We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swervinmerv's of Mega97.9 Birthday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of University Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added University Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
University Square Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4961 North Cedar Ave., Fresno, CA 93724 (Formerly Piccadilly Inn University)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 65 hotels in Fresno
elk grove
2 reviews
“Swervinmerv's of Mega97.9 Birthday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was our second stay at this homestyle hotel. We arrived there in the afternoon on Saturday for an overnight stay in one of their suites that is like having (2) master bedrooms with their very own refigerator,tv w/free wifi etc. Went to the Sizzler on Shaw Marvin's B-Day dinner. Came back to the hotel.
Sunday we had a all you can eat buffet breakfast compliments of the hotel.The breakfast Consisted of eggs, sausage, toast, waffles a variety of cereals danish fresh fruit and for bevarages were coffee, tea milk,orange juice. Excellent service. I would recommend them.

Room Tip: Ask for their suite it like have two (2) master bedrooms equipped with a tv wifi refrigerator, coff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    17
    13
    14
See reviews for
22
12
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pablo, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I would agree with most of the reviews in repect to comfort of my room, upgradedTV, great pool, the breakfast, and the the courtesy given to my family. The big Plus was when they shuttled us over to the event we were going to.
I would stay there again.

In reference to the smoke and age of the building, is it old?, yes but well maintained and I did not detect any cigarette smoke in my room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkGrove
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

They get an A for trying but this is a rundown hotel. They have central heat and air that sends the cigarette smell from one room to the next regardless of what building. I am allergic to cigarettes and felt like I was going into anaphylaxis shock from the fumes. Thankfully, they refunded my money and I stayed at the Hilton Garden. I am still in shock that they are both rated 3 stars because the Hilton felt like the Ritz Carlton after leaving the University Square.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the pool are better and the ground floor rooms open up to the pool courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi500, Manager at University Square Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I apologize for your experience with us regarding the smoke smell. Our hotel is 100% non smoking but we do allow guest to smoke in designated smoking area outside and in the courtyard. Guest who don't follow out nonsmoking policy are charged a fee if they smoke in the room. Once housekeeping cleans the room and reports that there was smoking we immediately break down the room and do a deep cleaning. We also put an ionizer machine in which collects all of the smoke particles in the air. We aim to please our guests throughout their stay and appreciate feedback before you leave so that we may resolve any issues immediately. I hope you return to give us an opportunity to earn your business again. If you do I will personally take care of your reservation and I will do my best to make sure you have an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Close to clovis it worked great. Iys right next to some great places to eat and csu Fresno. The pool is a nice shape ans comp breakfast was decent. Ice machines are brolen.which.sucked because when i was there it was 113 degree s. stay here its nice for the price
i

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have stay at this hotel before, but this time instead of tube TV we have new flat TV with a lot of channels to watch. My kids love to stay at this hotel since it has the pool and a waffle making machine. I would stay here again in my future visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Let me start out by saying that the number one rated hotel in Fresno has a 4-star rating. Three others have a 4.5-star rating so this is not a garden spot for hotels. Secondly, you can stand on the front lawn and if you have a good arm, get a small rock onto the Cal State Fresno Campus. Near college campuses is not generally a good place to find superb accommodations. We have a son at Berkeley and this hotel beats anything near there or USC for that matter. That said...

We have been staying here for five years, starting when it was the Piccadilly Inn. When it was built, it was probably one of the top hotels in the country and the bones are still there. The rooms are very large, easily holding 2 queen size beds, writing desk, causal table, small refrigerator, free internet, cable, and a functional picture tube TV. The only noise problem we have had is a tour bus loading up some very excited Japanese tourists outside our window in the south parking lot. The pool is kept very clean and the outdoor hot tub works great. Breakfast is severed 6 to 9:30am and has eggs, sausage, cereals, oatmeal, bagels, sweet rolls (weak), waffles, juices, etc. Not exactly gourmet but the price is right (included). The desk staff, particularly Bob and Melissa, are very helpful and the cleaning staff is great, although the new owners are having some hiring issues in the maintance area. Things get fixed but sometimes a little slow. Can be hard to get in depending on what is happening on the campus (football, baseball, softball, and basketball arenas are easy walking distance. The Sav Mart complex is at the other end of campus and is a good hike. This week we barely got in because the state high school track and field championships were held here this week. Oh, and the beds are very comfortable and come with four big pillows for those that are pillow challenged.

Room Tip: Facing the pool on an upper floors is our preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times. I called to confirm my reservation with a special request. Brandi answered the phone and was so accommodating! I can't believe how she made us feel welcomed on the phone. I can't wait to meet Brandi tomorrow after we check in. The hotel has always been so accommodating during all my stays. Thank you! University Square Hotel you have a great employee. I've dealth with employees that are not quite up to par but Brandi was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Square Hotel

Address: 4961 North Cedar Ave., Fresno, CA 93724 (Formerly Piccadilly Inn University)
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Square Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The University Square Hotel! We are located just minutes from Downtown Fresno, The Fresno Convention Center, Save Mart Center Fresno and adjacent to California State University Fresno. University Square Hotel is the perfect choice for both the business or leisure traveler. The hotel is close to a variety of shopping or dining options like Fashion Fair Mall, Fig Garden Village or River Park. Looking for some more fun? University Square Hotel is near a multitude of activities like the Chaffee Zoo, Fresno Museum of Art, Fresno State Bulldog sports or the Fresno Grizzlies. If you want to relax, simply stay put and enjoy our amenities including a refreshing swimming pool, garden courtyard, heated spa and a comprehensive gym for an invigorating work out. Relax in our spacious guest rooms complete with plush, upgraded bedding. Each room comes equipped with the amenities needed for a great stay. All rooms come with a refrigerator and microwaves upon request. We offer our guests a deluxe hotel with a continental breakfast and complimentary high speed internet access along with a business center for free! Planning a meeting or special event? The University Square Hotel has a superior level of guest service and exceptional meeting, wedding, and banquet facilities. Our elegant ballroom can accommodate up to 400 people banquet style. The University Square Hotel has a full service catering team to meet your needs. We're ready to plan your next event. We welcome your visit to the Fresno area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your University Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccadilly Hotel University
Piccadilly Hotel Fresno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.