We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ran down unclean and pricy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of University Inn

Save Saved
You added University Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
University Inn
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   2655 E. Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93710   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
1 review
“Ran down unclean and pricy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here twice with my therapy dog and their is a 100 cash deposit and room is about the same after tax. Rooms are not clean nor kept up very well especially for the $. Stayed at a roadway 2nd night for 70$ way cleaner and fuss over dog.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UniversityInnFresno, General Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    10
    7
    12
See reviews for
11
12
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

For one night it's okay. The room was clean, a little bit old fashioned and the smell wasn't quite nice, but nothing really bad. The staff was very friendly. The location is close to restaurants and supermarket (Main Street). Also you get a 10% off when eating at the brew house (2 miles away). All in all for one night and only to sleep there - it's okay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Was here for business. Didn't really get much sleep due to noise outside. I can hear everything it seems those people were just next door. It didn't stop until 3 am had to get up @ 7 am. The room was clean but not sure about the sheets. I was scratching after. Not worth $72.!!!!! Breast fast was from a dollar store. All artificial sweeteners. You pay for what you get.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UniversityInnFresno, Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hello, thank you so much for the review. Please accept my apologies for not making your stay a better one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I booked a room for 4 nights, with two queen beds. As I was traveling with pets, I was unaware of the pet policy other than they were accepted. I did not know that the pets weight combined could not exceed 65 pounds and that it would also cost 20.00 more, per pet, for a room until I arrived at the facility. There are no options on their website for choosing a pet room, nor is there a notification of price change while I'm booking for a room. The only place I could find such information is under their terms and conditions, which I also had to search for on their website. As for the quality of our room, it was below satisfactory. On the first night I saw a live earwig in the bathtub and a dead cockroach by the toilet. And that's only the first night! During my stay I saw another live earwig, and watched it crawl under the baseboard in the bathroom, where I can only imagine dozens more may live.The second night the room was not cleaned, only the beds were made and I'm not even certain they changed the sheets. And on top of that, the mattresses had stains on them! It was by far the worst room I have ever stayed in, and I used to clean motel rooms for a living. I know what the cleaning policies and standards are for a basic room, so I know for a fact they were not cleaned as is acceptable for state laws. Disgusting. I will not stay at this place again. Don't stay here if you can help it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UniversityInnFresno, Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for the review. I use every review to make sure I correct potential problems. I'm sorry you had a tough time locating our pet policy in our website. All major booking engines have our hotel listed as a pet friendly hotel and asks the traveller to contact the hotel for specific pet policies. As a pet owner, I understand the importance of accommodating your pet in a hotel. Weight limitations are established on pets because of potential damage to rooms. I understand many of these pets are well behaved therefore we opted for having the traveller contact us so you can tell us how we can accommodate your pet better.
Cleanliness is of upmost importance therefore I would have liked for you to contact our front desk during your stay so we can correct the issue immediately. As many of our reviews suggest, we work diligently to make sure all of our rooms are clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarau, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We booked two rooms for one night. The rooms were clean and comfortable but nothing special. It was the least expensive motel I could find that didn't look like a complete dump. The breakfast was included and met our basic needs. We used the hotel as a low cost stop over between Kings Canyon and Yosemite and it served our purpose.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UniversityInnFresno, Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you very much for the review. I use every comment to better our quality of service to guests. This is certainly not the exception and therefore we have remodelled over half of our rooms. Please be sure to ask for one on your next stay. I thank you again for the great review!
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I've passed this hotel many times. Their sign outside advertises at $59 special. However, that offer wasn't available when I booked (a week BEFORE our planned stay).

I requested a mini-fridge for medication, which was in the room at check-in time. But, it was hot (not plugged in) and took 24 hours to get semi-cool.

The rooms are clean and cool, which was nice on a triple-digit heat weekend.

If you want something fancy, this isn't it. If you want a cool, clean place to stay than this is a fair deal.

Room Tip: Don't trust the advertised price on outdoor sign. We couldn't get the rate, even with an ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UniversityInnFresno, Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. I'm sorry you could not get the advertised rate. Our managers special has a few rooms allocated at that rate. If you booked for a busy day, specially if its a concert, the allocated rooms are depleted fast.
I appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This Motel was right across the street from Fresno University and From the SaveMart Center. Single women, Felt safe. Walk next door for a deli and A Starbucks. Easy on/off to Freeway. The rooms are all older decor and carpet older too, It really needs some freshing up but for a few day's stay while doing an event at the University and on a budget it was fine and comfy and clean enough. I did feel I should leave my flip flops on while walking on the carpet, but it did look clean enough. No frills.no Micro, no fridge, no iron, no blow dryer. Low budget Continenatal breakfast.Movie house and lot's of restraunts and mall shopping within a mile or two. Forwarned. This is a college Hotel. If you are staying on a Friday and Saturday night like we were. There could be lot's of young adult party foot traffic. We were given a handicapped room which was quiet and away from most the foot traffic. Wall Cooler went on and off with not much control all night.

Room Tip: Could be lot's of college students on Fri-Saturday night. We had a handicapped room which was in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UniversityInnFresno, Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for the response! Next time you come to Fresno ask for our newly remodeled rooms. For future reference we also have Irons and blow dryers upon request. I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn

Address: 2655 E. Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93710
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — University Inn 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a two story, 24 hr hotel located in Fresno, California, directly adjacent to Fresno State University and the new SaveMarket Center. We are close to many fine restaurants, shopping centers, theaters, and are near freeway access to Yosemite, Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Parks. Guests may enjoy the spa and pool and the fine setting of Fresno's bustling northeast University district. All rooms feature free high speed internet connection, and guests may enjoy a free expanded continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Fresno
University Motel Fresno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.