We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not used to it...might be good for kids?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of University Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added University Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Square Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4961 North Cedar Ave., Fresno, CA 93724 (Formerly Piccadilly Inn University)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 65 hotels in Fresno
dfw
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not used to it...might be good for kids?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

I had to stay here on business. I hope they got a good rate. The staff was OK. The room was large and the Internet speed (testmy.net) on the first floor was 1.1 M. I was originally put on the top of the third floor (back side) with no car and a bad leg. When I got up there, the air was not working. I went down and after some time convincing the clerk I knew how to operate a thermostat, I was put in another outside building on the first floor (YEA!). But your key does not work most of the time on the outside doors, so you stand there and stand there. I got the clerk to come and help the first time and he had trouble with it (but did not change my key and I found out it is the doors, not the keys). Maid service was OK (they restocked, but no extras even with a good tip). The room was fairly quiet (there were some mechanical noises, but they were not loud). Hallways are old and carpet is stained.

Breakfast is a waste unless you like fruit. I have had the free breakfasts at most places and this one is pretty sad. The entry place where you eat and check in is really a nice area. The hotel rooms are large and the furniture is comfortable (even if old). The lamps are all hard to get on (you have to have 10# of muscle pull to turn the knob!) and they do put a minicoffee maker in the room, but only one thing of reg and one of decaf (no tea, no extras). No paper in the AM. The shower has a double head! And it works well! This struck me as odd because of the water issues in Calif, but I am not going to complain! It was nice!

The layout is a bunch of outside buildings that you have to go out of and come back into. Its a pain! Especially if your key does not work half the time!

Ice machine worked (a bit sloshy) and the vending was kept stocked (the hotel was about 1/5 full).

The outside area looked nice (I did not use the pool).

Conclusion: if you get a great deal and have kids, this might be good for you. It was ok for business, but not great. Internet was easy to get on, but not the fastest. Nothing nearby that I wanted to shop at although I did eat at a steakhouse behind it and that was good.

They will pick you up at the airport (but transport around is variable based on their contracts).

Room Tip: Check the AC on checkin and try for a side where you want to park (security?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    16
    11
    13
See reviews for
20
10
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

A conveniently positioned hotel for those passing through. Rooms are spacious and fitted out well. But will somebody please train the maids? The edges of the carpet, particularly in the lifts, hadn't seen an edging tool (for cleaning staff that's a vacuum cleaner part) in months. The basin had lost it's gleam, possibly because a scourer had been used in it at some time, and the room had a peculiarly strong odor of room freshener. Perhaps if it were well vacuumed ...
But why complain? After all, the price was good and there was breakfast ... till nine AM ... and not a second later! Warning: on the dot of nine the juice and fruit will disappear and this will be followed by everything else in rapid succession, despite an almost full breakfast room.
Is my complaint fair? After all, the check in and check out was speedy, even if the staff were all morose ... And it was nice to see one of them relaxing in the empty breakfast room in front of the TV at twenty past nine as we left.

Room Tip: If you're asthmatic choose somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

I had to stay. It was business. My looked clean but felt dirty. The clerk was friendly. That's about I can say for this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesClovis, General Manager at University Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear Travelseeker777,

I want to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay, and I am very sorry that perhaps we weren't up to you expectations. I am not sure when you may stay, possibly prior to September 1st, but we have new ownership, a leading management company, new general manager to lead the University Square Hotel, into the legend it once was, all over again! We have upgraded all of our rooms with all new high thread count sheets & down bedding (giving the all white look) and new plush terry towels. I would like to assure you that we are working diligently towards re-establishing our hotel and I would like for you to come give us another chance, so you can experience all of our current great changes in effect. Please contact me at jvirk@rimhospitality.com so I can get further feedback. Sincerely appreciate your time.

Kindest Regards,

J. Virk
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I previously stayed at this hotel when it was the Picadilly Inn. Along with the new name, it is under new management so disregard old negative comments. After moving my college student into the dorms at Fresno State, I arrived really tired and was pleasantly surprised by all the improvements. Location to the college is the great and surrounded by many good restaurants within walking distance. I will definitely stay here again when I am in Fresno.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesClovis, General Manager at University Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear Morna L,

Thank you for taking the time to provide the feedback for our hotel. I am glad to hear that everything worked out and you enjoyed our hospitality. Looking forward to catering to your hospitality needs in the near future! Make sure to keep in touch with us online, so you can stay updated with all of the upgrades we are currently going through!

Kindest Regards,

Jay Virk,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

I've stayed in this hotel over the last decade for various reasons and have never had any problems and just returned from staying overnight after a trip to Yosemite. Those who post poor reviews are just complainers by nature in my book. Easy check-in, happy hour and breakfast are what you pay for (nothing fancy), and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Lots of places to eat nearby; some within walking distance. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

this so called hotel is very outdated, dirty, and unsafe, the staff was very unhelpful and they don't know what the word service means. My room had left over trash and left over food in the refridgerator. I would recomend a cheap motel over this dump any day

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Square Hotel

Address: 4961 North Cedar Ave., Fresno, CA 93724 (Formerly Piccadilly Inn University)
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Square Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The University Square Hotel! We are located just minutes from Downtown Fresno, The Fresno Convention Center, Save Mart Center Fresno and adjacent to California State University Fresno. University Square Hotel is the perfect choice for both the business or leisure traveler. The hotel is close to a variety of shopping or dining options like Fashion Fair Mall, Fig Garden Village or River Park. Looking for some more fun? University Square Hotel is near a multitude of activities like the Chaffee Zoo, Fresno Museum of Art, Fresno State Bulldog sports or the Fresno Grizzlies. If you want to relax, simply stay put and enjoy our amenities including a refreshing swimming pool, garden courtyard, heated spa and a comprehensive gym for an invigorating work out. Relax in our spacious guest rooms complete with plush, upgraded bedding. Each room comes equipped with the amenities needed for a great stay. All rooms come with a refrigerator and microwaves upon request. We offer our guests a deluxe hotel with a continental breakfast and complimentary high speed internet access along with a business center for free! Planning a meeting or special event? The University Square Hotel has a superior level of guest service and exceptional meeting, wedding, and banquet facilities. Our elegant ballroom can accommodate up to 400 people banquet style. The University Square Hotel has a full service catering team to meet your needs. We're ready to plan your next event. We welcome your visit to the Fresno area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your University Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccadilly Hotel University
Piccadilly Hotel Fresno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.