We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should not be allowed to retain their franchise” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Fresno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Fresno to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Fresno
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5455 West Shaw Avenue, Fresno, CA 93722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Redding, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Should not be allowed to retain their franchise”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

HDTV's in the room, but they have only about 24 channels of ANALOG cable. So the picture still looks horrible. Of the roughly 24 channels, almost half were sports channels. Very little channels actually worth watching.

Slow internet. I had to use my air card to actually get some work done.

Cigerette burns in the blankets, crappy pillows, and just not a good nights sleep.

Only 1 ice machine, and it is on the first floor, so start walking. Only the ice bucket can fit in the ice machine, so if you want ice for your cooler, get creative.

No Elevator, so be prepared to haul your luggage up the stairs.

Noise from the 99, and off ramp, is rather loud. It will wake you up at least a couple times during the night.

This might be the worst Comfort Inn that I have seen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    42
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
35
35
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Facilities at the Inn were great, booked a Single King with hot tub and the bed was very comfortable and the tub relaxing however the comforted at cigarette burns in it. Furthermore, the room was positioned over a car park so the night was interrupted by either the sounds of train horns, car alarms or noisy patrons who were running around the corridors slamming doors and screaming at each other.

We left a day early in our 2 day stay, and were charged for 3 nights.... fantastic

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

There is no elevator. We walked in to a cold room with an open screened window. (The screen had a hole in it; more on this later) The room was comfortable and the bathroom good. All the standard features one expects. There are no restaurants that we noticed close-by. You have to drive to one. The hot breakfast was fine. But, when we awoke in the morning, we found an insect of some kind with wings on our pillows. Oh! Thought we killed it. Then another one. Oh! We got up quickly. They could have come in by going up the tree outside and in through that window screen. We took one dead bug on a tissue to show person at the desk who said she would tell the manager. Hmm. Did she? Have to downgrade our evaluation for this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Comfort Inn is located beside Highway 99, in Fresno, Ca. It is a great place for the tired traveler. The Hotel is comfortable and quite. The morning breakfast is free and very tasty with a good variety of foods that are healthy. The beds are very good and the rooms are clean and well kept. When traveling during the summer months there is an out-door pool and spa which is well cleaned. You could not do any better when traveling on Hwy. 99 then the Comfort Inn.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 2nd floor, east side are quieter and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on the 3rd October 2012, we stayed in room 108. We had requested a ground floor King, but none of these were available, so room 108 had two queens. The hotel is close to the interstate junction and on a busy road, but the double glazing copes well with the noise and this was not intrusive. The cheery desk clerk made us feel welcome, as did the free cookies and free newspaper.
Our room was of a good size and very clean, but is getting a little tired e.g. the wallpaper was starting to peel a little at the joins, and the sealent on the top of the bath wall panel was getting somewhat thick.
Room 108 is near reception and oposite the fitness room, which has a reclining bike, a treadmill and a three station weight machine, all were in good working order but the bike was missing toe-straps. There was also a outside pool, and we wished that we wern't so tired after driving through Yosemite from Mammoth Lakes to enjoy it. The outside temperature when we checked-in at 18.30 hrs was near 90F!
My usual gripe about having no TV programme guide, was partly answered by the aforsaid newspaper, but the selection of channels available seemed to consist of 50% sports programmes and little else, although three different Showtime channels were available.
The good point for us is that this is a "Pet Free" Hotel chain (Guide dogs excepted, of course), indeed whilst we were unloading our car a lady arrived with small snappy type dog and was (Rightly) refused a room - great.
Breakfast area is a reasonable space just down from reception, and the selection was ceratinly more than the basic continental that passes as breakfast in so many places these days. Scarmmbled eggs and sausages making the difference, along with the usual waffels etc.
Would we stay here again? Well certainly Yes, especially so after reading so many reviews that refer to "unsavoury districts" around this city.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have less risk of intrusive noise, but we had n o trouble at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FresnoComfortInn, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hello Spock 10 , thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is great to read your kind compliments about the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. I am glad to see you enjoyed the complimentry and growing in popularity "Your Morning Breakfast". In regards to the wall paper starting to peel, I am happy to say that we have already begun renovation on our rooms. We recently installed new combo units with new flat screen televisions and we have also removed the wall covering in about 20% of the rooms now. Your kind words about the staff and our hotel are greatly valued and we look forward to having you and your wiffe stay with us again.

Victor G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALIFORNIA
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here on the way to Yosemite. It is a little more than an hour from the gate. Typical good value Comfort Inn near plenty of dining, shopping and gas stations. Very friendly front desk. Breakfast buffet was good and kept stocked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is great for convenience to central high school where our competition was. Rooms were clean with very simple decor. Front desk staff was very helpful. The only downfall was if you arrive back to hotel late at night parking is very limited.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Inn Fresno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Fresno

Address: 5455 West Shaw Avenue, Fresno, CA 93722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Fresno 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary WIFI throughout the hotel. Microwave and refrigerator in all rooms. Complimentary Hot and Cold buffet "YOUR MORNING BREAKFAST". Located in northwest. Fresno State University nearby. Exercise room and pool available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Fresno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Fresno Hotel Fresno
Fresno Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Fresno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.