We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stopover on the way to Yosemite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Garden Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Garden Inn and Suites
4949 N. Forestiere Ave., Fresno, CA 93722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great stopover on the way to Yosemite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed one night here on our way to Yosemite based on prior Yelpers remarks. All the good remarks were true. The grounds were filled with fruit trees and blooming roses and other flowers. The Hostess was lovely and greeted us each time she passed by. The pool was clean and very comfortable. The room was lovely with a mini-fridge and microwave in it. The room was clean and quiet. The hosts seem to take great pride in their motel and it shows in many ways. My husband enjoyed the breakfast very much (I didn't partake) and said it was a lovely spread. I would recommend anyone to try this convenient and comfortable stopover in Fresno.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    16
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
14
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Elsinore, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

wrk at nite.. away frm Hm..but a Niiice made bD
Fresh sheets off the clothes line, made it easy 2 nap.. Greeted ea moring w/ Fresh cut fruit that surrounded the propty w/ all the Trimgs while waiting for hot waffles 2 your table complimented w/ a Fresh cut rose from those of many that sourrounded the propty and quiet Jaczi mde real easy 4washing clothes ...yep its a "Jewel in the rough"
I miss Ms. Jamie

Room Tip: ..a family of 4 to 6 comfortable suites....for two passing through up front area ..staying couple of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We and our friend stayed at this nice place for one night. It was very beautiful with flowers and fruit trees. The grounds and the swimming pool water are clean. The room is large and quite.
Next morning, we walked to visit the underground garden next street. There are Costco and other stores nearby. Fresno is close to three National Parks. We are planning to stay at this nice place as a hub to visit those three NP.

Room Tip: look for breakfast. When available, the owner/manager will make fresh citrus juice for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Perfect for your trips to seqouia or yosemite park. Very lovely owners, they care a lot. Breakfast is great! The hotel garden is very beautyful, so exotic. Very clean, comfy bed. Restaurants are nearby. Near highway, but very quite.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Definitely a unique spot in Fresno. Super clean, the jacuzzi is refreshing, which is why we took the King bed room that is about $50 more than the regular rooms. The place is clearly converted apartments, which makes them spacious, much more so than a chain hotel. The older man who was at reception we believe was the owner. The grounds are very well kept, and our room for very clean.

With all of this said--the hotel I think would be the perfect romantic get-away for a couple looking for this. The jacuzzi is Fantastic, and on off season--the spaciousness of the hotel allows for quite and privacy. Most romantic couples don't care about the following quirks of the place I will describe.

The owners are SUPER NICE and accommodating, and it is clear they work their tails off to maintain the place. It's beautiful and feels more down-to-home than a big hotel. The breakfast was Fab as well.

Okay, so get ready for the kinks. The TV was not great. Not HD. The channels are few. And you cannot control the air conditioning (without some stealthiness). Also, the bathroom light turns off if you haven't moved for more than 5 seconds. My boyfriend joked that they should advertise the hotel as GREEN because they are trying to cut costs from the strange money-saving practices.

Room Tip: If you are A-Type and expect this to be similar to a Big Name Hotel, you might want to pass. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This inn is located between Yosemite NP and Sequoia NP [ a bit more than an hour's drive from each NP] but it is more than worth it; first of all, although not really cheap, it is much cheaper than in or close to the NPs as you can expect but what you get for your money is more than worth it: excellent, large and very clean rooms with a large bathroom, free coffee and tea, free wifi
and a georgious bfst with fresh fruit from their own garden; plenty of free parking space on the spot and a great number of rest's nearby for the evening; on top of this all, very friendly people at the reception; highly recommended indeed! We stayed 4 nights and did not regret our choice at all !

Room Tip: the ideal place between Yosemite and Sequioa NPs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on our way out of Yosemite park, and were really pleased with our stay. The staff was friendly, and the place is just gorgeous. When you walk in the lobby you feel a sense of calm as it definitely has some Feng-Shui decorating elements, and the classical music playing in the background enhances the atmosphere. You can tell a lot of love and hard work goes into this place. This is rare in today's world of major chain hotels. The pool is sparkling clean, the fruit trees are perfectly pruned with lots of fruit, and the entire place is spotless.

The check-in was quick, and even though we stayed during high tourist season (early August), we were upgraded to a suite for free! I was very thankful for this, because after staying in a one bedroom hotel for three days with family ... I was happy to have a door divider between the living room and bedroom :) The place was huge for the price we paid. It was very quiet, and I couldn't even tell we were right next to a freeway.

This hotel also had great amenities. There are some washers and dryers if you need to do laundry, free fresh breakfast, and of course the clean pool. Our suite had a huge kitchen, two TV's, microwave, and fridge.

The Underground Gardens are literally right next door, you just cross the street and your there. If your in town, you should definitely check out the Underground Gardens. The grafted fruit trees that grow up to seven different types of fruit on one tree are pretty amazing. The story behind the place is pretty cool as well.

All in all, this is a great value, and the owners are super friendly. If your ever in Fresno, I would highly suggest this beautiful place to stay.

Room Tip: My only suggestion, is if your REALLY sensitive to noise is to ask for a top floor room (there are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Inn and Suites

Address: 4949 N. Forestiere Ave., Fresno, CA 93722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small unique courtyard condominium setting hotel. Surrounding with flowers and fruit trees. It feels like home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Garden Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Fresno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.