We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Even for One Night” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crossland Economy Studios - Fresno - West

Save Saved
You added Crossland Economy Studios - Fresno - West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crossland Economy Studios - Fresno - West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3460 W. Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93711   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #38 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Novato, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not Even for One Night”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2007

I booked this hotel on Hotwire. Normally I book hotels that are at least three stars but since this was only for one night we went for two star. I was very disappointed.

For some reason this Crossland used the Extended Stay America name and logo. The Extended Stay website is listed on the sign at the entrance. When we arrived we remarked that it didn't look like any other Extended Stay America that we had seen.

Our non smoking room was full of cigarette smoke. We realized this after we got through the heavy smell of cheap air freshener used to try and cover it up.

There were lights that we couldn't get to turn on and the fan over the stove we could barely get to turn off. Also, we had an outlet for the alarm clock that didn't work.

Oh yes, and the wildlife. There was a roach in my sisters room. Yes, a roach. Disgusting.

The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. Try putting two by fours on your floor and covering them with sheets. Now curl up and try to go to sleep. That is what it felt like to sleep in the bed at Crossland.

Seriously, when you see this place run, drive, paddle, fly away.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The awful cigarette smoke
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    11
    4
    18
See reviews for
8
5
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indio, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2007

This motel is okay if only staying for one night. It looks good from the outside. The rooms are small. We had a full size bed.
Although it is near shopping and restaurants. There is a movie theater accross the street. So it is convienent to most things in town.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2004

Crossland was great! The rooms are inexpensive and everything was nice and clean. And I really liked having a kitchenette in my room. It's very close to the finer shopping and dining areas of Fresno, and the Management, maids and grounds keepers were all friendly and helpful. As a woman traveling alone I felt safe I will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2003

I've stayed at this location at least 3 times. I've had no problems here. The rooms were clean and the staff was pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2003

The hotel was awful. There was a roach stain on the wall that hadn't been clean. The room had an odor. The bed was small and basic & didn't smell clean at all. The bathroom had hair in the sink. There was only a shower and no bath. The kitchen was so tiny you could hardly move around. The t.v. had no good channels only basic and the hotel was NOT clean overall. I advise you to go to motel 6 which is already sleezy, instead. This is not a good area for you to stay at and plus the hotel expects you to clean up the room after you leave or else you will be charged a fee. Oh, and I didn't see any maids come clean any of the room during my two day stay there. I don't think they do any cleaning at all. Beware, this place is dirty.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2003

Horrible is not the word!@#$@! We got smoked, flooded, and baked. This place is not fit for my dog!

The staff was out of the office, smoking, when we first arrived. The office person charged our credit card twice for the room, and the elevator to the second floor was full of smoke. We then we saw that our room was small, smoky smelling, and the toilet didn't quit running.
There was no cooktop, and only a dorm-size fridge. We called for the toilet to be fixed, which we were told would not happen until the next day because it was Sunday evening. The place was sweltering hot and dirty (hair left in the bathroom, etc).

The next day, the repairman fixed the running toilet so that it didn't run - but didn't flush at all. We tried to get the credit card problems fixed, but were told that it couldn't be done until the next day because no one was around that did that sort of thing. The staff smoked continuously in the passageway near the elevator (the only way to reach the second floor). No one knew any directions to local stores or to the Sequoia park nearby.

Do not stay here. This place was worse than any of the cheaper places we stayed at on our visit to California.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crossland Economy Studios - Fresno - West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossland Economy Studios - Fresno - West

Address: 3460 W. Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crossland Economy Studios - Fresno - West 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Crossland Economy Studios - Fresno - West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crossland Economy Studios Fresno Hotel Fresno
Extended Stay America Fresno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crossland Economy Studios - Fresno - West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.