We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picadilly inn on shaw” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added University Square Hotel to your Saves list
University Square Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4961 North Cedar Ave., Fresno, CA 93724 (Formerly Piccadilly Inn University)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Picadilly inn on shaw”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Wish our travel plans kept us in town one more night. We stayed in the Pebble Beach Quarters. The room was incredibly spacious, clean & quiet. Huge comfy bed & what we loved most was the layout. We faced away from the sun and the curtains kept any hint of daylight out. This made for a very relaxed nights sleep.

Had a chance to work out and recharge the muscles in the hot tub before breakfast which was delicious. Free pancakes, eggs, sausage and potatoes. They also had a small variety of cold & hot cereals, fruit, juices, and breakfast pastries.

And the staff was incredibly kind.

Will look it up for future stay in Fresno.

The Blushes from Downey

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    23
    21
    15
See reviews for
24
18
3
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granger, IA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I met one of the owners, Boc (not sure of the spelling of his name). He was very appreciative of our business. Upon check in, there was a small misunderstanding which was quickly resolved. I know that there has been some renovation done to the property, three of us out of group were unhappy with the cleanliness of our room. We were professionally accommodated with new sleeping rooms which were much better. I would use this hotel again for business and pleasure. Bonus: the hotel offers a complimentary airport shuttle and both drivers we had were friendly and professional.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex Uk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night, as a stop off point during our trip from SanFran to Vegas.

Clean, tidy and a good nights sleep.

Good size rooms, and good value for money.

The free breakfast is continental and plentiful.

We would stay again.

Room Tip: A 7-11 right next door is very handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafenwohr, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

We had just entered the room and my daughter was sleeping, I pull back the top knitted sheet and there was dried ketchup all over it. I immediately called the front desk and they came up with fresh sheets...but that makes me wonder..you know? how many times they have not washed the top knitted sheet between guests? They apologized. The front desk staff was super friendly though, i think her name was Ping. I liked her, very professional and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattawa, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

The first night, at 70% occupancy, it was fine. Adequate for the cost. The 2nd and 3rd nights, when full, we had no hot water for showering in the morning. After the first morning of cold, we thought it might be fixed. After the 2nd morning of cold, we checked-out, and the clerk said she would make a note of the cold, and ask the manager to make an adjustment on our charge, however, the computer system was down, so she wouldn't be able to do anything about it until it was up. That was 3 days ago. You know the rest.

Room Tip: Make sure the hotel is not full when you stay, not enough hot water to go around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

I paid for a middle of the road value hotel. Got a room that was partial upgraded. Wifi worked fine but no tv in exercise room. Free breakfast but nothing to write home about. I am not excited about having stayed here and yet don't have any reason to not come back.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

We stayed at hotel in Fresno on our way to San Fransisco. Hotel is nice, rooms are huge and for me personally, creeping huge!!! (Victoria building) Rooms are clean and quiet. Breakfast in the morning - mediocre, some scrambled eggs, toast/bagels, cereals and milk. Nothing fancy! Staff is nice and friendly.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Square Hotel

Address: 4961 North Cedar Ave., Fresno, CA 93724 (Formerly Piccadilly Inn University)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Square Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The University Square Hotel! We are located just minutes from Downtown Fresno, The Fresno Convention Center, Save Mart Center Fresno and adjacent to California State University Fresno. University Square Hotel is the perfect choice for both the business or leisure traveler. The hotel is close to a variety of shopping or dining options like Fashion Fair Mall, Fig Garden Village or River Park. Looking for some more fun? University Square Hotel is near a multitude of activities like the Chaffee Zoo, Fresno Museum of Art, Fresno State Bulldog sports or the Fresno Grizzlies. If you want to relax, simply stay put and enjoy our amenities including a refreshing swimming pool, garden courtyard, heated spa and a comprehensive gym for an invigorating work out. Relax in our spacious guest rooms complete with plush, upgraded bedding. Each room comes equipped with the amenities needed for a great stay. All rooms come with a refrigerator and microwaves upon request. We offer our guests a deluxe hotel with a continental breakfast and complimentary high speed internet access along with a business center for free! Planning a meeting or special event? The University Square Hotel has a superior level of guest service and exceptional meeting, wedding, and banquet facilities. Our elegant ballroom can accommodate up to 400 people banquet style. The University Square Hotel has a full service catering team to meet your needs. We're ready to plan your next event. We welcome your visit to the Fresno area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your University Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccadilly Hotel University
Piccadilly Hotel Fresno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.