We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresno revisited” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Garden Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Garden Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4949 N. Forestiere Ave., Fresno, CA 93722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresno revisited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very clean and pleasant hotel. The manager/receptionist was very obliging and helpful. She provided me with eating utensils and offered assistance with the ice machine. A nice change from other places I've stayed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

What a nice surprise! This beautiful hotel was perfect and a great bargain. We were welcomed by the friendly inn keeper, Jaime, and given a lovely decorated, double bedroom suite on the second floor. Within minutes of being in our room, she appeared at the door to make sure that everything was to our liking. It was and more! The grounds had flowering plants and trees, the pool and hot tub were maintained and clean. The owners took us on a tour of their gardens and couldn't have made us feel more welcome. Breakfast was delious with homemade waffles and many other treats.
We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gl0ria1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We are seasoned travelers in our 50s. We have been around the world. I must say Tripadvisor let us down this time. This hotel was one of the worst we have experienced. From unfriendly owners who were sleeping in the middle of the day when we checked in... to a thermostat that was physical altered so you could not adjust the temperature in your room ( I am a contractor and know what I am stating here ), to a noisy roadside location---- We were SO HAPPY to check out after one night, but we did so with sore throats--- let me explain. There was cool air coming into the room 24/7 at a low flow. It was 100 degrees plus outside. But the owners controlled the A/C 100%. When we complained about the thermostat being inoperable, the owner stated it was fine and invited me to step outside to feel the temperature difference. So, we endured a night of road noise and force-fed A/C. The owners were not the least bit friendly and never smiled once. We are nice people and feel it is our obligation to warn others of this place. I have no idea how anyone could say anything positive.... maybe relatives of the owners have written the other reviews.... all I can say is.... look for ANY other place than this one!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank splash1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The owners are what makes this place special. They are extremely hard-working, helpful, good people. They built this hotel from the ground up, and take a lot of care in the details -- lovely fruit trees, clean walkways, immaculate lobby. It is near the Underground Gardens and the 99 freeway. This is the best place to stay in Fresno!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We knew we found a hideaway treasure, and we've come back to stay several more times. The place is very well-run, with a pool, jacuzzi, and full breakfast. Parking and units are enclosed in a well-lit courtyard with security cameras. The owners are a husband and wife who have created a horticultural oasis. They built this little gem from bare dirt and treat it with love. We walked through the scent of citrus and stunning roses each time we entered or exited our rooms. The place is quiet and clean. What's not to love?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonhowlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I was not expecting the hotel to look so nice. The staff were very friendly and the outside is kept really clean. The only reason why it isn't 5 stars is because the rooms are outdated. They have old TVs, and no cable. Also, the bathroom wasn't very clean and the air conditioning was not functioning properly. But I would still recommend this place. It's worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This hotel is a good value for the price. We stayed in a family suite (two bedrooms connected by a living room and kitchenette), which are very convenient for families or folks traveling in a group. The rooms are utilitarian, a little dated, and immaculately clean. A few minor repairs would improve them (such as replacing the missing deadbolt on the door and replacing the damaged light switches). The location is convenient to the highway, but not in a particularly attractive or central area of town. The real delight of this place, though, is the beautiful, gloriously maintained garden. There are flowers and fruit trees everywhere. And, here's the real bonus, the breakfast is included and it is lovely. We were treated with an abundance of homegrown fruit (grapefruit, oranges, kumquats, blood oranges, tangerines, and a number of specialty fruit I've never heard of but found to be delicious) and fresh-squeezed juice. The breakfast also included homemade (delicious!) waffles, bagels, sweetcakes, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, cereals, sausages, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, etc etc etc. The proprietors (a charming, friendly couple) bent over backwards to make us feel welcome and keep us well fed -- they even sent us with a bag full of tangerines for our day trip to see the sequoias. While it was too chilly for us to enjoy the outdoor pool, it looked lovely -- well maintained and nestled in the gardens. This hotel is not the lap of luxury, but it is very clean and a good value -- and you won't find a more delightful host and hostess with more delicious fruit anywhere!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zularaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fresno hotels
6.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fresno Riverpark
6.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fresno
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fresno
6.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fresno
5.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Fresno RiverPark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Inn and Suites

Address: 4949 N. Forestiere Ave., Fresno, CA 93722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Fresno
#10 Family Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small unique courtyard condominium setting hotel. Surrounding with flowers and fruit trees. It feels like home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Garden Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Fresno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing