We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Rough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Summerfield Inn

Save Saved
You added Summerfield Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Summerfield Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6309 N. Blackstone Ave., Fresno, CA 93710 (Formerly Econo Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 65 hotels in Fresno
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Pretty Rough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I think if you stayed here with a coupon like some of the previous reviewers this place would be okay value but if you paid the full rate like myself it was not good value.
The place is pretty old and the rooms are tired and smell a bit musty when you enter but are just acceptable overall.
The breakfast is small with limited choice so was not very memorable.
The self service laundry was disgusting with an overflowing rubbish bin which stunk so bad you wanted to vomit.The only remedy was to put it far away outside the room.
The laundry machines themselves were dirty and poorly maintained with the hot cycle on the washing machine not working or maybe disabled to save money(not sure which).
Tried to get some more pillows while I was there but housekeeping seemed to have taken the key to the store or something similar so this was a huge drama eventually being resolved by some appearing out of the office.
It seemed on the whole that the place was a bit unloved and that no one seemed to take pride in the little things.
However I will say that the poor guy on the counter while we were there(Marc I think) did his best and deserved a medal as he was going like a one armed paper hanger and was pretty stressed but remained calm and professional which was a nice touch.
Overall though I would not go back here as it is just a bit rough for my liking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
6
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed 1 night on the way to Yosemite. Used motel.com coupon and got a very good rate. Remodeled units that were very clean with all the usual amenities. Pillows extremely small so we had extras delivered. Had the pool to myself as we were there early. Didn't find out that the TV was nothing but snow until we came back from seeing the sites so didn't bother to complain. I believe it was room #127. Room had that disinfectant smell that other reviews have mentioned so we left window open. Motel seems to be used by out of town workers who spend their evenings sitting outside and talking until 10pm. We left at 6am so can not comment on the quality of the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Overall a nice property. Much better value than some down the street. Simple rooms but had all the standard amenities including continental breakfast. Extra pillows and towels were brought to us within minutes. We will return on a future visit to Fresno.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This motel is several steps above motel 6 . It is clean and well maintained. When I first checked in, the TV didn't work, so they moved me to another room, no problem. They have everything I'd expect from decent flop. Mini-refrigerator, coffee maker, blow dryer, etc. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom is fine. The shower has decent water pressure. All in all, for the money, a nice room. The Continental breakfast was minimal, but acceptable. The staff was very nice. Bottom line is, if I'm on a budget and in Fresno, this is where I'm staying.

Room Tip: As alway, bring a soft towel and ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here after reading a couple of reviews and we had a coupon. For $67 a night, it was great value. Not a fantastic location for shops restaurants etc, lots of businesses like tyres, sporting goods, motorcycle shops etc. The room wasn't huge, but it was clean and the bathroom was too. There was a weird smell, as mentioned in another review. I think they may have overdone it with some sort of air freshener.
Complimentary breakfast was basic but good, enough to get you ready for the day. The breakfast room itself was small but clean.
Overall, great value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My new place when I visit Fresno. The Summerfield inn is an older, but a renovated and very well maintained property. Its an exterior hotel where I can park right in front of my room which I absolutely love. The room was clean and had all the basic amenities a business traveler would need on the go. Continental breakfast was actually much better compared to others. Overall a great place for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at this place on February 1st for one night. The first thing I noticed when I walked into the room was an odor. It smelled like possibly an air freshner was used in the room. It wasn't a bad smell but annoying none the less. I opened the window for a half an hour and the odor did not go away. Since I was in Fresno for a concert, I did not use the room too much before the concert. The electric out let by the sink was not flush with the wall. What appeared to be a phone jack in the bathroom was warped. The top part of the front door lock (the one that swings over the ball attached to the door and has the long hole in it) was loose. There was no real closet space but does have an iron and ironing board. There are no towel racks.But what really forced me to give this place a low rating was when I used the toilet (after the concert) there was a band-aid floating in the toilet bowl and what looked like scum in the toilet bowl. Possibly soap film or cleaner film? Also when I used the toilet it did not flush. I took off the top of the tank and discovered that the bead chain that attaches to the handle for the plunger in the tank was not attached. I fixed this myself. The bathroom also did not have any face towels, only shower towels and washcloths. The toilet seat was loose. The iron also still had water in it. It appeared that the odor did disapate after I flushed the toilet, so it may have been the product used in the toilet bowl.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerfieldInn, General Manager at Summerfield Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us. We do appreciate hearing from our guest as their comments are vital to us to continue improving our accommodations. While the lack of service you have experienced is unusual and not the standard of our hotel their is no excuse for carelessness. The problems you have encountered with your stay have been brought to our attention, which will enable us to make all necessary improvements. Once again, we would like to take the time and apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you. Thank you again for letting us know how your stay was and thank you for staying with Summerfield Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Summerfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerfield Inn

Also Known As:
Econo Lodge - Fresno / n. Blackstone Ave. Hotel
Econo Lodge - Fresno / n. Blackstone Ave. Hotel Fresno
Econo Lodge Fresno
Fresno Econo Lodge
Address: 6309 N. Blackstone Ave., Fresno, CA 93710 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Summerfield Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover value lodging in the Central Valley, enjoy special packages a superb location near exciting local attractions, downtown Fresno and impressive Yosemite, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Summerfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summerfield Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.