We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added University Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Square Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4961 North Cedar Ave., Fresno, CA 93724 (Formerly Piccadilly Inn University)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Atascadero, California, United States
1 review
“Awesome Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times. I called to confirm my reservation with a special request. Brandi answered the phone and was so accommodating! I can't believe how she made us feel welcomed on the phone. I can't wait to meet Brandi tomorrow after we check in. The hotel has always been so accommodating during all my stays. Thank you! University Square Hotel you have a great employee. I've dealth with employees that are not quite up to par but Brandi was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    18
    13
    14
See reviews for
22
12
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
slo life
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have stayed here before. The area (1 star) surrounding the hotel is a little "shady." There is a 7-11(2 star) located next door, so one gets all types here @ this "watering hole." The hotel staff (3.5 stars) are very helpful, very friendly, very courteous. The room is large, outdated tube tv , bed was comfortable, great a/c unit, sound proof is non-existant, one can hear next door guests, or hallway guest conversations (1 star).We got this room on Priceline, as a 2.5 star hotel. $85 a nite,...NOT!

Room Tip: IF one is a Priceline fan, get a 3 star or better hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on Apr. 6 and 7th. Hotel had a group using the hotel for a retreat or some sort of religious event over the weekend. The noise was horrible. On Saturday night we asked for a different room to get away from it. The staff at the front desk didn't even answer the first time we called, but when we did get through we were put off. He said, "it's already supposed to be stopped. Should be fine in a few minutes". It wasn't. But the real crap was it started again Sunday morning at a little past 8 am. We just came in from the pool area where we couldn't even hear ourselves talk.
Additionally, there was hair in the spa, the glass on the room was dirty. I realize there is a need for a budget hotel, but if can afford to avoid this one I would.

Room Tip: Normally I'd say the courtyard, however you should ask if they have an event going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie4961, Director of Sales at University Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
First of all I deeply apologize for the interruption to you during your stay with us. When I heard about what happened I went straight to the director of Catering to discuss this group and she was completely upset that they were so inconsiderate to the request of our staff to stop the music and noise, so as of now they are no longer allowed to have their events at our hotel, Arleen apologizes as well for this group, and hopes that your future stays with us are without incident. Thank you for your review it helps us help you better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My family and I stay at the University Square Hotel over the Easter weekend. We liked it very much. The breakfast was great; however, I wished they had cut up fresh fruit. The room is big and clean. My daughters loved it so much, she felt like at home. The service was awesome, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggages like me, reserve the room close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie4961, Director of Sales at University Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review, I love the rooms to because of their size, so glad it made you feel like home. I went ahead and gave your idea of cutting up the fruit for the morning. We look forward to seeing you again! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Service and staff was an absolute joke. Called front desk for an extra pillow, arrived sometime after 4 calls and 90 minutes. Staff seemed more willing to accommodate outside party that was using banquet facilities. Luckily, I pricelined room for alot less than advertised price. Still felt like I was ripped off. If possible, avoid this dump.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie4961, Director of Sales at University Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the problem that you encountered, and I am truly sorry that we did not respond in a timely matter to your request. I spoke with the front desk staff about this issue, even though we were very busy there was no excuse to not to be able to take care of you quickly! We have changed some scheduling around so that when we are super busy we have enough staff to see to everyone's requests. I hope that as we are improving our hotel with our New Owners you will give us another chance. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Knew this hotel when it was the Piccadilly and quite awhile ago stayed at this hotel. For in the late 80s early 90s this hotel would be a gem. In 2013, this place needs a major renovation. Saw on Facebook that they have new owners with plans on renovation which is exciting. The hotel has a lot of potential if done right and can't wait to see the final product.

As for now... The rooms are tired and old. Can't figure out what kind of style the hotel has since it's so mismatched (potentially between new trying changes and the old Piccadilly ways). Bed was hard and the TV is one of those old box ones. Wifi wasn't good for watching tv shows online as it kept stopping to buffer. Don't really care for the fact that all buildings have separate entrances from each other. Especially at night, there were people coming and going from the McDonalds, Cedar Avenue, and the bus stop next door. Breakfast was decent, eggs were a bit dry. What really would pick up from the out dated hotel, would be more customer service. The front desk staff stays buried behind a big stand on the counter so you can't see them and only ask for the basics. Got more good morning and smiles from the lady at the registration table for the event going on that I wasn't even going to.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower number rooms. High number rooms were farther away meaning lots of walking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie4961, Director of Sales at University Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and your valuable input. Yes we just got NEW Owners as of Dec 21st, 2013 as you know they inherited a lot of work that needs to be done to this great hotel, they had to first replace the 2 NEW water heaters, a NEW van, a server for our system and bedding, which really is a lot in just 2 months and will be starting to put in a security gate around the hotel in 2 weeks and followed up with flat screen TV's, this is very costly and and time consuming as they needed to get permits to do some of the work. We thank you in seeing that we are headed in the right direction and are glad you are looking forward to our NEW LOOK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Alice
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while we were in town for the George Strait concert. Our room was huge with a really comfy bed and pillows. The shower was fantastic. Found the staff to be lovely and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Square Hotel

Address: 4961 North Cedar Ave., Fresno, CA 93724 (Formerly Piccadilly Inn University)
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Square Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The University Square Hotel! We are located just minutes from Downtown Fresno, The Fresno Convention Center, Save Mart Center Fresno and adjacent to California State University Fresno. University Square Hotel is the perfect choice for both the business or leisure traveler. The hotel is close to a variety of shopping or dining options like Fashion Fair Mall, Fig Garden Village or River Park. Looking for some more fun? University Square Hotel is near a multitude of activities like the Chaffee Zoo, Fresno Museum of Art, Fresno State Bulldog sports or the Fresno Grizzlies. If you want to relax, simply stay put and enjoy our amenities including a refreshing swimming pool, garden courtyard, heated spa and a comprehensive gym for an invigorating work out. Relax in our spacious guest rooms complete with plush, upgraded bedding. Each room comes equipped with the amenities needed for a great stay. All rooms come with a refrigerator and microwaves upon request. We offer our guests a deluxe hotel with a continental breakfast and complimentary high speed internet access along with a business center for free! Planning a meeting or special event? The University Square Hotel has a superior level of guest service and exceptional meeting, wedding, and banquet facilities. Our elegant ballroom can accommodate up to 400 people banquet style. The University Square Hotel has a full service catering team to meet your needs. We're ready to plan your next event. We welcome your visit to the Fresno area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your University Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccadilly Hotel University
Piccadilly Hotel Fresno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.