We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet garden oasis, friendly owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Inn and Suites

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Priceline.com Booking.com
Garden Inn and Suites
4949 N. Forestiere Ave., Fresno, CA 93722   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Sugar Land
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
“quiet garden oasis, friendly owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

My husband and spent the evening here before our morning flight back to Houston after a long weekend at Yosemite NP. We arrived about 1130pm, later than we expected, but were warmly greeted and quickly checked in by the owner, who had upgraded our queen room to one with a jacuzzi at no extra charge. Our room was spacious, modern and nicely decorated, with a comfortable bed and small private outdoor patio area. Despite the late hour, we did soak in the jacuzzi since we were quite tired and a bit sore after 3.5 long days of vigorous hiking at Yosemite. We ate breakfast promptly at 630am in order to catch our flight, and again, our owner was gracious & helpful, starting our waffles for us, and explaining the fruits that were offered. I had never tried whole guava or jujuba, but since they were grown on the premises & enthusiastically offered, how could I refuse? Yum! The free breakfast also included boiled eggs, sausage links, many yogurts, muffins, hot & cold cereals, pastries, teas, juice, hot chocolate & typical hotel breakfasts. Checking out was super easy. We wish we would have had a bit more time to enjoy our hotel and explore the grounds, and will stay here again the next time we visit Fresno or the Yosemite/Sequoia area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    11
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
9
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Just wanted to write a quick review for anyone who is contemplating staying at this hotel versus the chains in the area. My sister and I stayed here recently while visiting the National Parks. The owners are absolutely lovely and warmly welcomed us to their hotel. The breakfast was very well done; they even made us belgian waffles in the morning. Fruits picked from their own gardens were also available at breakfast and they introduced us to two fruits we had never had before. I would definitely recommend this to anyone passing through.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

So Fresno is labelled the armpit of california however if you are enroute to Yosemite National Park you have to stay somewhere! Dont miss out staying with this wonderful couple at Garden Inn Suites. We were welcomed like we had crossed the desert on foot, taken care of, given great suites, provided with the best seats to watch the sun go down, plied with water melon and given a tour of the wonderful gardens. The owners even booked our takeaway Chinnese food for us which we ate outside in the enjoying a cooler climate than that experienced throughout the day..... Great pool, hot tub, sunbeds. Breakfast was one of the best selections in all our stays on the road trip, fresh waffles! So if you are contemplating a stay in Fresno dont hesitate and book this one you wont be disappointed.

Many thanks to the lady owner who purchased gloves for a member of our group had had lost them whilst crossing the desert to Fresno on a Harley!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We took a slight detour on the way back from visiting San Diego in order to see the Forestiere Underground Garden in Fresno. We stayed one night at the Garden Inn, a very pleasant, quiet, clean motel with an outstanding garden and pleasant pool area. It was right across from the Underground Garden. What really made our stay however was the helpfulness and cheerful attitude of the managerial staff one of who was named Jaime. Jaime was a delight and along with her husband, offered up a substantial breakfast that included peaches,plums and passion fruit from the fruit trees and vines on the premises. Although the breakfast was technically self-serve, Jaime hovered and helped make us all a waffle and we feasted on the fresh fruit, eggs and sausages. It was a tremendous value for the price and nice to see an establishment that lives up to it's name.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011 via mobile

This hotel seems to have once been apartments or something, so the rooms are big and spacious. They are also clean and the beds are comfortable. The freeway and a suspect residential neighborhood is mere yards away, but surprisingly it is very quiet and peaceful. In fact, my hubby took his early am stroll around the area and the owner of our property didn't know he was a guest and questioned him about why he was there. At first he was slightly offended, but then he realized they were just keeping the place safe and watching out for security reasons. A plus in Fresno.
The owners are the reason the property is so nice. They are friendly and accommodating and make the best free breakfast we had on the road. There are numerous fruit trees on the property and some end up on the breakfast table. The roses are also beautiful. My son complimented the owner on them and she cut 2 of the most fragrant roses for him. If I ever had to be in Fresno again, I would stay here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011 via mobile

It was an excellent hotel. We got a suite for $100. The hotel has continentel breackfast with fruit that they grow. You can see the fruit trees growing outside of your room. We asked one of the people who owns the inn a question about lemons, and not only did they answer our questions, they gave us a tour of their garden, which had over 60 types of fruit in it, and gave several pieces of fruit From each tree.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Clean room with 2 double beds and kitchen / living room; furniture was leather and was like new. Great pool and hot tub. Very good value. Breakfast bar provided, the owner was making waffles on demand. The buffet included fresh fruit picked from the surrounding gardens. Perhaps the best part of our stay was the gardens; the landscaping was beautiful and the smell of flowers and fruit trees greeted us as we left our room. It was obvious that the owners take pride in every detail of their hotel. Would definitely stay here again. Great place to stay to or from Yosemite!

Room Tip: No tip needed, just ask the owners
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garden Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Inn and Suites

Also Known As:
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel Fresno
Address: 4949 N. Forestiere Ave., Fresno, CA 93722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fresno
#10 Family Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small unique courtyard condominium setting hotel. Surrounding with flowers and fruit trees. It feels like home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Garden Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Garden Inn and Suites to your Saves list