We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad, Even for Fresno” 1 of 5 stars
Review of San Joaquin Suite Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Joaquin Suite Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Joaquin Suite Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1309 West Shaw, Fresno, CA 93711   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Washington DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Bad, Even for Fresno”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

A disappointment from beginning to end. While it's advertised as a suite hotel, and there is a wall separating the bedroom from the "living" area, the rooms are incredibly small and the word "suite" is a far stretch. The living area was probably ten feet by twelve feet and the bedroom about the same.
The place was dirty - walking without shoes felt like I was on a beach and was something I did not do a second time.
Both the property and the furnishings are very shopworn, and this was a "renovated" room.
Breakfast? A joke! A really bad joke! Breakfast consisted of cereal, Wonder Bread, some darker Wonder Bread, black bananas and a couple of withered apples. Coffee was good, though.
When I checked in I had planned to stay for five days, but checked out immediately the first morning after having coffee and viewing the breakfast offerings.
Strangely enough, when I left, there were only two cars in the entire parking area - apparently many people had gotten the word ahead of time.
Fresno, not being a major metropolis, requires that you temper your expectations a bit, but the San Joaquin Suite Hotel is not up to even Fresno standards. Try one of the major mid-level chains and bypass this place.

Room Tip: The only acceptable rooms are in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    14
    12
    11
    18
See reviews for
14
16
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

nice and quiet, good area, food is near. I looked at a lot of hotels this is the first one i looked at, then drove around looking for what i wanted, at least 8 differnt ones....this one fit the bill...a little peace and qiuet

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If there was a secret gem in the BEST section of Fresno, this hotel is IT.
We keep coming back here repeatedly and when you do, they grace you with an awesome corporate rate so be sure to ask for it! Pet friendly with a lovely pool and decent breakfast. Plus it IS an all suite hotel so the only thing small about the rooms is the price! Super friendly staff and the place has a mellow quiet vibe. Even though it is not a 3.5 or 4 star property we pick this over the "nicer" hotel because of the reasons mentioned above.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I am a local, but this is the hotel we have stayed at before both my sister and my weddings. My husband and I also spent the night here on our wedding night. My out of town family and friends also stayed here. Every one seemed pleased.

For both of our weddings we stayed in what they call a "deluxe two bedroom suite." It's very comfy and spacious. They easily sleep four, but we brought in roll away beds and had up to 7 girls staying in the room. We all got ready in the room before the wedding and had plenty of room for hair, makeup, etc. I have not been in any of the other room types. I was told there wasn't anything really special about the standard rooms, but there were no complaints. Everything was clean and comfy.

The staff here is super nice. The location is central (although Fresno is exceedingly spread out so you have to drive every where no matter where you stay). The pool and central courtyard are a really nice usable outdoor space with little seating areas spread throughout. I would highly suggest this hotel to anyone visiting from out of town.

Room Tip: Stayed in the deluxe two bedroom suite, last one towards the back of the hotel on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My new Husband and I stayed the night befor are wedding with are wedding party and then the night of are wedding. We love this place and the staff treated us as family. Are Friends and Family came in and out of are rooms as we got ready and all just loved the look!

Room Tip: If you want fancy then ask for the newly remodelled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakhurst
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

we stayed at this hotel and was so satisfied with the rooms and they were beautiful inside so warm the guest service was so good they were eager to please us when we needed something we used the atrium for the wedding and it was such a great place to have a reception was pleaseant and bright it was very high class place to have it the place is run so well and managed well everyone there were so nice and polite we felt like family here

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Unfortunately we ended up at this place, extremely tired we exited shaw ave heading towards the first decent hotel we could find to catch some rest. San Joaquin looked nice from the outside, at about midnight, so we pulled in and my husband ran in to see if they had anything available, sure enough they did! The reception area looked clean and nice, and all suites... We thought we had gotten a deal at $89 a night for a regular suite..... Until we walked up to our 'presidential suite' on the third floor! As soon as we opened the door and walked in we were greated with the smell of filth and not only outdated furniture, but broke down furniture...
It looked like the furniture in our room were odds and end pieces picked up from a local yard sale!
I felt like I was part of a bad prank for a second, it was like a motel room from a horror movie..... I could go into so much more detail but to sum it up this place is a dump, would never recommend!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Joaquin Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Joaquin Suite Hotel

Address: 1309 West Shaw, Fresno, CA 93711
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — San Joaquin Suite Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your San Joaquin Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Joaquin Hotel Fresno
San Joaquin Suite Fresno
Hotel San Joaquin Suite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Joaquin Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.