We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Local Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piccadilly Inn Shaw

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Piccadilly Inn Shaw to your Saves list
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2305 W. Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93711   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Palo Alto, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice Local Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

Room was big, and bed was very comfy. A.C. (a must-have in Fresno) was quiet and efficient. Breakfast was fine.
I really enjoyed myself (I was alone) in the pub. The food, service, and drinks were great. and there is a large flat-screen TV.
Customers ranged from hotel guests, to regulars chatting with the bartender. The atmosphere was very friendly. I wish there were more places like this.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    65
    47
    11
    15
See reviews for
44
34
12
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

This stay was mixed for us, but overall we would recommend. Checking in took a long time. There was a bit of a line, but the staff seemed to take too much time with each guest - not because of hospitality or anything - I'm guessing the computer's reservation system might be the culprit? At any rate, the room looked good and there were even some homemade cookies. The room was spacious, but the bathroom was REALLY small -more like the smaller size Motel 6-type bathroom where two people can't be in the room at the same time. It did have a hair dryer and nice towels. The bed was also comfortable and there was a small fridge. We were in a back, second floor room, and the air conditioner worked very well in 100+ degree heat. Our big issue is that feather pillows came on the bed and when we called down to get non-allergenic replacements they said they were out. We had to spend our first night with no pillows. Nearly every other hotel we've been to has had an extra foam pillow in the closet just in case... and the others have had alternative pillows available upon request. I'm not talking about anything expensive... but since they were out the first night obviously they get requests for these things. One other small thing - when we turned down the bed, there were several hairs on the sheets, though they looked freshly changed. On the whole, though, this is one of the better options for staying in Fresno (I lived there for 19 years so it's not a guess). The location is good and it's much safer than the hotels downtown.

  • Liked — the location, comfortable bed
  • Disliked — long check-in wait, small bathroom, no hypo-allergenic pillows
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

We stayed at the Piccadilly one night. The rooms are very spacious, however we experienced a few problems. We first were given a room on the first floor. The floor above us was very creaky and we could hear every footstep made above us. It felt like the ceiling was going to cave in. Finally, we requested a move to the second floor.

On the second floor, the a/c wasn't already on so the room felt stuffy and hot. We had a lot of trouble finally getting it to work and it was pretty loud when we got it on.

The pillows were small and lumpy (but I am difficult to please where pillows are concerned).

The lobby was beautiful and inviting. The staff was helpful, if not overly friendly. I felt it would be overpriced if we didn't get the internet special.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2008

This hotel made it seem like a home away from home. Clean... excellent location. You will find everything within a ten minute drive down either Shaw or Blackstone. Beutiful setting. The resturant had great food and a great bar!

My only gripe is if you stay here try to get the rooms in the back. The rooms in the front are too close to Shaw and you can hear the cars driving. The A/C in those rooms don't work as well as the rooms in the back.They

They even give you a cookie each night lol..

The Wifi connection was also excellent!

  • Liked — Excellent WiFi connection!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2008

When we arrived the room was hot so we turned on the AC and went to a grocery store. Once we returned the room was actually warmer. Called the front desk and their answer had something to do with the fact that the weather outside was either too cold or too hot for the AC to work. Huh ? What does that mean ?? Finally they brought us a portable fan. They did offer to move us to another room but after you've unpacked everything and are tired from driving all day do you really want to pack it all up and move ? Not me.
The room was okay and Whole Foods grocery store is near by. The free breakfast was fair to midlin. The room amenities list made me laugh (see pics). One of their gimmicks is a double showerhead. Kind of silly.
Thanks for your time.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2007

We just recently stayed (11/30-12/2) at the Piccadilly Inn Shaw, very impressed. The one bedroom, king bed, was very roomy. They serve daily continental breakfast at the restaurant. The desk folks were very polite and knowledgable. It's hotel is on Shaw Street, and that street has everything your looking for. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2007

This hotel is a step up from the many budget hotels in the area. Rooms are large and clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Free breakfast is actually pretty good. Diner next door is good, too if you want more and very cheap.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piccadilly Inn Shaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccadilly Inn Shaw

Address: 2305 W. Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93711
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Piccadilly Inn Shaw 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Piccadilly Inn Shaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccadilly Inn Shaw Hotel Fresno
Piccadilly Hotel Fresno
Piccadilly Hotel Shaw
Piccadilly Shaw Fresno
Piccadilly Inn Shaw Fresno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccadilly Inn Shaw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.