We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First ever alleged 3 star hotel with in room plastic cups” 2 of 5 stars
Review of University Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added University Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
University Square Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4961 North Cedar Ave., Fresno, CA 93724 (Formerly Piccadilly Inn University)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 65 hotels in Fresno
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“First ever alleged 3 star hotel with in room plastic cups”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Service and staff was an absolute joke. Called front desk for an extra pillow, arrived sometime after 4 calls and 90 minutes. Staff seemed more willing to accommodate outside party that was using banquet facilities. Luckily, I pricelined room for alot less than advertised price. Still felt like I was ripped off. If possible, avoid this dump.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie4961, Director of Sales at University Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the problem that you encountered, and I am truly sorry that we did not respond in a timely matter to your request. I spoke with the front desk staff about this issue, even though we were very busy there was no excuse to not to be able to take care of you quickly! We have changed some scheduling around so that when we are super busy we have enough staff to see to everyone's requests. I hope that as we are improving our hotel with our New Owners you will give us another chance. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    13
    11
    9
See reviews for
20
8
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Knew this hotel when it was the Piccadilly and quite awhile ago stayed at this hotel. For in the late 80s early 90s this hotel would be a gem. In 2013, this place needs a major renovation. Saw on Facebook that they have new owners with plans on renovation which is exciting. The hotel has a lot of potential if done right and can't wait to see the final product.

As for now... The rooms are tired and old. Can't figure out what kind of style the hotel has since it's so mismatched (potentially between new trying changes and the old Piccadilly ways). Bed was hard and the TV is one of those old box ones. Wifi wasn't good for watching tv shows online as it kept stopping to buffer. Don't really care for the fact that all buildings have separate entrances from each other. Especially at night, there were people coming and going from the McDonalds, Cedar Avenue, and the bus stop next door. Breakfast was decent, eggs were a bit dry. What really would pick up from the out dated hotel, would be more customer service. The front desk staff stays buried behind a big stand on the counter so you can't see them and only ask for the basics. Got more good morning and smiles from the lady at the registration table for the event going on that I wasn't even going to.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower number rooms. High number rooms were farther away meaning lots of walking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie4961, Director of Sales at University Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and your valuable input. Yes we just got NEW Owners as of Dec 21st, 2013 as you know they inherited a lot of work that needs to be done to this great hotel, they had to first replace the 2 NEW water heaters, a NEW van, a server for our system and bedding, which really is a lot in just 2 months and will be starting to put in a security gate around the hotel in 2 weeks and followed up with flat screen TV's, this is very costly and and time consuming as they needed to get permits to do some of the work. We thank you in seeing that we are headed in the right direction and are glad you are looking forward to our NEW LOOK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Alice
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while we were in town for the George Strait concert. Our room was huge with a really comfy bed and pillows. The shower was fantastic. Found the staff to be lovely and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I found the hotel staff friendly; great amenities and breakfast. I especially liked the lounge and books and free daily newspaper. the room was large, clean and comfortable. There is a small exercise room. The only downside to the entire stay was a noisy refrigerator and TV remote that didn't work well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Great shower. Staff very accommodating. The free breakfast was better than most places we have stayed. We had four rooms and everyone agreed that beds were extremely comfortable. Central location is convenient for our weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were in town on one of the busiest weekends. There was a huge cross country race and a Justin Bieber concert on the same day. Check in took a while with so many people but the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. There was a Marie Calendars next door so dinner was fast. I wish I had known there was a 20% for hotel guests though. The free breakfast area was very crowded but there was plenty of food. The hot breakfast was a nice touch. The hotel is diagonally across the street from CSU Fresno. There was plenty of parking and a mall just down the street. It was a very convenient location.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor to reduce noise from above. Stay away from the stairwells on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Ive stayed at super nice 5-star hotels and dives. This is not 5-star, but if you want a clean place to stay, a really good bed, optimum sheets and covers, clean bathroom, quiet surroundings, stay here...
The tv is not flat screen, but I didn't care, I'm not a huge tv person, the room had a great little fridge, coffee maker, and FREE WIFI! I felt the place was spacious, an amazing deal that I got on priceline. or Hotwire...
The toilet and bath worked just fine. It had modernized shower heads and curtain rods.
I enjoyed my stay. I would go again.
I needed heat and the heater worked great. It wasnt loud and annoying..

Room Tip: I had a room on the 2d floor or 3d floor. on the south side and my window overlooked the pool. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to University Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Square Hotel

Also Known As:
Piccadilly Hotel University
Piccadilly Hotel Fresno
Address: 4961 North Cedar Ave., Fresno, CA 93724 (Formerly Piccadilly Inn University)
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Square Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The University Square Hotel! We are located just minutes from Downtown Fresno, The Fresno Convention Center, Save Mart Center Fresno and adjacent to California State University Fresno. University Square Hotel is the perfect choice for both the business or leisure traveler. The hotel is close to a variety of shopping or dining options like Fashion Fair Mall, Fig Garden Village or River Park. Looking for some more fun? University Square Hotel is near a multitude of activities like the Chaffee Zoo, Fresno Museum of Art, Fresno State Bulldog sports or the Fresno Grizzlies. If you want to relax, simply stay put and enjoy our amenities including a refreshing swimming pool, garden courtyard, heated spa and a comprehensive gym for an invigorating work out. Relax in our spacious guest rooms complete with plush, upgraded bedding. Each room comes equipped with the amenities needed for a great stay. All rooms come with a refrigerator and microwaves upon request. We offer our guests a deluxe hotel with a continental breakfast and complimentary high speed internet access along with a business center for free! Planning a meeting or special event? The University Square Hotel has a superior level of guest service and exceptional meeting, wedding, and banquet facilities. Our elegant ballroom can accommodate up to 400 people banquet style. The University Square Hotel has a full service catering team to meet your needs. We're ready to plan your next event. We welcome your visit to the Fresno area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your University Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.