden Inn and Suites
Garden Inn and Suites
#10 of 65 in Fresno
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
5.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fresno North
3.0 mi away
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
#13 of 65 in Fresno
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Fresno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Fresno

Address: 5455 West Shaw Avenue, Fresno, CA 93722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Fresno 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary WIFI throughout the hotel. Microwave and refrigerator in all rooms. Complimentary Hot and Cold buffet "YOUR MORNING BREAKFAST". Located in northwest. Fresno State University nearby. Exercise room and pool available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Fresno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Fresno Hotel Fresno
Fresno Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Fresno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.