We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was conviently located next to the campus.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of University Inn

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Official Hotel Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
University Inn
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   2655 E. Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93710   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 65 hotels in Fresno
La Habra, California
1 review
“It was conviently located next to the campus.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Was not too far from the campus. I thought the continental breakfast was great! The rooms were clean and the staff were great! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UniversityInnFresno, Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad we have met your expectations in your stay. Thank you for mentioning the proximity to the campus, which is right across the street, a lot of our guests love that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    7
    5
    11
See reviews for
7
9
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Stayed for one night only and the place is average to say the least. Pretty run down and would really benefit from a major makeover. Close to many restaurants and conveniences.

Had dinner in the hotel bar and it was ok. The staff in the bar were very helpful and polite. Breakfast was free but not a lot of choice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Was not sure what to expect after reading several reviews here, but took a chance and made a reservation for the University Inn because it is right across the street from the University of Fresno and an easy walk to the graduation ceremonies going on there. I was very pleased to find my room was clean, comfortable, and I got my request to get an upper floor room overlooking the pool. The housekeeping staff were prompt and efficient, and the front desk clerks helpful and courteous. Numerous places to eat within walking distance, and Starbucks next door for a great morning cup of coffee! My only complaint is there was no shampoo or conditioner in the room, but I had brought my own anyway. It was a great weekend, and I will stay here again if I ever need a room close to FSU in the future!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UniversityInnFresno, Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
We are glad you had a great stay. We hope you come visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

To our dismay, the room was not serviced. I called the front desk and inquired about the situation and the night manager said "Sorry, we had a lot of rooms to clean." The sales manager's reply "thank you for the feedback. I'm sorry for the inconvenience but we will make things right for you. I will conduct an investigation and will get back to you shortly. All I can tell you right now is that our rooms get serviced on a daily basis and "we had a lot of rooms" is not a response i'm satisfied with either." The University Inn never made it right.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UniversityInnFresno, Manager at University Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you for your review. Cleaning a room on a guest staying-over is a standard hotel practice. For the guests privacy, do not disturb signs are available for you to hang in the door. This means the hotel maid will not clean your room as per your request. Our hotel carries a full housekeeping staff to cover all rooms as well as a housekeeping supervisor to make sure the job is done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

Several members of my family and I stayed over the weekend. It was rowdy, loud and not at all conducive to a good night's sleep. Then, during our last night, the toilet failed. The night manager was completely unhelpful and we had to dress and walk to the front desk to get a plunger. We were told that nothing could be done until the maintenance man arrived after 8. The maintenance man did come after 8 and he said he was on 24-hour call - completely contradicting the manager. My bigest issue is that after an extremely uncomfortable night, I was only given $12 off the bill. I was told by the person in charge that he had no authority to do more. In my opinion when your hotel room does not have a working toilet for several hours, the room should be comped. Period. He then took another $8 off the bill, so he must have had SOME authority. My group had three rooms on this trip - not one of us would EVER consider returning.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

The hotel seemd ok, but both my husband and I started to have trouble breathing and our chests hurt after we had been in our room for several hours. After we went out for several hours we felt better, but the after staying overnight we felt sick again. We were all better about 4 hours after we checked out.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

There is not much to say, I stayed here for one night, arrived late and the staff was very nice. The room was ok and clean, no blood or urine stains as others mentioned before. Old and worn, yes, but I was more worried about the people who stayed there. Some were screaming all night, security came and everything went quiet all of a sudden. Though, if I had the choice, I would've stayed some place else. Breakfast deserves mentioning, as I had the entire room to myself and staff always filled up. They even had fresh fruits.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn

Also Known As:
University Hotel
University Hotel Fresno
University Motel Fresno
Address: 2655 E. Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93710
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — University Inn 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a two story, 24 hr hotel located in Fresno, California, directly adjacent to Fresno State University and the new SaveMarket Center. We are close to many fine restaurants, shopping centers, theaters, and are near freeway access to Yosemite, Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Parks. Guests may enjoy the spa and pool and the fine setting of Fresno's bustling northeast University district. All rooms feature free high speed internet connection, and guests may enjoy a free expanded continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added University Inn to your Saves list