We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and quiet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of University Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added University Square Hotel to your Saves list
University Square Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4961 North Cedar Ave., Fresno, CA 93724 (Formerly Piccadilly Inn University)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Stockton, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“clean and quiet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed overnight here at the University Square Hotel and the room was really good for the price. They had a hot breakfast with eggs and sausage which was great. The room was clean but the mattress was a little hard, not the pillow top that I was expecting as advertised. I would stay here again if I am ever traveling through the area again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoang T, Owner at University Square Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Kelly,

Thanks for your review. We appreciate it every much.

I am sorry that the bed was too hard for you. You probably had a room with a new bed that we just upgraded it. If we had have known of the issue, we would be more than happy to switch you to a different room with a softer bed.

Thanks for your comment about the cleanliness of the room. We try to keep our rooms as clean as we know how. When I travel, hotel room cleanliness is my number one priority.

When you have a chance visiting Fresno State University, please come and stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Hoang Tran, Ownership Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    22
    21
    15
See reviews for
24
18
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

For $65 on Priceline, we got a very nice, modern and clean room with a comfortable king bed. (Even the tile grout was clean) The room was worth at least twice that. The front desk clerk was extremely welcoming. The breakfast was good. I loved the ambiance of the breakfast room. I'm happy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoang T, Owner at University Square Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Babybizliz:

Thanks for leaving us your review. We appreciate it very much.

We are happy that your stay with us was a great experience. We also appreciate that you recommended others to stay with us as well.

Your positive feedback really gives each one of us more energy to serve you and our future guests better for many years to come.

Sincerely,

Hoang Tran, Ownership Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

OK, OK, OK don't fall for the special deals on Booking.com, there is a reason that the room is heavily discounted. You walk in through the door of a seventies, concrete motel and you are confronted by a lobby that is supposed to look like a gentlemen's club but is a mite too scruffy. After a gruff welcome and check-in we were given a map to find our rooms round the back. The rooms were fine, the beds comfortable enough but it was breakfast that put the nail in the hotel's coffin. We arrived at 9:15 having been told that breakfast finished at 9:30. When we got there the waitress was beginning to clear the stuff away and told us, in no uncertain terms, that we had ten minutes to eat our breakfast. The only saving grace was that breakfast was so awful that you don't need 10 minutes to eat it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoang T, Owner at University Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thanks for your valuable review. It's always a pleasure to read feedbacks from our wonderful guests. The theme of our hotel is the Old English Tudor style. It is built with used bricks on the outside. It does not look like a newer hotel with lots of glass and modern architecture. Thanks for a comment on the comfortable bed. Our breakfast buffet includes hot items as scramble eggs and sausages, cereals, milk, fruits, pastries, bread, bagels,... I will talk to our breakfast attendant to do a better job hosting the guests especially during the last minutes.

Thanks again for your inputs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahrump, Nevada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Well, I guess I asked for it. Located across from the campus and called "University Square Hotel," what did I expect? It was quite a distance from the highway we were traveling on so even the location wasn't particularly handy. The lobby looks like an old richly appointed library. That's where the nice part stops. The hotel is run down, the wood is scratched and dinged, the paint on the walls is smudged and dirty, the windows were dirty, the carpet was dirty. They put those clear plastic corners on the walls to protect the corners from...what? Everything was run-down and it reminded me of an old dormitory and it probably is one, to some degree. Young people (students?) came and went a lot, which is OK but the place was pretty beat up. The secure door that was supposed to only open with our room card was standing ajar when we first arrived. The bed was comfortable, there was a frig and microwave. But otherwise, the room was a stripper. We would never stay here again. The price was low but I'd rather pay more to stay in a nice, modern, clean hotel with cordial staff.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the landscaped courtyard are a little nicer because the courtyard is pretty. Secur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is not a place I personally would ever choose to stay again but there are pros and cons.
Pros - location is right opposite CSU Fresno so convenient for business there and there are shops and restaurants nearby. The shower had good pressure and water was hot. There was a flat screen TV opposite the bed with 48 channels and the sheets appeared clean. There was a fridge and when I requested one an old rather decrepit microwave was brought but at least it worked .
Cons: Staff were not particularly friendly, no warm greeting on check-in, in fact the staff member was chatting with someone behind her the whole time and didn't tell me where my room was or give me a coupon for breakfast until I asked. Room was 116 in the Brittany Building. I asked for one above the ground floor for safety reasons as a woman traveling alone but was refused with no explanation (even though there appeared to be very few people in the building. I did not like having a room with both a corridor entry and a sliding patio door in that area. Building was supposed to be locked at dark with card access, however the pizza delivery guy came knocking on my door with no warning.
The room was spacious but tired and old and smelled musty/damp. When I checked in the planters outside the sliding glass doors were full of water sitting right up against the wall if the room - probably the reason. There was a coffee pot with paper cups but no tea - bring your own. For toiletries there was one tiny shampoo/conditioner combined and a sliver of soap (bring those
too). The location of the hotel was right behind a 7-11 where at night a lot of homeless hung out - both there and in the hotel parking lot and it definitely felt seedy and not terribly safe for a single woman.
Overall it was cheap and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at University Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thanks for posting your review. Yes, our location is within walking distance to Fresno State University and nearby restaurants. We just replaced the old TVs with flat screens, 48 HD + local channels.

