We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best inns we have ever stayed at !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Garden Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Garden Inn and Suites
4949 N. Forestiere Ave., Fresno, CA 93722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Homosassa Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the best inns we have ever stayed at !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This inn is located between Yosemite NP and Sequoia NP [ a bit more than an hour's drive from each NP] but it is more than worth it; first of all, although not really cheap, it is much cheaper than in or close to the NPs as you can expect but what you get for your money is more than worth it: excellent, large and very clean rooms with a large bathroom, free coffee and tea, free wifi
and a georgious bfst with fresh fruit from their own garden; plenty of free parking space on the spot and a great number of rest's nearby for the evening; on top of this all, very friendly people at the reception; highly recommended indeed! We stayed 4 nights and did not regret our choice at all !

Room Tip: the ideal place between Yosemite and Sequioa NPs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    16
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
14
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Tx
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on our way out of Yosemite park, and were really pleased with our stay. The staff was friendly, and the place is just gorgeous. When you walk in the lobby you feel a sense of calm as it definitely has some Feng-Shui decorating elements, and the classical music playing in the background enhances the atmosphere. You can tell a lot of love and hard work goes into this place. This is rare in today's world of major chain hotels. The pool is sparkling clean, the fruit trees are perfectly pruned with lots of fruit, and the entire place is spotless.

The check-in was quick, and even though we stayed during high tourist season (early August), we were upgraded to a suite for free! I was very thankful for this, because after staying in a one bedroom hotel for three days with family ... I was happy to have a door divider between the living room and bedroom :) The place was huge for the price we paid. It was very quiet, and I couldn't even tell we were right next to a freeway.

This hotel also had great amenities. There are some washers and dryers if you need to do laundry, free fresh breakfast, and of course the clean pool. Our suite had a huge kitchen, two TV's, microwave, and fridge.

The Underground Gardens are literally right next door, you just cross the street and your there. If your in town, you should definitely check out the Underground Gardens. The grafted fruit trees that grow up to seven different types of fruit on one tree are pretty amazing. The story behind the place is pretty cool as well.

All in all, this is a great value, and the owners are super friendly. If your ever in Fresno, I would highly suggest this beautiful place to stay.

Room Tip: My only suggestion, is if your REALLY sensitive to noise is to ask for a top floor room (there are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The owners are most friendly people, attentive to their guests' needs. The rooms are simple, but clean, with nice furniture. Bathroom in our room in need of a repaint. Good WiFi signal. Good breakfast; I would say better than similarly positioned motels. However: The hotel is just adjacent to a noisy freeway and the sound isolation is insufficient for this location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have stayed here twice now and it is great. The rooms are very clean. The atmosphere is wonderful. You would never know your one block from the freeway. They have fresh fruit from the garden every morning. The whole grounds are planted in various fruits and veggies. This is a small business that deserves support. The only place I will ever stay in Fresno.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in July. The rooms are very basic and bathrooms not great. AC was not very soft, but could not switch it off with the heat in July. Free wifi was good and reliable. Breakfast was very basic with little variety. Fruit from the hotel's garden was a nice touch. Staff is friendly and helpful. But for the price I would have expected more.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Selected this hotel based on rating with booking.com and trip advisor. Based on the rate I was expecting a three star hotel which this is not. Very dated room in need of repair. Noisy AC made it hard to sleep. Wierd breakfast selection with no freshfruit. The parking was good and I could walk right from my motorcycle into the room. The room rate should be 35 dollars lower.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Garden Inn Is the Only choice when visiting Fresno! We flew down fr WA to meet Relatives from Europe who were traveling the US by car. They had reservations @ another motel but checked out after 1 N when i told them about GI. Jaime moved us so we had a adjoining room to their suite which made it very comfortable. Spacious rooms & bathrooms, great pool and gardens. Liked the waffles, yogurt and fresh fruit at breakfast. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Inn and Suites

Address: 4949 N. Forestiere Ave., Fresno, CA 93722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small unique courtyard condominium setting hotel. Surrounding with flowers and fruit trees. It feels like home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Garden Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Fresno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.