We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definition of "un-expected"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Garden Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Garden Inn and Suites
4949 N. Forestiere Ave., Fresno, CA 93722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Definition of "un-expected"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel although not a chain and kind of out of the way is like stepping into a little hidden garden. The management is very nice, fresh home grown fruit for the guests, clean rooms, reasonable prices and great service. I have been putting up business clients here because they feel at home and are so well taken care of. Amazing what you can find still hidden away that is not part of the "big chains". I now avoid some of the chains just to put up clients and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    16
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
14
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed with a team of students at this inn. The inn is in the middle of a well kept garden. Although they are located right near the freeway, the suite rooms are peaceful & quiet! Centrally located, and yet tucked away. We loved the spread of fresh home grown fruit offered at breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

What a nice surprise! We didn't expect to find such a place when we checked in at Garden Inn and Suites. What a lovely place. The garden is magnificent with 60 different varieties of fruit trees. I took the time to congratulate the owners for their garden and they talked to me about their passion for gardenning and growing fruit trees. They made me taste many different kinds of fruits. For breakfast we had fresh fruits from the garden. It was delicious. The place is very clean and it feels good to be there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very clean and pleasant hotel. The manager/receptionist was very obliging and helpful. She provided me with eating utensils and offered assistance with the ice machine. A nice change from other places I've stayed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

What a nice surprise! This beautiful hotel was perfect and a great bargain. We were welcomed by the friendly inn keeper, Jaime, and given a lovely decorated, double bedroom suite on the second floor. Within minutes of being in our room, she appeared at the door to make sure that everything was to our liking. It was and more! The grounds had flowering plants and trees, the pool and hot tub were maintained and clean. The owners took us on a tour of their gardens and couldn't have made us feel more welcome. Breakfast was delious with homemade waffles and many other treats.
We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We are seasoned travelers in our 50s. We have been around the world. I must say Tripadvisor let us down this time. This hotel was one of the worst we have experienced. From unfriendly owners who were sleeping in the middle of the day when we checked in... to a thermostat that was physical altered so you could not adjust the temperature in your room ( I am a contractor and know what I am stating here ), to a noisy roadside location---- We were SO HAPPY to check out after one night, but we did so with sore throats--- let me explain. There was cool air coming into the room 24/7 at a low flow. It was 100 degrees plus outside. But the owners controlled the A/C 100%. When we complained about the thermostat being inoperable, the owner stated it was fine and invited me to step outside to feel the temperature difference. So, we endured a night of road noise and force-fed A/C. The owners were not the least bit friendly and never smiled once. We are nice people and feel it is our obligation to warn others of this place. I have no idea how anyone could say anything positive.... maybe relatives of the owners have written the other reviews.... all I can say is.... look for ANY other place than this one!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The owners are what makes this place special. They are extremely hard-working, helpful, good people. They built this hotel from the ground up, and take a lot of care in the details -- lovely fruit trees, clean walkways, immaculate lobby. It is near the Underground Gardens and the 99 freeway. This is the best place to stay in Fresno!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Inn and Suites

Address: 4949 N. Forestiere Ave., Fresno, CA 93722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small unique courtyard condominium setting hotel. Surrounding with flowers and fruit trees. It feels like home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Garden Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Fresno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.