We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to stay while traveling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Fresno

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Fresno to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Fresno
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5455 West Shaw Avenue, Fresno, CA 93722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #31 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A place to stay while traveling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Comfort Inn is located beside Highway 99, in Fresno, Ca. It is a great place for the tired traveler. The Hotel is comfortable and quite. The morning breakfast is free and very tasty with a good variety of foods that are healthy. The beds are very good and the rooms are clean and well kept. When traveling during the summer months there is an out-door pool and spa which is well cleaned. You could not do any better when traveling on Hwy. 99 then the Comfort Inn.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 2nd floor, east side are quieter and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    36
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
26
31
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brecon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on the 3rd October 2012, we stayed in room 108. We had requested a ground floor King, but none of these were available, so room 108 had two queens. The hotel is close to the interstate junction and on a busy road, but the double glazing copes well with the noise and this was not intrusive. The cheery desk clerk made us feel welcome, as did the free cookies and free newspaper.
Our room was of a good size and very clean, but is getting a little tired e.g. the wallpaper was starting to peel a little at the joins, and the sealent on the top of the bath wall panel was getting somewhat thick.
Room 108 is near reception and oposite the fitness room, which has a reclining bike, a treadmill and a three station weight machine, all were in good working order but the bike was missing toe-straps. There was also a outside pool, and we wished that we wern't so tired after driving through Yosemite from Mammoth Lakes to enjoy it. The outside temperature when we checked-in at 18.30 hrs was near 90F!
My usual gripe about having no TV programme guide, was partly answered by the aforsaid newspaper, but the selection of channels available seemed to consist of 50% sports programmes and little else, although three different Showtime channels were available.
The good point for us is that this is a "Pet Free" Hotel chain (Guide dogs excepted, of course), indeed whilst we were unloading our car a lady arrived with small snappy type dog and was (Rightly) refused a room - great.
Breakfast area is a reasonable space just down from reception, and the selection was ceratinly more than the basic continental that passes as breakfast in so many places these days. Scarmmbled eggs and sausages making the difference, along with the usual waffels etc.
Would we stay here again? Well certainly Yes, especially so after reading so many reviews that refer to "unsavoury districts" around this city.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have less risk of intrusive noise, but we had n o trouble at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FresnoComfortInn, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hello Spock 10 , thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is great to read your kind compliments about the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. I am glad to see you enjoyed the complimentry and growing in popularity "Your Morning Breakfast". In regards to the wall paper starting to peel, I am happy to say that we have already begun renovation on our rooms. We recently installed new combo units with new flat screen televisions and we have also removed the wall covering in about 20% of the rooms now. Your kind words about the staff and our hotel are greatly valued and we look forward to having you and your wiffe stay with us again.

Victor G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALIFORNIA
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here on the way to Yosemite. It is a little more than an hour from the gate. Typical good value Comfort Inn near plenty of dining, shopping and gas stations. Very friendly front desk. Breakfast buffet was good and kept stocked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is great for convenience to central high school where our competition was. Rooms were clean with very simple decor. Front desk staff was very helpful. The only downfall was if you arrive back to hotel late at night parking is very limited.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights while visiting nearby National Parks.

Pros:
Decent location just off highway.
Very quiet, very clean, nice clean pool.
Good service from every employee I encountered.
Decent breakfast.
Outstanding value. Paid $65/night

Cons:
Noisy A/C that cycled on and off until I discovered the con/cyc switch under the cover. Once flipped to con all was well.
Lobby noise can filter up the open stairs to nearby rooms, but it's not a big deal.

Would recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the pool (away from roads) and distant from lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for the taking the time to post a review regarding your stay with us here at Comfort INN Fresno. We take great pride in our cleanliness and staff service. We appreciate your feedback. I'm glad you were able resolve the issue with the AC and enjoyed our breakfast. We look forward to your return and thanks again for your time and business.

Victor G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

An older hotel, but the room was clean and the staff were friendly. Good internet speeds. Felt safe as a single traveler. Convenient location near fast food restaurants, Walmart, the highway, etc.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here in March & April while traveling. Had a good experience the first time so returned on our way home. Rooms were clean, decent size, and prices were very good. Little refrig & microwave. Near the freeway. Continental breakfast was very adequate and the area was pleasant. Newspapers were available for the taking--nice amenity for our morning coffee.
Only downside was that there aren't many choices re nearby eating: a couple of fast food places a few blocks away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your positive comments. I am especially pleased to see you had a good expierence with our WIFI as have recently made some upgrades. Thank you for your business and your time for posting a review.

Victor G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Fresno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Fresno

Address: 5455 West Shaw Avenue, Fresno, CA 93722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Fresno 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary WIFI throughout the hotel. Microwave and refrigerator in all rooms. Complimentary Hot and Cold buffet "YOUR MORNING BREAKFAST". Located in northwest. Fresno State University nearby. Exercise room and pool available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Fresno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Fresno Hotel Fresno
Fresno Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Fresno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.