We will continue training the front desk staffs to warmly greet our guests at check-in, especially the new employees. We are in the process of renovating and updating our guestrooms and bathrooms. The property is fully secured with card keyed entry system. Our guest safety is our number one concern. In addition, the parking lot is now equipped with security gates. Access code can be obtained at the front desk or pull your car closed to the gate, then the front desk staff will activate the gate after verifying the car license plate. We have found many satisfying guests appreciating the newly installed gates providing them with extra security.

Thanks,

Hoang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed here for two nights for a work trip. The hotel was in a good location which was important for me. The hotel itself was more rundown than I had expected. Check in was easy. The staff was nice and gave me the option to choose which floor I was in. The room was clean, very spacious and quiet. I lucked out by having only 1 guest room next to mine. the other side was an employees only room. The complimentary breakfast was nice. They have a small area in the lobby to watch tv and sit while you eat. They had eggs, sausage, fresh waffles, fruit, bagels, etc.
Nothing special about the hotel other than it was affordable, in a good location and clean. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at University Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Toni,

Thanks for staying with us and recommending our hotel to prospective guests. We appreciate your business. We are in the process of renovating the guestrooms. We plan to complete that effort in a few months. Yes, our rooms are very spacious (~450sqft) with higher ceiling making the room even larger. I like the breakfast myself. The chef has added egg rolls besides sausage on special occasions, Yum Yum! We are trying our best to keep the price affordable and room clean.

Thanks,

Hoang Tran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The rooms look like they have been halfway renovated. There is a new tv and semi-new carpeting. The beds were clean and comfortable...and that ends my positive experience. The walls are paper thin. We could hear our neighbor's television until midnight. We thought that at that point we could get some sleep, we were wrong! We could hear their entire conversation. This went on until 3. AM. They were not arguing, so a call to the front desk would have done no good. The bathroom sink was broken and the mini fridge in the room sounded like it was going to explode at any moment. The loud motor running sounded like there was a generator in our room. The room definitely smelled of cigarettes even though they said that all of the rooms were non-smoking. The apartments directly behind the hotel were a bit scary as well. When we came back after dinner we could hear people arguing outside. I don't think that I would ever stay here again. I would prefer to pay $20 more to have a nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at University Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Renee:

Thanks for your review. Yes, our beds are newer and clean. The hotel was build in 1984 with plaster drywall for better insulation and noise reduction. I will personally investigate the noise issue. We are in the process of renovating the guestrooms. The newly added security gates add extra security. Hope your next stay would be more comfortable.

Thanks,

Hoang Tran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to University Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Square Hotel

Address: 4961 North Cedar Ave., Fresno, CA 93724 (Formerly Piccadilly Inn University)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Square Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The University Square Hotel! We are located just minutes from Downtown Fresno, The Fresno Convention Center, Save Mart Center Fresno and adjacent to California State University Fresno. University Square Hotel is the perfect choice for both the business or leisure traveler. The hotel is close to a variety of shopping or dining options like Fashion Fair Mall, Fig Garden Village or River Park. Looking for some more fun? University Square Hotel is near a multitude of activities like the Chaffee Zoo, Fresno Museum of Art, Fresno State Bulldog sports or the Fresno Grizzlies. If you want to relax, simply stay put and enjoy our amenities including a refreshing swimming pool, garden courtyard, heated spa and a comprehensive gym for an invigorating work out. Relax in our spacious guest rooms complete with plush, upgraded bedding. Each room comes equipped with the amenities needed for a great stay. All rooms come with a refrigerator and microwaves upon request. We offer our guests a deluxe hotel with a continental breakfast and complimentary high speed internet access along with a business center for free! Planning a meeting or special event? The University Square Hotel has a superior level of guest service and exceptional meeting, wedding, and banquet facilities. Our elegant ballroom can accommodate up to 400 people banquet style. The University Square Hotel has a full service catering team to meet your needs. We're ready to plan your next event. We welcome your visit to the Fresno area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your University Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccadilly Hotel University
Piccadilly Hotel Fresno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.