We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whatever looks nice here is just the surface.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of San Joaquin Suite Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added San Joaquin Suite Hotel to your Saves list
San Joaquin Suite Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1309 West Shaw, Fresno, CA 93711   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
1 review
“Whatever looks nice here is just the surface.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We were at the San Joaquin for a family reunion. It will be hard to remember all the thing this hotel did wrong. Despite weather in the 80s, the pool and hot tub are not heated--that's right, cold hot tub. Staff forgot our rollaway (and had no more to give) so one of my kids had to sleep on the love seat. No enough towels to go around, so none in the pool area until we asked for them. Dirty smells here and there, especially on the pool furniture. You get the feeling his place is limping along without the cash to maintain even basic standards. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    14
    12
    11
    20
See reviews for
15
16
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

My room decor is outdated. The 15 inch tv from the 70's is difficult to watch. Tried to take a bath but no hot water. I've never seen such a small fridge and microwave. The only nice thing is the grounds which are pretty. No help from the desk unless I wanted to pay more.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stopped here for one night on our road trip en route from Las Vegas to San Francisco. What a delight, particularly for $70 per night! We had a suite with loads of space, there's a pool and spa, nice gardens and a great breakfast and breakfast room. Yes the décor is a bit 1980's and the TV's 1970's but we didn't care. The staff were very nice and helpful so I have no hesitation in saying that this deserves a 3 star rating no problem. Check it out if you're passing through Fresno and need somewhere to stay. Only negative although nothing to do with the hotel is that the surrounding streets are quite dark although everything seemed safe enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulare, ca
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for a little special overnight trip with my hubby (First night away from new baby) on Sat night. The ground-floor rooms are nice, newly renovated. I don't know what any of the other rooms look like. I let the front desk know it was a special occasion and they automatically upgraded us to ground floor room at the same price. For the most part, the room appeared very clean. However I must note that the white down comforter appeared to have a small blood spot on it. The main annoyance for me, came when I realized that the fan in the bathroom could not be turned off. So, in order to enjoy the nice large bathtub, I had to take a bath in the dark. Also, we went to dinner and came back a little after 11, changed into our swim clothes, and headed for the spa, only to be informed by the front desk that it closed at 11. There were no signs indicating this, and we were caught completely off guard. This was one of the main reasons I picked the hotel, for the nice spa atmosphere. The hotel would not make an exception and let the two of us enjoy the spa... again, the bathroom fan became a real annoyance....
Also, around 11:30 pm, we opened our blinds only to disconcertingly realize that a police car was parked outside. It made us wonder.
Overall, it was a pretty good stay. We might stay here again but I will probably continue looking for something that's more Fourseasons quality.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

For $69 a night, this was a steal! Instead of a regular motel or hotel chain we decided to try San Joaquin given the great reviews it had received. The regular one bedroom suite was a bit old, but affordable, spacious, clean and very comfortable. Ours was called the 'Director's Suite' on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool on one side and a quiet side road on the other. We had a living room with a sofa, a bedroom with a queen bed and a large bathroom with a tub and shower. It did get a bit warm at night as there was no airconditioning. The breakfast was simple and adequate, and the location on Shaw St was faily close to a lot of restaurants and shopping malls. Despite being a bit old, we enjoyed staying here the one night we were in Fresno and the hotel definitely exceeded our expectations given the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

never having stayed in fresno, our stay at the san joaquin suites was less than expected. the hotel is trying to do a nice job of fixing up suites and the two room option is very nice when travelling with your dog. the hotel grounds inside the courtyard are lush and relaxing, the breakfast room was quiet and the breakfast options were decent, beds were comfortable. we stayed on a friday night, and although the hotel was not crowded, some of the guests, on the second floor had waht felt like a party of 10 very young children up all hours, yelling and screaming until the early hours, when i complained to the front desk about the activity, it was mostly ignored. in addition there was a large street party going on at the rear of the hotel, which kept any plans for a quiet sleep from happening, but guaranted an early wake up. many guests were outside their rooms in the interior courtyard lokking to have security deal with the problems but this was a losing battle. very disapointed at the front desk at check out knowing there were problems overnite to not ask about our stay. best part of the stay was our visit to the health food whole food market about 4 blocks away for a lite dinner. will not stay in fresno again.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms have a sliding door to a small sitting area with fenced patio, upper floors have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed at the San Joaquin just one night and found it to be very nice. I chose one of the upgraded rooms (they a special discount available that night - yay!) and was happy with the layout (I was alone, so didn't need much space), the cleanliness and the quiet. I felt very safe and secure, and I liked the secure parking as well. I haven't stayed in one of the original rooms, but will probably give that a try next time. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The upgraded rooms are very nice - but I haven't tried the original rooms yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Joaquin Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Joaquin Suite Hotel

Address: 1309 West Shaw, Fresno, CA 93711
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — San Joaquin Suite Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Joaquin Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Joaquin Hotel Fresno
San Joaquin Suite Fresno
Hotel San Joaquin Suite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Joaquin Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.