We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its a work in progress” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Joaquin Suite Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Joaquin Suite Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Joaquin Suite Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1309 West Shaw, Fresno, CA 93711   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 65 hotels in Fresno
vancouver island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“its a work in progress”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

never having stayed in fresno, our stay at the san joaquin suites was less than expected. the hotel is trying to do a nice job of fixing up suites and the two room option is very nice when travelling with your dog. the hotel grounds inside the courtyard are lush and relaxing, the breakfast room was quiet and the breakfast options were decent, beds were comfortable. we stayed on a friday night, and although the hotel was not crowded, some of the guests, on the second floor had waht felt like a party of 10 very young children up all hours, yelling and screaming until the early hours, when i complained to the front desk about the activity, it was mostly ignored. in addition there was a large street party going on at the rear of the hotel, which kept any plans for a quiet sleep from happening, but guaranted an early wake up. many guests were outside their rooms in the interior courtyard lokking to have security deal with the problems but this was a losing battle. very disapointed at the front desk at check out knowing there were problems overnite to not ask about our stay. best part of the stay was our visit to the health food whole food market about 4 blocks away for a lite dinner. will not stay in fresno again.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms have a sliding door to a small sitting area with fenced patio, upper floors have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    14
    12
    11
    18
See reviews for
14
16
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed at the San Joaquin just one night and found it to be very nice. I chose one of the upgraded rooms (they a special discount available that night - yay!) and was happy with the layout (I was alone, so didn't need much space), the cleanliness and the quiet. I felt very safe and secure, and I liked the secure parking as well. I haven't stayed in one of the original rooms, but will probably give that a try next time. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The upgraded rooms are very nice - but I haven't tried the original rooms yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

A disappointment from beginning to end. While it's advertised as a suite hotel, and there is a wall separating the bedroom from the "living" area, the rooms are incredibly small and the word "suite" is a far stretch. The living area was probably ten feet by twelve feet and the bedroom about the same.
The place was dirty - walking without shoes felt like I was on a beach and was something I did not do a second time.
Both the property and the furnishings are very shopworn, and this was a "renovated" room.
Breakfast? A joke! A really bad joke! Breakfast consisted of cereal, Wonder Bread, some darker Wonder Bread, black bananas and a couple of withered apples. Coffee was good, though.
When I checked in I had planned to stay for five days, but checked out immediately the first morning after having coffee and viewing the breakfast offerings.
Strangely enough, when I left, there were only two cars in the entire parking area - apparently many people had gotten the word ahead of time.
Fresno, not being a major metropolis, requires that you temper your expectations a bit, but the San Joaquin Suite Hotel is not up to even Fresno standards. Try one of the major mid-level chains and bypass this place.

Room Tip: The only acceptable rooms are in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

nice and quiet, good area, food is near. I looked at a lot of hotels this is the first one i looked at, then drove around looking for what i wanted, at least 8 differnt ones....this one fit the bill...a little peace and qiuet

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If there was a secret gem in the BEST section of Fresno, this hotel is IT.
We keep coming back here repeatedly and when you do, they grace you with an awesome corporate rate so be sure to ask for it! Pet friendly with a lovely pool and decent breakfast. Plus it IS an all suite hotel so the only thing small about the rooms is the price! Super friendly staff and the place has a mellow quiet vibe. Even though it is not a 3.5 or 4 star property we pick this over the "nicer" hotel because of the reasons mentioned above.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I am a local, but this is the hotel we have stayed at before both my sister and my weddings. My husband and I also spent the night here on our wedding night. My out of town family and friends also stayed here. Every one seemed pleased.

For both of our weddings we stayed in what they call a "deluxe two bedroom suite." It's very comfy and spacious. They easily sleep four, but we brought in roll away beds and had up to 7 girls staying in the room. We all got ready in the room before the wedding and had plenty of room for hair, makeup, etc. I have not been in any of the other room types. I was told there wasn't anything really special about the standard rooms, but there were no complaints. Everything was clean and comfy.

The staff here is super nice. The location is central (although Fresno is exceedingly spread out so you have to drive every where no matter where you stay). The pool and central courtyard are a really nice usable outdoor space with little seating areas spread throughout. I would highly suggest this hotel to anyone visiting from out of town.

Room Tip: Stayed in the deluxe two bedroom suite, last one towards the back of the hotel on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My new Husband and I stayed the night befor are wedding with are wedding party and then the night of are wedding. We love this place and the staff treated us as family. Are Friends and Family came in and out of are rooms as we got ready and all just loved the look!

Room Tip: If you want fancy then ask for the newly remodelled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Joaquin Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Joaquin Suite Hotel

Address: 1309 West Shaw, Fresno, CA 93711
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — San Joaquin Suite Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your San Joaquin Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Joaquin Hotel Fresno
San Joaquin Suite Fresno
Hotel San Joaquin Suite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Joaquin Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.