We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Piccadilly Inn Shaw

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Piccadilly Inn Shaw to your Saves list
Piccadilly Inn Shaw
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2305 W. Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93711   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Fresno
Roseville, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“As Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My family spent two nights here for a softball tournament. I didn't expect much and my expectations were met. The rooms are very dated, but good sized. When we first entered the room it smelled musty but after an hour with the windows open it was fine. While the AC controls had what appeared to be a thermostat and fan control, it seemed to only function as heat or cold and the fan control only worked on high. basically it could have been replaced by a single AC on/off switch. The first night I went to sleep warm and woke up at 3:00 am freezing. We managed it okay once we realized what was up. There was a silverfish (bug) in the tub, but honestly who's home doesn't have the occasional bug crawl in. I saw no others the rest of my stay, so I'll give a pass on that. The pool was clean and the desk responded promptly to a call for a request for the pool towels to be restocked. Breakfast pretty standard, self serve waffle makers, heat and serve sausage and scrambled eggs from a bag. This review may seem negative, but that is not the intent. My stay was exactly what I expected from the location and the price point.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccShawGM, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Shaw, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay, we appreciate it. Thank you for the suggestion on the single AC on/off switch. I am happy we met your overall expectations. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    65
    47
    11
    15
See reviews for
44
34
12
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portola Valley, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I was aware that the hotel was dated, but yet clean. Found it that way. Was visiting for a funeral and just was in need of a nights rest. When I went turn off the lights they would turn off but came back on 5 minutes or so later. I did this multiple times and realized something was wrong. The young man at the desk tried to help but his suggestions were not possible...ie. come to the front desk and I will give you paper and tape to cover the light sensor. I am a female alone, unpacked and in my pajama's, multiple buildings away...then I asked if I could move rooms but not my belongings. Yes, I could, but again, buildings away. I opted to stay put. The next morning I went to the front desk, was told to come back when the manager arrived, did so. The manager was across the street having a meeting. The front desk attendant was so rude. I didn't want anything but how about an apology for the inconvenience. This establishment has an appalling lack of customer appreciation and I would never patronize this business again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccShawGM, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Shaw, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. I apologize that you did not enjoy you’re stay with us. We clearly had many opportunities to make your stay more enjoyable. We have had additional training with staff regarding customer appreciation and how to properly explain how to use the lights switches in guest rooms. Again, I do apologize, this is not our standard operating procedures, and hope you would give us another chance if you’re every back in Fresno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We really liked this hotel. After the registration and room assignment process, we proceeded to our room, and finding it a bit stuffy, we turned on the air conditioner. It ran for about a minute and stopped. We turned the AC back on and got the same result. We contacted the front desk for assistance. Within three minutes three of the hotel’s maintenance staff arrived to analyze the problem and determined that the unit needed to be replaced. They removed the old unit and within ten minutes a new unit was installed! That’s customer service at its finest! The clean, spacious room was well maintained and included a refrigerator; which we found most handy, free internet access, and one of the most comfortable beds we’ve ever slept on. We found the staff, from front desk to housekeeping to maintenance, to be courteous, friendly, and professional. We especially liked and appreciated Laura, from housekeeping, who attended our room. She made sure we had plenty of clean towels and anything else we needed. Special thanks to her; she was the greatest. The hotel also offers an expanded continental breakfast which we enjoyed every morning. The hotel also has a lovely courtyard which includes a pool and several orange trees with fresh oranges; in season of course. You will find it difficult to find similar accommodations anywhere for less than one hundred dollars per night. We would definitely stay there again and we highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccShawGM, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Shaw, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We are happy to hear that we met your expectations during your stay with us. I appreciate your feedback about the staff, grounds and overall experience. We hope when you are back in the Fresno area you choose the Piccadilly Inn Shaw for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is quite nice. The units are all one story and spread out over a wide area. I was pleased with the room and staff. There is a pool, carpet golf, hot tub (spa) and a very nice restaurant. The breakfast was limited but good. I don't see where the negative reports are coming from.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccShawGM, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Shaw, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are currently under renovation in our rooms. The following are some of the changes new granite tops in bathrooms and sleeping room, Flat Screen TV, 32 channels including HBO and new Menu in Oliver's Pub. We look forward to your next stay and showing off our new exciting changes that have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I loved this place. It is quiet, large and very clean rooms. Nice restaurant (although I didn't eat there) with standard type free breakfast. The staff was nice and friendly. There is a lovely courtyard in the middle of the units which was very nice. Pool was closed for winter though, other than that, it was great. I would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccShawGM, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Shaw, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We appreciate your feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to meet your needs. We look forward to your next visit, and showing you all the changes that we are currently making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Believe the reviews that tell you this hotel is old and dated. They are all correct. The rooms are large, and they do have new flat screen TVs, but after that it is downhill. The heating and air units are NOISY and really do not work well at all. For all of the racquet it was making very little air was coming out of it. The bathroom was very dated and very dusty. And that theme of outdated and old just seemed to be everywhere you went. Now -- if you are attending an event there you certainly can get by. And the price is below what you would have to pay over in the River Park area. But take my advice -- go elsewhere if at all possible. The one point about this hotel that was nice was the bar/resturant area. Those you do not find in some of the newer facilities and it was nice to be able to get a sandwich and a drink at the end of the day. But that is really the only feature about this hotel that I can recommend. I will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccShawGM, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Shaw, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We are indeed making changes to our rooms including, granite tops in our bathrooms, sleeping rooms, flat screen TV’s 32 channels including HBO. We are on 7.5 acres with 2 different types of HVAC units in our sleeping rooms, I am sorry to hear that your unit was not in working order to your satisfaction. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed Oliver’s Pub, we have revised the menu and extended our Happy Hour hours and options. We hope that you give us another opportunity to show you all the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This motel is in need of a serious upgrade. Both times I've stayed here in the past few months for work, I found the rooms old and tired. The hvac system is noisy. One stay the television didn't work and the other there was a dead spider in my bed. It realy seemed like no one had occupied the rooms I was in for quite awhile. Forget the onsite restaurant; it's overpriced and quality is low. Many other sleeping options on Shaw that are better kept. I guess you can't expect much for the price point. But I'd definately pick somewhere else to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiccShawGM, General Manager at Piccadilly Inn Shaw, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stays with us. We are currently renovating our rooms at this time. All rooms have new 32 or 37 Flat screen TV’s, offering 32 channels including HBO, granite in the bathrooms and sleeping rooms and updated bedding. Oliver’s Pub is also going thru some new changes, including new Dinner menu, happy hour offerings and extended hours of operation. We have informed our housekeeping staff about the spider in the bed and additional training will be done so that others will not experience what you did. If you are back in Fresno area, I ask that you give us another opportunity to show you what changes have been to the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piccadilly Inn Shaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccadilly Inn Shaw

Address: 2305 W. Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93711
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Piccadilly Inn Shaw 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Piccadilly Inn Shaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccadilly Inn Shaw Hotel Fresno
Piccadilly Hotel Fresno
Piccadilly Hotel Shaw
Piccadilly Shaw Fresno
Piccadilly Inn Shaw Fresno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccadilly Inn Shaw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.