We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuck in a time warp.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Piccadilly Inn Shaw

Save Saved
You added Piccadilly Inn Shaw to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2305 W. Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93711   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 65 hotels in Fresno
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stuck in a time warp.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just came up to Fresno to visit family over the Labor Day weekend and was excited to stay at the Picadilly Inn for Sunday night. I grew up in Fresno and at the time (I relocated 22 years ago) the Piccadilly was "The Place" to stay. Several of my friends even got married or had their receptions there. Sadly, despite being "renovated", the Piccadilly Inn is stuck in a time warp.


The room was large and clean but incredibly out dated with very thin wall. But even more annoying, is there is a motion activated light in the the entry as you walk into your room. WHY? This light comes on every time you walk to the bathroom or closet and also tuens on everytime someone walks down the hallway or thru the main door to the hallway!!!!!! SO incredibly annoying to have that damn light come on 9-12 times while trying to sleep. Again I ask , WHY???

Spent the previous night in Bakersfield at a Marriot Residence Inn for $25 less than the Piccadilly and the room was beautiful w/ kitchen, modern decor and a stellar complimentary breakfast. The Piccadilly complmentary breakfast was horrid, poor quality food and terrible coffee. Its shoved into the corner of the bar and was difficult to move around. We chose to leave and eat at Uncle Harrys Bagels ( which I highly recommend).

Overall I was saddened to see that the Piccadilly was stuck in the 80's. Its location and property has such tremendous potential to be a fabulous hotel if they would do a genuine overhaul of the place.

Will not being staying there again. Next time I will be stayong down the street a the Hilton Garden Suites Crossland Economy Studios.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    59
    45
    11
    13
See reviews for
41
32
12
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have been coming to the Piccadilly once a year for decades with my family. We have our annual family reunion at the property. The pool area is spacious, the meeting rooms are comfortable and the staff is unbelievably accommodating. They have begun a much needed upgrade. The guest rooms are becoming more modern and I never want to get out of the new, super comfortable bed.

I recommend speaking with Brenda and Misty for a large group. Both ladies are fair, honest and extremely communicative.

This hotel is good for couples, business travel, groups and getaways.

Oliver's is a restaurant/bar right off of the lobby. The ambience in Oliver's and throughout the property is British old school. This is a 3 to 4 star hotel. The value is good for the rates I have seen.

Room Tip: This is a sprawling hotel with two main towers and surrounding guest rooms. Rooms along the main wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have stayed at the Piccadilly several times, and it is a great value:
-very affordable rooms
-free WiFi
-free breakfast

The breakfast has "real food"!

I love the staff! They are all friendly and helpful. For an event in Fresno, Piccadilly is the place. Brenda, one of the managers, really works with you to make the event special.

Bonus: newly upgraded flat screen TVs in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda Heights, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Piccadilly Inn Shaw is a great vacation spot for family trips! Decent rooms for great prices.

ROOMS:
The rooms are sectioned off in groups of ~10 rooms in little cottage-like "houses." Upon entering our rooms, they were clean and well-kept. The wall-papering, carpets and bathroom could use a bit more modernization/updating. They seem to have put in newer bathroom counters which was nice but my bathtub/shower had a few cracks and stains from old age. There is a nice new TV with great cable and HBO channels. The A/C works wonderfully as when we were there the weather was well above 90s into the low 100s. WIFI is free however, the internet was spotty and slow especially in the later hours of the day. Not sure where exactly the wifi router is located in the facility, our "cottage" of rooms was further in the back and more away from the main lobby of the facility. See below in the overall section as to why i still gave this place a great rating.

NOISE:
Though the resort seemed quite busy judging by the number of people waiting to check-in when we arrived, the nearly full parking lot and the number of people I saw at breakfast, it was nice and peaceful in the facility. Other than seeing people in the above mentioned areas, I hardly ever bumped into a stranger when walking around and was never once bothered by noises or other guests. I credit this to the way the facility was designed. Really makes it feel like you are in your own place away from any external disturbances.

CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST:
Most continental breakfasts offered at hotel facilities give you the bare minimum - pastries/breads, cereal, milk, coffee maybe some juice. The breakfast at piccadilly inn gives you all that PLUS hot scrambled eggs, sausages and waffles that you make yourself. It is set up buffet style and they have a nice patio outside the restaurant where you can leisurely and comfortably enjoy your meal in the shade! The food was tasty and I even enjoyed the sausages (something i don't normally like to eat but the flavors were great). There was constantly employees around, refilling the food as they ran out and clearing off tables for guest. A+ for this great food & service.

POOL/HOT TUB:
I didn't utilize this facility amenity but the pool and spa looked well-kept.

OVERALL:
this place is a great spot for vacations with families, friends, lovers or even on your own. Great pricing. Nice well-kept rooms and great service from staff. There's a restaurant located in the place with great food at great prices and they even offer a happy hour with amazing deals. The Inn is located near many shopping centers, restaurants and there are a wide variety of places to see/visit which they very nicely have listed on the Piccadilly Inn Shaw website. The only really thing is that they should continue renovating and improve the WIFI. HOWEVER, I didn't take away any stars because they actually told me that the place was under new management and that the previous owners did not care about keeping the facility updated. The new owners have been making changes (upgraded the bathroom counters & TVs) and will continue to make changes. Looking forward to a return trip to see what's new :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahokee, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The best way I can describe this Hotel - Looks like it was built in the 50's, renovated in the 70's, and then as a means to save some remodeling cash, the owners said, let's just add some swank to the 70's feel. Some parts of the rooms are modern, some parts are retro.

They have many larger meeting rooms for Corporate Groups, etc, an outdoor pool, and a bar/lounge area.

There are two main buildings with many rooms, and then several smaller, one story outlying buildings with rooms.

It's not the cleanest-looking hotel, but it is quite unique. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Rooms of the hotel are situated in different buildings in a nice facility. The staff was friendly and the hotel restaurant was quite good... But the breakfast a was unusual for europeans.

Value for money was alright.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My family and I visited Fresno from July 26-28, 2013 for a weekend getaway to Yosemite. I enjoyed my stay at the Piccadilly Inn Shaw. At first glance the hotel may seem outdated, but let me assure you that the rooms and amenities are not. The furniture is updated, room has granite counter, and a LED TV. The room I stayed in was big, clean, quiet, and spacious. The shower area and bed were comfortable, since most other beds I've been on are hard. The A/C was powerful and kept the room nice and cool. The pool and the jacuzzi was well kept. They also offer a complimentary breakfast in the morning that is more than just store brought items. You have a wide selection of waffles, cereal, muffins, scrambled eggs, sausages, fresh fruits, and etc. They have free wifi, but the connection isn't great towards the back of the hotel. Even the hallways towards the rooms require a key to get access to your room for safety. The staffs are friendly and helpful when needed. They made me feel very welcomed when I walked through the front entrance. Oliver's Pub and Restaurant had great food and great service! All in all it was a very nice and cozy place. The hotel is located nearby restaurants and shopping centers. I would definitely stay here again given the opportunity!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piccadilly Inn Shaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccadilly Inn Shaw

Address: 2305 W. Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93711
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Piccadilly Inn Shaw 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Piccadilly Inn Shaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccadilly Inn Shaw Hotel Fresno
Piccadilly Hotel Fresno
Piccadilly Hotel Shaw
Piccadilly Shaw Fresno
Piccadilly Inn Shaw Fresno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccadilly Inn Shaw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.