We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty sleazy room - waste of money - READ THE REVIEWS BEFORE BOOKING!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of San Joaquin Suite Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Joaquin Suite Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Joaquin Suite Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1309 West Shaw, Fresno, CA 93711   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Anaheim, California
1 review
“Dirty sleazy room - waste of money - READ THE REVIEWS BEFORE BOOKING!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

All is not what it seems on their site!
Checked in late yesterday evening - dirtiest scuzziest carpet which looked to be last cleaned in about 1988. Stained everywhere. Peeling paint in bathroom. I didn't realize properties still had 13 inch televisions. AT A SUITE HOTEL???????
Two pillows charitably sized for a feeder airline with prop planes.
Coffee maker and coffee nice touch....except the dangling power cord with no place to plug it in!
They should be ashamed of everything above the first floor - which should simply be condemned by the City of Fresno.
HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE place! Stay away!!!!

Room Tip: According to the desk, first floor rooms are renovated. 2nd and 3rd? Outhouses with beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    14
    12
    11
    20
See reviews for
14
16
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

If you can avoid this hotel, please do. This is the worse hotel experience that I have had in a long time. I made the mistake of cold booking it an hour before arrival after seeing some favorable reviews and reading the website that claimed it was in a premier shopping area of Fresno. Do to be mistaken, this is not near anything that you would want to walk to in 95 degree weather. I wish it had been a refundable purchase because I would have walked out. The cable did not work, the internet was so slow, the walls were paper thin and there were stains on the furniture and rugs. I woke to the noise of my neighbors doing things that I have only ever seen in the movies. The only positive note was that it was 6 AM and I was able to get to the Sequoia National Park before most other people on a busy holiday weekend.

Room Tip: Avoid this place altogether.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

I'm in room #104 $119/night the price is right the rooms are outstanding beautifly upgraded very specious and noise free.on the other hand only cold breakfast and laundry machines are shared with housekeepers and the dry era are very rusty and old in the inside.that's way my only - overall great hotel been In here. For week staff is good too.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had a mixed experience here with the overall rating being mediocre to poor. The parking is good, some covered. The lady at the front desk was efficient and friendly. The first room we got, on the second floor, was terrible. The lights didn't work until the lamps were jiggled a little. They illuminated a dingy room with absolutely filthy, spotted carpet, tired old furniture, and an ancient tube television. It was on the street side and was quite noisy. We went back to the lobby and told the lady the room was unacceptable. She promptly upgraded us to a first floor garden suite...in fact she had a key ready, as if she knew we would be back for a livable room. This garden suite was nicely furnished, clean (overwhelming smell of Clorox when we first walked in that dissipated after we got the AC going) and comfortable...until we went to bed. The pillows on the bed were like logs...long hard bolsters that were impossible to sleep on, though the bed itself was comfortable. The next morning we asked them for regular pillows, which they provided, so our second night was much better. The biggest joke was the shower...if you like dark humor. The low flow shower head put out little water, and the spray pattern was scattered all around the shower stall. I was tall enough that I could stick my head right up against the shower head and get wet. My wife, though, is shorter so she got a lot of exercise running around the shower stall trying to find a spray to stand under. She finally had to kneel down in the tub and wash her hair under the tub faucet. Putting in a decent shower head would go a long way toward improving their rating. So in summary there is good and bad here. The continental breakfast is quite decent and the garden/pool area is very nice, but the rooms that haven't been renovated are substandard. The garden suite was nicely appointed, but the pillows and shower were terrible. Their rack rate for the garden suite was very high ($149 / night!) but we got a deal on Orbitz for $67 / night...which I feel is a fair to good deal on that suite. The first room we got they would have had to pay us to stay in.

Room Tip: First floor suites are nicely renovated...second floor rooms are awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

clean, quiet place. Easy check in even without a reservation. Nice cont breakfast in the AM. 2 tvs , 1 in each part of the suite. Quiet rooms, good parking, some covered. nice pool and hot tub. good closets and big bathrooms.

Room Tip: choose one of the remodeled rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed in the San Joaquin many years ago when it was first converted from an apartment complex to a suite hotel. We loved it then when it was bustling with families and children in the pool, appetizers at 4:00, and a fantastic breakfast. We have seen it change hands over the years however, and now the direction is not so good. The last owner began an ambitious project of completely redoing the landscaping and remodeling the rooms. The landscaping is indeed beautiful, even now, but the remodeling of the rooms did not rise about the first floor: there are three floors. Standing in the courtyard and casting your eyes upward, you can see areas that need repair and paint. The breakfast was also tired, and even though it was served from 7-9, by 8:30, coffee was gone along with other items. Sometimes they were replaced; sometimes not. My key only worked in my room but would not let me through the gates or into the pool. You were supposed to be able to unlock the gates by passing the card through slowly. I was not successful. The room itself was wonderful; we booked a suite and enjoyed it. However the walls tend to let noise in from people in the next unit. We were awake from 1AM to 3AM our last night.

Room Tip: Book directly through the hotel and ask for a ground floor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The grounds of the hotel are well kept and the hotel lobby looks good. The staff was friendly enough. Our room was located on the second floor and the bedroom looked out on the parking lot. Overall impression of the hotel was average, but the room decoration and cleanliness left a lot to be desired. Stains in the carpet and on the wall, not enough furniture and a very old television set. The chairs and table on the balcony were dirty and the shower was uncomfortable.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Joaquin Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Joaquin Suite Hotel

Address: 1309 West Shaw, Fresno, CA 93711
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — San Joaquin Suite Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your San Joaquin Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Joaquin Hotel Fresno
San Joaquin Suite Fresno
Hotel San Joaquin Suite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Joaquin Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.