We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 E Shaw Avenue, Fresno, CA 93710-7602   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in Fresno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lake City, Florida
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We needed a place to stay between Sequoia and Yosemite National Parks. Fresno seemed to be a good stopping place. I chose this Best Western based on location and reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. We don't typically stay at Best Westerns, not having good experiences in the past. We were impressed with this Best Western Plus. The grounds were very well maintained with pretty flowers. The room was a very large and spacious room and nicely decorated. The wifi worked great and the room was clean and quiet. The breakfast was good, same old breakfast all the hotels have today, some hot items. They do not do an express checkout, so I had to stand and wait for the front desk clerk to take a reservation on the phone, that went on forever, so that I could check out and get on the road.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    84
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
78
62
10
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Caveat: We weren't able to stay here due to their error. This review is not about the hotel rooms. It's about their customer service and disdain for internet booking.
We booked a room here via a well known internet travel site. (We have used it numerous times with no problem at various other locations) I generally enjoy staying at Best Westerns so when I saw this one with a decent rating I booked it. When we arrived the desk clerk was in the back, eating. He eventually came out to greet us with food in his mouth. When we tried to check in he claimed he had no such reservation... then he just stood there not saying anything...chewing. We said we booked through a well known internet travel site...he interrupted us to scoff at us. Saying he dislikes people who book online very much and that we were at fault for even thinking of relying on that for a room. I was taken aback but politely explained that we had our confirmation and gave him the number. Of course he couldn't find it.
He then told us the hotel was full... so that was that.
Not one offer of an explanation or apology he just stared at us not saying anything.
We then called the travel website we used from the lobby phone. They showed us booked into a room there and then called the desk for us to see if they could remedy our situation. We could hear the desk clerk saying he was slammed (he didn't appear to be) and could not help us locate a nearby hotel or offer any assistance.
We did hear him blame the manager (who was not available) for failing to turn off the booking and that is what led to us being booked into an already full hotel. He never offered any of this information to us. He never once apologized or explained anything. I didn't expect him to offer much more than a "Sorry about this...try XYZ hotel down the street" but he wouldn't even do that. Even after the website we used called him and asked him for recommendations, twice.
I'll be polite and say he was curt at best to us. We were absolutely taken aback at his lack of concern for a family of 4 in an unknown city after a long drive with nowhere to go next at 7 at night.

We hunkered down in a Starbucks we found a few miles away, called around, and located a local hotel that was very accommodating and by 10 p.m. that evening we finally had a room no thanks to Best Western Plus Fresno Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
On behalf of the Best Western Plus Fresno Inn I would like to offer an apology to the reviewer above for the reservation mishap that occured. Some internet Websites do not send their reservations directly through the computer system. These Websites send the reservation details via fax. There is sometimes a delay between the websites attempt to send the reservation and the hotel receiving it. Each individual Hotel Brand has unique terms and conditions with these types of websites and when these mishaps occur, it is the guest that is ultimately affected. As per the staff performance, the incident willl be investigated and corrected to ensure that the proper level of customer care is conducted in the future. The reviewer above has been contacted by hotel management to re confirm the mishap.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night very last minute. Our room was freshly remodeled (and very clean) and had all the amenities we could possibly need. The continental breakfast was nice and the staff was very friendly. There were several restaurants within less than a mile and also a really nice shopping mall. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front are very sunny in the morning. I liked this but someone who is wanting to sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Great experience, we reserved 5 rooms for an event we went to end of March at Clovis High school. Front desk friendly, especially this one girl at the desk who is pregnant very nice girl. Rooms were very clean, beds were very comfortable and loved the pillows. I stayed in a suite with 1 king bed and a pull-out sofa, very nice room. Breakfast was great enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Clean and quiet in the middle of Fresno, the Best Western Plus is a good place to stay for family and business travelers. The bedding was clean and the location on Shaw across from Fashion Fair mall is very convenient.

I was traveling with my husband and our 1 year old daughter and I felt very safe at this hotel. Fresno police drive through the parking lot on a semi-frequent basis trying to catch people speeding on Shaw so I felt good about the car being parked in the open lot. Never saw anyone suspicious lurking around.

The breakfast is included in the room and it is the best breakfast bar I’ve seen apart from all-inclusive luxury resorts. There was sausage, scrambled eggs, a waffle bar, yogurt, pastries, bagels, cereal, coffee, juice and probably a few other things I’m forgetting. The hot food is made in a kitchenette in the back and brought out and kept warm under several heated servers.

The room itself was immaculate and quiet. High marks, there. We stayed in a King Suite due to needing extra room to set up a crib. The hotel-provided crib is a pack-and-play which was fine with us. The only place to set it up in the bedroom was in front of the A/C, though (and that was after some creative furniture arranging). My husband and I were pretty disappointed in the pillow accommodations. We are not picky-pillow people but either the pillows are too bulky or else the pillow cases are too small because it was like sleeping on a couch cushion. After the first night, we went to Ross down the road and bought some cheap $9.99 pillows and were happy the next two nights with those. We did ask if there were other pillow types or something and they said no. I can’t imagine that anyone would feel comfortable with these pillows.

The only other thing that was a negative surprise was the pool. From photos I expected something a little bigger but I think those must have been strategically angled. The pool is only about 2-3 beach chairs long… it looked more like an oversized spa than a pool. It wasn’t a problem for us because we came to Fresno to spend time with family – not play in a pool. Others might feel disappointed (especially in the middle of summer).

All in all, we will likely stay here again next time… but next time we will bring our own pillows!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Really liked the look and feel of it. Great service. Really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

The young man at the front desk was very personable and we immediately felt welcomed. The hotel was remodeled to answer many of my pet peeves: The wash basin & toilet were in separate spaces, the counter was spacious, the lighting above the wash basin was excellent, outlets were in a convenient location. The coffeepot was not in the bathroom, but was by the TV & easily moved to the desk where there was an electrical outlet. Our room with 2 queens had 3 chairs. The room was quiet, even though practically all the rooms were occupied. The room was nicely decorated and the bed & bedding were very comfortable. The thermostat was easy to adjust, although the heater was quite loud when it turned on.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Inn

Address: 480 E Shaw Avenue, Fresno, CA 93710-7602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Fresno
#4 Family Hotel in Fresno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated Best Western Hotel! This Fresno hotel offers exceptional accommodations for all forms of travel. Centrally located in the heart of Fresno 1 block east of HWY 41. Hotel is 100% non-smoking, all inner-corridor, and walking distance from shopping/ dining. Amenities include Outdoor Pool/ Spa, Fitness Room, Business Center, and Complimentary Breakfast every morning. When staying at the Best Western Fresno Inn you will be more than pleased with our service and accommodations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fresno Hotel Fresno
Quality Inn Fresno
Fresno Quality Inn
Quality Inn Hotel Fresno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Fresno Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.