We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Fresno

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Fresno to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Fresno
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5455 West Shaw Avenue, Fresno, CA 93722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #32 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Olympia, WA.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Staff was friendly, room was clean and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was above average and although we did not use the pool, we are looking forward to going back on our way through town next time. We did not plan on staying at this hotel (had to leave a different hotel because it was horrible), but this hotel made us so glad that we picked it. I am thankful to have found it. Some of the rooms are "smoking" rooms, which are across the hall from "non-smoking" rooms. So make sure you ask for the one you want.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room...nice choice if you have a lot of luggage. I have heard there are not ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    36
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
26
31
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Just like the title, very large rooms, and the staff was nice and friendly at check in. The tall, possibly mexican manager is always warm and friendly when I come to town, and goes out of his way to ensure a good stay. I hope he never leaves!

There was some construction going on down the road so traffic was a bit congested and it was hard to get in and out but for the most part you just can't beat the great price and nice rooms. Wifi works great and I am definitely going to be a repeat guest!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a new motel and its very clean and nicely equipped. We had no problems. The pool looked nice. The service seemed specially good. This is on the north edge of Fresno, right off highway 99. It looks like its kind of out of town but there are lots of stores and places to eat near by.

The location is Highway 99 and Shaw Rd. There is also a Comfort Suites in Fresno - different place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed at the Comfort Inn & Suites in Fresno, so am hoping that it is the same place as the Comfort Inn! For us it was a great find to the extent that we were looking for others in the same chain during our holiday - we would have stayed in another. We negotiated the price with the reception (managed to get a good deal) and found the accommodation to be extremely good value. There were computers in the spacious, comfortable, lounge area for those of us who were not travelling with our own. The room was just perfect in every way with nice decor and a lovely bathroom. It was an added bonus to have breakfast included and very good it was too! We found a superb Thai restaurant for our evening meal just around the corner less than 5 mins walking distance. We had a great experience at this hotel and would search it out again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, NV
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Pro: very clean and well maintained; comfortable furnishings. Friendly and helpful service.

Con: water flow in the sink was so weak and slow as to be insulting; TV channel selection included about half a dozen versions of ESPN, but no CNBC, MSNBC, or C-Span. Location is difficult to get into - most people will have to take a left turn across a stretch of road that is often backed up with more than a block's worth of traffic.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FresnoComfortInn, General Manager at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for your review and comments regarding your stay with us at the Comfort Inn Fresno. We pride ourselves in our cleanliness, service and overall guest experience. In our efforts to continue improving and providing a comfortable stay for our guests, we have addressed your concerns.

After researching the options, we have changed to a different faucet head that provides better distributed pressure and still eco friendly. We are also improving our guest’s TV experience. We have upgraded all rooms with 32” flat screen televisions and will be looking to provide a channel line up that appeals to the interest of our guests and stay within our brand standards. And finally, the road entering our Hotel has been under construction to widen and add lanes. This project was designed to ease the flow of traffic and will make access to our entrance easier.

Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you soon.

Victor Gallardo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

We selected this hotel for a one night stop over during a road trip. Nothing special about the place, just a room for the night. Front staff very friendly on check in and found a special walk in rate which clinched the deal. Standard reasonably well maintained formula motel. But...

* Wifi didn't work well and before getting connected had to spend an hour on the phone with their network support team which is located somewhere in Wisconsin or Michigan. Guy flat out said, "I'm not comin over there tonight". But he did get it working, just lost an hour of sleep.

* THE BIG ONE, good thing I used AMEX and check my charges online regularly. Couple days after checking out, they charged an extra 20 bucks to my card. Thank God it was AMEX, just called em up and had the charge reversed. Figured I'd give the hotel a month to figure out a way to send me an apology before writing this review. But nothing and no further inquiries from AMEX, therefore the hotel didn't challenge it or provide any explanation. Also, there is no mini bar - room service etc. so no chance for an extra charge. Like they say, everything is free.

So, sorry to the nice lady at reception but this hotel gets a 1. There's nothing worse than having to waste time watching my charges and be on the lookout for stuff like this. Anytime I bust a place for something like this and don't get offered any explanation, they get a 1, and it's almost the only way I would give such a horrible rating.

Happy Traveling

Room Tip: Watch your charges after staying here :-(
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Hello and thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I apologize for the extra charge on your card and spoke to the GM concerning this. We have neither received an inquiry from AMEX or any guests concerning an overcharge, charge back nor any disputes. I would have suggested calling the hotel to verify the charge and confirm it was not a pending charge which would have been released automatically. I also would like to have seen why an extra charge was given to any of my guest which would not be acceptable without a strong explanation. We have addressed the internet with our service provider and informed them this is not acceptable service, not only to our Hotel but more so our guest! We have corrected the issue and will continue to do our best to provide quick and reliable Wi-Fi.
Please contact the GM or myself at the hotel at least with a name in order to correct any mischarges and avoid this happening to another guest. We do appreciate your business and hope to hear from you in the near future. Wasted Time is never productive. Time to Correct and Improve is Time well spent. Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

First of all we stayed a night here because of the high rating on Trip Advisor. It was close to many resturants. The employee at the front desk in the evening was very friendly and helpful. However the girls working in the morning at the desk and in charge of the Breakfast were grumpy. The bed and breakfast were okay. This hotel was the noisiest I have ever stayed in. Despite the beautiful decor in the front lobby, the hotel was not well-built because a cold draft from the window kept the heater going on all night which made it very warm for us to sleep. And the noise from the freeway and main street going in front and at the side of the hotel made us feel like we were sleeping outside. We woke up very unrested.

Room Tip: We stayed in the middle. For sure don't stay in the rooms on the side closer to Shaw Street, tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Fresno, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you for your review and I do apologize for the no so comfortable experience with our hotel. I am very sorry about the draft in the window and would recommend notifying the Front Desk so we may have a chance to address your concerns. Also, I would like to know which room this occurred in to avoid having this happen to another guest. Our Maintenance Program requires our windows to be locked and checked for noise and drafts coming in. It looks like this one room may have been overlooked. I sincerely apologize for our breakfast hostess and will address her personally about her grumpy attitude shown to our guest. On a regular basis we get compliments on our Hostess’s attitude and service. I do apologize for this occurrence. Please allow us to prove we have great service and with the exception of one room with a draft, our hotel is quite comfortable. As you indicated, with the great reviews on Trip Advisor, overall the hotel is comfortable and a great value. Thank you again and Happy Holidays!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Fresno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Fresno

Address: 5455 West Shaw Avenue, Fresno, CA 93722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Fresno 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary WIFI throughout the hotel. Microwave and refrigerator in all rooms. Complimentary Hot and Cold buffet "YOUR MORNING BREAKFAST". Located in northwest. Fresno State University nearby. Exercise room and pool available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Fresno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Fresno Hotel Fresno
Fresno Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Fresno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.