We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't get out of here fast enough!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of University Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added University Square Hotel to your Saves list
University Square Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4961 North Cedar Ave., Fresno, CA 93724 (Formerly Piccadilly Inn University)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I can't get out of here fast enough!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The place is bad. It smells It has made my asthma flare up!!! They say they have pay preview movies, but not sure how they think that on a tube TV from tr 1970's!!! They have cable if 20 ish channels count???
The shower backs up with 3 inches of water , it takes multiple flushes.... This is the worst hotel ever. I say just be honest and charge the right amount per night and you would not get people mad, this room is worth $39 bucks at best!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    18
    20
    15
See reviews for
23
17
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here with a Priceline Bid.

The check in was effortless. The older gentleman at the desk was courteous, effefient and friendly. The lobby area and the breakfast area appeared well kept and clean.

Our room was on the first floor. The room was very spacious with a lot of room for our suitcases. The room had to queen sized beds which turned out to be condusive for a good night sleep. The bed linen looked pretty new and the pillows were plentiful.

The furniture and the tv were not new, but we expected that from some of the reviews, but everything was in good shape and worked. The first thing I checked was the cleanliness of the bathroom and everything was to my satisfation. The towels were large and fluffy and the water ran hot.

The hotel is far from the street so our room was very quiet. Maybe we were lucky that it was a Thursday night and the only group there was the regional chamber of commerce. No sports teams, which I suppose, considering the proximity to the university, might present a noise problem.

After a good nights sleep we went to the breakfast room at about 8. There was only one other person there and a lady was assigned to keep the food area clean and stocked. The area was spotless and cleaned the table of the man who finished eating immediately upon his departure.
The food selection was good. There were scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, and an assortment of bagels, sweet rolls, yogart, fruit, etc.

I would not hesitate to revisit if I ever stay in Fresno again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Recently, we held a conference at the hotel including catered breakfast, lunch and dinner. I was impressed with the hotel as a whole. Rooms were nice, prices decent and the meeting rooms and show venue were professional and nicely presented.

Catering left a lot to be desired, as the majority of the food looked, tasted and was presented as an "out of the box" type of food. Very little flavor was noticeable and not presented in the best manners (for example, chocolate cake with buttercream frosting sitting on top of paper doilies).

Overall, it is worth another try, but I will do so with knowing that just because you are told that the chef does a great baby red potato, doesn't mean that it doesn't come pre-cooked out of a frozen bag.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Over all our experience here was good.. The rooms are large clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful and courteous. The Air conditioning worked well and was not set to stop in the middle of the night. The breakfast was good.
My main complaint would be that the entire length of our stay which was 6 nights the hot tub was not in working order with no explanation as to when or why , which is one thing I look for in a hotel when staying. Also the ice machine barely worked and we only found one. However there are refrigerators in the rooms. Televisions are old but work although the channel selection was poor.
I would stay here again,.. but if you are looking for a 4 star resort this is probably not for you .

Room Tip: I guess our room was renovated as the carpet was new and clean which for me was a plus...and when I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed several days in Fresno. The rooms were large, quiet, clean, and the bed was confortable. The AC/heater worked very well. The AC/heater was quiet and had perfect adjustments for the right temperature. Checkin was easy and the food was great. Wifi worked well but you had to ask for the codes. They were not given or offered. Plan on carrying your luggage for a considerable distance as they do NOT have luggage carriers in all buildings. There are NO microwaves in rooms but they do have refrigerators. Televisions are on the small side very old but worked well. The showers are second to none. Great water power and a dual head. Wow! Plan on standing at each outside door for 5 minutes with a crowd of people trying to get in. The card door keys work very very very very poorly. You will try again and again to get into the outside doors. After awhile you will make lots of friends standing outside the motel trying to get inside the door. The Ice Machine was NOT working. I asked the staff to fix the problem but it was never fixed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by an outside door. Once you manage to get in the outside door due to poor card read...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Don't let the dated, stuffy decor put you off - this is a great place!

First off, the shower in the bathroom has a dual shower head. You won't want to get out of the shower. The beds (and pillows) are super comfy. You won't want to leave your bed (if you ever end up getting out of the shower. The included breakfast was great - they go above the standard stuff you normally see in a free breakfast and offer scrambled eggs and sausages, and pastries.

One drawback - this hotel is directly below the approach for the airport, about two miles from the end of the runway. However, it's a small airport and I don't think that there's any aircraft permitted between about 10pm and 7am, so if you're okay sleeping during that time (or if you're a heavy sleeper), it won't bother you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Brittany building, and there were a few idiots from the houses across the street th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Booked this place through Hotwire & was concerned about the number of negative reviews. However, the hotel turned out to be fine. This place was once part of the Picadilly chain & was renamed which may have caused some confusion in the ratings. The property is being renovated so parts did show wear. We made sure to ask for a renovated room which we found very servicible. The bed was very comfy and the room quiet. The TV was an old CRT Mitsubishi which was sub-par. The breakfast was very good with the eggs, sausage, waffles, etc. Location was great for us and there were a number of restaurants along Shaw & shopping in the vicinity. There were minor irritations like the door key reader was persnickity and the ice machine was not working. The staff however, was very accommisdating & did a great job. This turned out to be a great value for the money. Three star is apt, aslong as you get a renovated room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Square Hotel

Address: 4961 North Cedar Ave., Fresno, CA 93724 (Formerly Piccadilly Inn University)
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Square Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The University Square Hotel! We are located just minutes from Downtown Fresno, The Fresno Convention Center, Save Mart Center Fresno and adjacent to California State University Fresno. University Square Hotel is the perfect choice for both the business or leisure traveler. The hotel is close to a variety of shopping or dining options like Fashion Fair Mall, Fig Garden Village or River Park. Looking for some more fun? University Square Hotel is near a multitude of activities like the Chaffee Zoo, Fresno Museum of Art, Fresno State Bulldog sports or the Fresno Grizzlies. If you want to relax, simply stay put and enjoy our amenities including a refreshing swimming pool, garden courtyard, heated spa and a comprehensive gym for an invigorating work out. Relax in our spacious guest rooms complete with plush, upgraded bedding. Each room comes equipped with the amenities needed for a great stay. All rooms come with a refrigerator and microwaves upon request. We offer our guests a deluxe hotel with a continental breakfast and complimentary high speed internet access along with a business center for free! Planning a meeting or special event? The University Square Hotel has a superior level of guest service and exceptional meeting, wedding, and banquet facilities. Our elegant ballroom can accommodate up to 400 people banquet style. The University Square Hotel has a full service catering team to meet your needs. We're ready to plan your next event. We welcome your visit to the Fresno area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your University Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccadilly Hotel University
Piccadilly Hotel Fresno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.